EGA makes significant step forward in re-using carbon by-product as an alternative fuel

Agreement further extends EGA’s cooperation with UAE cement industry to re-use by-products, in step forward for development of a circular economy. Supplying cement industry reduces waste storage and saves emissions generated by production and transport of traditional fuels used by cement industry

United Arab Emirates: Emirates Global Aluminium, the largest industrial company in the United Arab Emirates outside oil and gas, today announced that it is to supply almost all of its production of carbon dust, a by-product of aluminium smelting, for use as an alternative fuel by the UAE cement industry.

The move extends EGA’s cooperation with UAE cement companies to re-use by-products of aluminium smelting, in a step forward for the development of a circular economy.

EGA supplies its spent pot lining, another by-product, to UAE cement firms and has trialled the re-use of carbon dust with the industry.

Carbon dust is generated during the process of producing anodes, large carbon blocks that are consumed during aluminium smelting. High carbon content makes carbon dust suitable for use as an alternative fuel.

Over the next two years, EGA will increase its supply of carbon dust to the UAE cement industry to some 78,000 tonnes.

The use of EGA’s carbon dust will reduce UAE cement companies’ requirements for other fuels, including in some cases coal imported from as far as South Africa. Reducing mining and long-distance transport of coal is expected to save approximately 36,000 tonnes of CO2 emissions over the next two years, the equivalent of removing 7,800 cars from the roads.

EGA will supply the cement industry with both freshly-produced carbon dust and material produced in earlier years that the company stockpiled whilst working to find a viable large-scale industrial use.

Freshly-produced carbon dust will be supplied directly to the cement industry. For stockpiled carbon dust, EGA has signed a contract with Heavy Machinery Viqa for processing and re-use. Heavy Machinery Viqa specialises in recovering and recycling by-products from heavy industries in the UAE.

Salman Dawood Abdulla, Executive Vice President, Environment, Health, Safety, Sustainability and Business Transformation at EGA, said: “Creating a circular economy with one industry’s waste used as another industry’s feedstock makes environmental and economic sense, and we are glad to be working with the cement industry to pioneer this approach in the UAE. We will now re-use almost all the carbon dust we generate at EGA, improving the environmental performance of both aluminium smelting and cement manufacturing.”

Last year EGA recycled over102 thousand tonnes of waste, up from over 96 thousand tonnes in 2017.

في خطوة تعزز التعاون المشترك لخلق اقتصاد دائريالإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تخطي خطوة بارزة في إعادة استعمال بقايا الكربون كوقود بديل لمصانع الإسمنت

الإمارات العربية المتحدة: أعلنت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، أكبر شركة صناعية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة خارج قطاع النفط والغاز، اليوم عن تزويد مصانع الإسمنت في دولة الإمارات بما يقارب كامل إنتاجها من غبار الكربون والناجم عن عملية صهر الألمنيوم لاستخدامه كوقود بديل لمصانعها.

وتعزز هذه الخطوة التعاون المشترك بين شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم وشركات الإسمنت المحلية لإعادة استخدام المنتجات الثانوية لصهر الألمنيوم، وتندرج ضمن إطار جهودها المبذولة لتحقيق أقصى قدر من المنافع لجميع القطاعات الصناعية في الدولة والمساهمة في خلق اقتصاد وطني دائري، عن طريق إعادة تدوير نفايات صناعة كمادة وسيطة في صناعة أخرى.

وتزود شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم شركات الإسمنت الإماراتية أيضاً ببطانة الخلايا المستهلكة التي تعد أحد المنتجات الثانوية الناجمة عن صهر الألمنيوم، وذلك لاستخدامها في صناعة الإسمنت، كما بحثت إمكانية استخدام غبار الكربون داخل الصناعة.

وينتج غبار الكربون أثناء تصنيع الأنودات وكتل الكربون الكبيرة التي تُستهلك خلال عملية صهر الألمنيوم، ونظراً لاحتوائه على نسبة عالية من الكربون فإن ذلك يجعله مناسباً للاستخدام كوقود بديل.

وعلى مدار العامين المقبلين، ستزيد شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم إمداداتها من غبار الكربون إلى مصانع الإسمنت الإماراتية إلى 78,000 طن.

وسيسهم استخدام غبار الكربون في تقليص متطلبات شركات الإسمنت الإماراتية لأنواع الوقود الأخرى، بما في ذلك في بعض الحالات الفحم المستورد من مناطق بعيدة مثل جنوب إفريقيا، ومن المتوقع أن يؤدي ذلك إلى توفير حوالي 36,000 طن من انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون خلال العامين القادمين، وهو ما يعادل إزالة 7,800 سيارة من الطرق.

وستزود شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم غبار الكربون المنتج حديثاً ومواد ثانوية أخرى الناجمة على مدى السنوات السابقة إلى مصانع الإسمنت بينما تعمل الشركة في الوقت الحالي على إيجاد استخدامات صناعية واسعة النطاق لغبار الكربون.

كما وقعت الشركة عقداً لمعالجة و إعادة استخدام غبار الكربون المخزن مع شركة Heavy Machinery  Viqa وهي شركة متخصصة في استرداد وإعادة تدوير المنتجات الثانوية من الصناعات الثقيلة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

ومن جانبه، قال سلمان داوود عبد الله، نائب الرئيس التنفيذي لقطاع الصحة والسلامة والأمن والبيئة والجودة وتطوير الأعمال: "يسهم إعادة استخدام غبار الكربون المنتج في شركتنا في تعزيز الأداء البيئي في عملية صهر الألمنيوم وفي صناعة الإسمنت أيضاً، ويتوج ذلك جهودنا الرامية إلى خلق اقتصاد دائري في دولة الإمارات، وتعزيز المسؤولية البيئية والاقتصادية للصناعات الوطنية، ونحن فخورون بريادتنا في تحقيق هذا النهج من خلال التعاون مع شركات الإسمنت الإماراتية".

والجدير بالذكر أن شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم قد تمكنت من إعادة تدوير أكثر من 102 ألف طن من النفايات العام الماضي، متقدمة بذلك على أدائها خلال عام 2017 والذي أعادت خلاله تدوير 96 ألف طن من النفايات.