EGA recognised as a UAE Pioneer

Award for industrial champion that has taken the UAE from no production to the fifth largest aluminium producing nation in the world

United Arab Emirates: Emirates Global Aluminium, the largest industrial company in the United Arab Emirates outside oil and gas, has been recognised as a UAE Pioneer by His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, at a ceremony in Abu Dhabi. 

The UAE Pioneer Awards were established in 2014 by His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum and honour service to the nation and pioneering spirit.

The development of EGA, which began in the late 1970s, has taken the UAE from no aluminium production to the fifth largest aluminium producing nation in the world. Today, EGA’s metal is the biggest made-in-the-UAE export after oil and gas.

EGA has also pioneered research and development in UAE industry, allowing it to develop its own technology for more than 25 years. The company’s latest homegrown technology is amongst the most efficient in the global aluminium industry. In 2016, EGA became the first UAE industrial company to license its own large-scale industrial technology internationally.

Abdulla Kalban, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of EGA, said: “It is a great honour for EGA to be recognised as a UAE Pioneer by His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai. I would like to thank everyone who has worked at EGA over the past four decades, helping build this company into a leader in the aluminium industry worldwide.”

EGA employs over 7,000 people in the UAE. The company’s workforce includes more than 1,200 UAE Nationals, in line with the ‘UAE Vision 2021’ goal of harnessing the full potential of its National human capital.

EGA is also pioneering the role of UAE National women in heavy industry, with over 16 per cent of staff occupying supervisory roles and above female employees.

Some 26 companies make products in the UAE using EGA’s metal, and are part of local and global supply chains in sectors from construction to automotive.

EGA spends around $1 billion per year in the UAE on goods and services to support its capital projects and operations, including on energy.

الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم ضمن أوائل الإمارات لعام 2018

جائزة للشركة الرائدة صناعياً التي نقلت الإمارات العربية المتحدة من دولة غير منتجة للألمنيوم إلى خامس أكبر دولة منتجة للألمنيوم في العالم

 

أبوظبي، الإمارات العربية المتحدة: حصلت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، أكبر شركة صناعية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة خارج قطاع النفط والغاز، على جائزة أوائل الإمارات والتي تلقتها من قِبل صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، نائب رئيس الدولة ورئيس مجلس الوزراء وحاكم إمارة دبي، وذلك خلال حفل أُقيم في أبوظبي.

تم تخصيص جوائز أوائل الإمارات في عام 2014 من قبل صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم لمنحها اعترافاً بالخدمات المقدمة للدولة وروح الريادة.

لقد ساهمت الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في آواخر السبعينيات في نقل دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة من دولة غير منتجة للألمنيوم إلى خامس أكبر دولة منتجة للألمنيوم على المستوى العالمي. واليوم، يعتبر المعدن الذي تنتجه الشركة أكبر الصادرات الإماراتية بعد صادرات النفط والغاز.

كان للشركة أيضًا دورًا رائدًا في البحث والتطوير في قطاع الصناعة، حيث قامت بتطوير تقنياتها الخاصة لمدة تتجاوز عن 25 عاماً. واليوم، تمتلك الشركة أحدث التقنيات ضمن الأكثر كفاءةً في قطاع صناعة الألمنيوم على المستوى العالمي. وفي عام 2016، أصبحت الشركة أول شركة صناعية إماراتية ترخيص تقنياتها الصناعية على النطاق على الدولي.

و عبَر عبدالله جاسم بن كلبان، العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي للشركة قائلاً: "إنه لشرفٌ عظيم نعتز به في شركة الامارات العالمية للألمنيوم أن يتم الاعتراف بنا من ضمن "أوائل الامارات"، المبادرة التي أطلقها صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم. ويأتي هذا الصرح العالمي الكبير كترجمة لأفكار الرواد المؤسسين سمو الشيخ زايد بن سلطان طيب الله ثراه، وسمو الشيخ راشد بن سعيد آل مكتوم طيب الله ثراه. وأشكر جميع الموظفين الذين ساهموا على مدى العقود الأربعة الماضية في تحويل هذه الشركة إلى كيان رائد في صناعة الألمنيوم على الصعيد العالمي."

يعمل لدى الشركة أكثر من 7000 موظف، من بينهم 1200 من مواطني الدولة، حيث تهدف الشركة إلى تحقيق الرؤية الإماراتية 2021 لتطوير الكوادر البشرية الوطنية الواعدة.

يُذكر أن الشركة لها دور رائداً أيضًا في توظيف المرأة الإماراتية في مجال الصناعات الثقيلة حيث تتقلد السيدات المناصب الإشرافية والمناصب العليا بنسبة تزيد عن 16%.

علاوة على ذلك، حوالي 26 مصنعاً في الدولة تعتمد على معدن الامارات العالمية للألمنيوم في صناعة منتجاتها، وهي جزء من سلاسل التوريد المحلية والعالمية في قطاعات متنوعة مثل البناء وقطاع صناعة السيارات.