EGA CEO holds open forum with graduate trainees on career success

 

United Arab Emirates: The Managing Director & Chief Executive Officer of Emirates Global Aluminium, the largest industrial company in the United Arab Emirates outside oil and gas, has held an open forum with more than 170 of the company’s current and recent graduate trainees to provide guidance on career success and hear their perspectives on making EGA an employer of choice.

Abdulla Kalban, and six other members of EGA’s Executive Committee, originally joined the company as fresh graduates. The young participants in the forum all joined EGA’s 18-month graduate training programme since 2015.

EGA typically has around 100 graduate trainees at any time, Many graduate trainees at EGA have studied electrical, mechanical or chemical engineering or mechatronics, although EGA also recruits graduates in finance, accounting, HR, marketing, supply chain and other disciplines.

EGA develops customised development plans for each graduate trainee, with on-the-job training, technical skills development, and management and leadership competency development programmes.

Mr. Kalban said: “We need to continue to attract the best young people to join our company and industry, particularly those in science, technology, engineering and maths. In our diverse economy young people have many choices of employers, so hearing the voices of our graduate trainees directly is important to me as Managing Director & CEO.

“I also think it is important for those of us who have had successful careers in science, technology, engineering and maths to stand up as role models, and share what we have learned. I always advise young people to be different and to be patient. Leadership is earned.”

A national survey that was commissioned by EGA last year found that 68 percent of young people in the UAE think having access to role models and on-the-job training or internships would help them pursue careers in science technology, engineering and mathematics.

EGA aims to Emiratise 40 per cent of in-focus positions, or those that can feasibly be Emiratised, by 2020. EGA finished 2017 with 37.6 per cent Emiratisation, the company’s highest ever level.

منتدى مفتوح حول النجاح المهني مع الخريجين المتدربين في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بحضور الرئيس التنفيذي

 

الإمارات العربية المتحدة: عقد عبد الله جاسم بن كلبان، العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، أكبر شركة صناعية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة خارج قطاع النفط والغاز، منتدى مفتوح مع أكثر من 170 من الخريجين المتدربين لدى الشركة، قدّم خلاله إرشادات حول النجاح الوظيفي، والتعرف عن قرب على رؤيتهم المستقبلية لتعزيز بيئة العمل في الشركة وجعلها المكان الأفضل للموظفين.

يمتد برنامج الخريجين المتدريبين لمدة 18 شهراً، ويضم شباب من تخصصات الهندسة الكهربائية والميكانيكية والكيميائية والميكاترونيكية، إضاقةً إلى المالية والموارد البشرية والتسويق وسلسلة التوريد وغيرها من التخصصات.

يخضع المتدربون في هذا البرنامج إلى خطة تطوير مصممة خصيصاً لكل فرد، وتشمل التدريب في موقع العمل مع برامج سقل المهارات الفنية والإدارية والقيادية، كما تجري اجتماعات دوريَة لتقييم التطوير الذي يحرزونه.

وقال السيد كلبان: "نسعى لمواصلة استقطاب أفضل الكوادر الوطنية ولا سيما في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. والتعرف على رؤية الخريجين المتدربين والاستماع إلى تجاربهم لأمر مهم لمواكبة التطوير والتحسين وتحقيق مستقبل أفضل للشركة".

وأضاف: "أعتقد من المهم أيضاً ممن لديه تاريخ مهني ناجح في شتى المجالات أن يكون قدوة للشباب ويشارك ما تعلمه من تجارب الحياة معهم ويساهم في إلهامهم. وأنا أنصح دائماً الشباب بأن يتحلوا بالصبر والمثابرة ليكونوا جديرين بتولي القيادة".

وأظهر استطلاع قامت به الشركة العام الماضي حول تطلعات الشباب الإماراتي للعمل في المجالات العلمية أن 68 % من الشباب في الدولة يعتقدون أن الوصول إلى نماذج يحتذى بها والتدريب الداخلي يساعدهم على ممارسة المهن في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات.

وتستهدف شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم الوصول بنسبة توطين 40% بحلول العام 2020، حيث حققت الشركة أعلى معدل للتوطين على الإطلاق مع نهاية العام 2017 بنسبة بلغت 37,6%، والتي تعد النسبة الأعلى من توظيف الإماراتيين مقارنة بالشركات الصناعية الأخرى في الدولة.