H.E. Dr. Sultan Ahmed Al Jaber

Board Member

H.E. Dr. Sultan Ahmed Al Jaber is a Minister of State of the United Arab Emirates and member of the federal cabinet. Combining extensive experience in both the public and private sector, he has been responsible for overseeing, developing and enhancing strategic geopolitical, social and economic partnerships with several nations. He is also the focal point for a number of comprehensive strategic partnerships with a number of countries.

In addition, Dr. Al Jaber is Group CEO of the Abu Dhabi National Oil Company (ADNOC), where he is spearheading a rapid and comprehensive transformation of the company at the direction of the UAE leadership. Since being appointed in 2016, Dr. Al Jaber has overseen a program of increased efficiencies, strengthened ADNOC’s overall performance and fostered a more commercial mindset. He has guided ADNOC through a number of strategic firsts, including entering the global capital markets for the first time, completing the first ever IPO of an ADNOC business (ADNOC Distribution) and attracting significant FDI from strategic and private equity investors. In recognition of ADNOC’s strong financial performance, Fitch gave ADNOC a AA+ assessment in 2019, the highest rating currently assigned to any oil and gas company globally. In driving ADNOC’s 2030 strategy toward a more profitable upstream, more valuable downstream and more sustainable and economic gas supply, Dr. Al Jaber has also led a digital transformation at the company. He has prioritized the adoption of breakthrough technologies including AI, Big Data and Blockchain to ensure ADNOC stays ahead of global energy demand and remains a key contributor to the UAE’s economy.


Prior to taking on the leadership position at ADNOC, Dr. Al Jaber was the Chief Executive Officer of the Energy platform at Mubadala, the Abu Dhabi government's strategic investment arm. In 2006, while at Mubadala, he established Masdar, Abu Dhabi’s pioneering renewable energy initiative, and served seven years as its CEO, guiding its global contribution to clean technology and sustainable development. In 2009 he led Masdar’s efforts in the UAE’s successful bid to host the headquarters of the "International Renewable Energy Agency" (IRENA). Dr. Al Jaber continues to serve as Chairman of Masdar, guiding its strategic direction.


Dr. Al Jaber also holds several leadership roles and advisory positions and counsels on issues related to Energy, Economics, Strategic Communications & Sustainable Development. Dr. Al Jaber serves as Chairman of the UAE National Media Council, and is an active member of the Emirates Diplomatic Academy Board of Trustees. He also serves on the board of Emirates Global Aluminium-the world’s largest ‘premium aluminium’ producer. In 2019, Dr. Al Jaber was appointed as Chairman of the Abu Dhabi Media Company, one of the fastest growing, multi-platform media and entertainment organizations in the Middle East, operating and managing over 20 market-leading brands across multiple platforms, including broadcast, publishing and digital. Dr. Al Jaber is also Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Mohamed bin Zayed University of Artificial Intelligence, the World’s first graduate-level, research based AI University.

Dr. Sultan served as Chairman of the Abu Dhabi Ports Company from 2009-2019. Over this decade, AD Ports has become a thriving business, turning a profit two years ahead of the approved business plan. During his tenure, Dr. Sultan helped establish Khalifa Port, Abu Dhabi’s flagship, fastest growing deep water port as well as Khalifa Industrial Zone Abu Dhabi (KIZAD), Abu Dhabi’s first integrated trade, industrial and logistics free zone. Through strategic investments, AD Ports has grown to become a full service transportation hub, leveraging Abu Dhabi’s location at the nexus of three continents, and making significant contributions to the UAE’s economy and diversification efforts.

Dr. Al Jaber has previously served on the United Nations Secretary General's High Level Group on Sustainable Energy for All. He has received various awards including the United Nations flagship award "Champion of the Earth" in 2012, given to outstanding visionaries and leaders in the fields of policy, science and entrepreneurship. In 2013 Dr. Al Jaber was appointed an honorary Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (CBE) by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II. In 2019, Dr. Al Jaber received a lifetime achievement award from his Excellency the prime minister of India, Narendra Modi, for his contributions to energy security, building bridges to emerging Asian economies and reshaping of the traditional energy business model.

معالي الدكتور سلطان أحمد الجابر

عضو مجلس إدارة

يشغل معالي الدكتور سلطان أحمد الجابر منصب وزير دولة وعضو مجلس الوزراء في الحكومة الاتحادية لدولة الإمارات منذ عام 2013 حيث يمتلك خبرة واسعة في كل من القطاعين العام والخاص، وأشرف على تطوير وتعزيز شراكات جيوسياسية واقتصادية واجتماعية وثقافية مع عدد من الدول، كما يتولى تنسيق برامج الشراكة الاستراتيجية الشاملة مع عدد من الدول.

يشغل معالي د. سلطان أحمد الجابر أيضاً منصب الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة بترول أبوظبي الوطنية (أدنوك) ومجموعة شركاتها، حيث يعمل على تنفيذ توجيهات القيادة بتنفيذ نقلة نوعية شاملة في الشركة. ومنذ تعيينه في أدنوك عام 2016، أشرف على وضع وتطبيق برنامج لرفع الكفاءة والارتقاء بالأداء وتعزيز المرونة وزيادة الربحية والعائد الاقتصادي وترسيخ الذهنية التجارية في الشركة. وقام بتوجيه أدنوك في عدد من المبادرات الاستراتيجية، بما في ذلك دخول أسواق رأس المال العالمية لأول مرة، وتنفيذ أول اكتتاب على أسهم إحدى شركات المجموعة (شركة أدنوك للتوزيع) واستقطاب استثمارات أجنبية مباشرة كبيرة من مستثمرين استراتيجيين. وتقديراً للأداء المالي القوي لأدنوك، منحت شركة فيتش العالمية للتصنيف شركة أدنوك تقييم AA+ في عام 2019، وهو أعلى تصنيف يتم تخصيصه حالياً لشركات النفط والغاز على مستوى العالم. أشرف معاليه أيضاً على وضع استراتيجية أدنوك المتكاملة للنمو الذكي 2030، التي تركز على تعزيز الربحية في مجال الاستكشاف والتطوير والإنتاج، وزيادة القيمة في أعمال التكرير والبتروكيماويات، والمحافظة على إمدادات اقتصادية ومستدامة من الغاز، كما يقود معاليه أيضاً عملية التحول الرقمي في الشركة من خلال تطبيق التكنولوجيا الحديثة بما في ذلك الذكاء الاصطناعي والبيانات الضخمة والبلوك تشين لضمان قدرة أدنوك على استمرار دورها مزوداً رائداً لموارد الطاقة ومساهماً رئيسياً في اقتصاد دولة الإمارات.

قبل انضمامه إلى أدنوك، كان معاليه يشغل منصب الرئيس التنفيذي لقطاع الطاقة في شركة "مبادلة"، ذراع الاستثمار الاستراتيجية لحكومة أبوظبي. وفي عام 2006، تم تكليفه بتأسيس شركة أبوظبي لطاقة المستقبل "مصدر" التي تولى منصب رئيسها التنفيذي ولا يزال يشرف على استراتيجيتها من خلال رئاسته لمجلس إدارتها. وفي عام 2009، أدار معاليه مشاركة "مصدر" في العرض الناجح الذي تقدمت به دولة الإمارات لاستضافة مقر "الوكالة الدولية للطاقة المتجددة" (آيرينا) في أبوظبي.

إلى جانب مهامه الوزارية، يتولى معالي د. سلطان أحمد الجابر إدارة عدد من الملفات الاستراتيجية ذات الطابع الاقتصادي والسياسي والتنموي التي تشمل الإعلام والطاقة والبنية التحتية والاتصال الاستراتيجي والتنمية المستدامة والتي تعمل على تعزيز مكانة الدولة إقليمياً وعالمياً.

منذ عام 2015 يشغل منصب رئيس مجلس إدارة المجلس الوطني للإعلام المسؤول عن تطوير قطاع الإعلام في دولة الإمارات، كما أنه عضو في مجلس أمناء أكاديمية الإمارات الدبلوماسية، وعضو مجلس إدارة شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، أكبر منتج عالمي للألمنيوم "عالي الجودة". في عام 2019، تم تعيين معاليه رئيساً لمجلس إدارة شركة "أبوظبي للإعلام" التي تعد إحدى أسرع المؤسسات الإعلامية والترفيهية نمواً في منطقة الشرق الأوسط، حيث تمتلك وتشغل أكثر من 20 علامة تجارية في قطاعات التلفزيون والراديو والنشر والإعلام الرقمي. كما يتولى معاليه رئاسة مجلس أمناء "جامعة محمد بن زايد للذكاء الاصطناعي"، أول جامعة للدراسات العليا المتخصصة ببحوث الذكاء الاصطناعي على مستوى العالم.

شغل معاليه منصب رئيس مجلس إدارة شركة موانئ أبوظبي خلال الفترة 2009 - 2019 حيث أشرف على استراتيجية تطوير البنية التحتية للموانئ في إمارة أبوظبي، وأشرف على إنشاء "ميناء خليفة" الذي يعد الميناء الرئيسي في أبوظبي وأول ميناء حاويات شبه آلي في المنطقة وأسرع ميناء "مياه عميقة" من حيث النمو في المنطقة، وأشرف كذلك على إطلاق منطقة خليفة الصناعية، التي تعتبر أول منطقة حرة متكاملة في أبوظبي للأعمال التجارية واللوجستية والصناعية. نجحت موانئ أبوظبي تحت إشراف معاليه بالبدء بتحقيق الربحية قبل عامين من الموعد الذي كان محدداً في خطة الأعمال، ومن خلال الاستثمارات الاستراتيجية المدروسة، حققت أبوظبي للموانئ نمواً كبيراً لتصبح مركزاً متكاملاً لخدمات النقل، مع الاستفادة من الموقع المتميز لأبوظبي بين ثلاث قارات، وتقدم مساهمات مهمة لجهود التنويع الاقتصاد في الدولة.  

في عام 2011 تم اختيار معالي د. سلطان أحمد الجابر لعضوية المجموعة رفيعة المستوى للطاقة المستدامة للجميع التي أسسها الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة بان كي مون لتعزيز الاستفادة العالمية من الخدمات الحديثة التي تتيحها الطاقة، ومضاعفة كفاءة الطاقة ومضاعفة حصة الطاقة المتجددة في المزيج العالمي لطاقة بحلول عام 2030. وفي عام 2012، منحته منظمة الأمم المتحدة جائزة "بطل الأرض" ضمن فئة الرؤية الريادية والقيادة الفعلية. وفي عام 2013 حاز على وسام امتياز الامبراطورية البريطانية CBE من جلالة الملكة إليزابيث الثانية. وفي عام 2019 منحه دولة ناريندرا مودي، رئيس وزراء جمهورية الهند، جائزة أفضل إنجاز شخصي في قطاع الطاقة تقديراً لمساهمته البارزة في قطاع الطاقة وتعزيز جسور وعلاقات التعاون مع الاقتصادات الآسيوية الناشئة وتجديد نماذج العمل التقليدية في شركات الطاقة. 

معاليه حائز على درجة الدكتوراه في الاقتصاد والإدارة من المملكة المتحدة، والماجستير في إدارة المشاريع والأعمال بالإضافة إلى بكالوريوس العلوم في هندسة الكيمياء والبترول من الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية.