EGA employees wrap up Year of Giving after more than 2,700 volunteer hours of service

United Arab Emirates: Emirates Global Aluminium, the largest industrial company in the United Arab Emirates outside oil and gas, wrapped up the Year of Giving after a host of corporate social responsibility initiatives that aimed to support community development and deliver social and environmental impact. Over the year, EGA employees recorded 2,790 hours of volunteer work whilst participating in multiple companywide CSR schemes.
His Highness Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan, President of the United Arab Emirates, declared 2017 as the Year of Giving around three key pillars; Corporate Social Responsibility, volunteering, and serving the nation.
Abdulla Jassem Bin Kalban, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of EGA said: “EGA prides itself on being socially aware and committed to the welfare of all those living in the UAE. The Year of Giving has given us many opportunities to support the community in 2017, as well as the added motivation to continue to give back to the nation after the year has ended.”

Employees embrace volunteerism

Ten employees from EGA were sponsored by the company for a seven-day climb on Mt. Kilimanjaro, Africa’s highest peak. Together the team raised AED 210,000 for Al Jalilah Foundation, a non-profit organisation that provides medical education and research. The money will be used to support individuals in the UAE with missing limbs.
Volunteers from EGA also contributed to the construction of reading zones for school children in Salma Al Ansariya School and Dubai National Charity School. During construction, EGA employees mentored a group of students on simple project management skills as well as providing graphic design, technical and administrative support, team building, and donating books. In addition, the company recently donated a bus to transport students with special needs to and from the Rashid Centre for The Determined Ones for specialised therapies and education services.
Ameera Al Marzooqi, a graduate trainee at EGA who was part of the volunteer team for the construction of reading zones, said: “At EGA, we know we are always encouraged to volunteer for good causes and it is a matter of pride to be part of a company that puts such a high priority on CSR. This year many of us have been given the opportunity to contribute to the welfare of others in a meaningful way. We look forward to the next year and the chance for EGA employees to be part of new initiatives.”
Some 1,436 volunteers from EGA took part in various activations during the course of 2017.

Caring for people and the environment

 

As part of its environmental protection activities, EGA made Earth Hour a weekly event earlier in the year and saved 24,395 kWh in three months by switching off non-essential electrical devices for an hour every week. Furthermore, 1500 employees participated in the annual Emirates Environment Group Clean Up UAE campaign at EGA’s Jebel Ali and Al Taweelah operations to remove 1,630 kilograms of waste from the two sites.
EGA also collaborated with Emirates Environmental Group to plant 167 trees in schools in both Abu Dhabi and Dubai. Upon maturity, the planted trees will mitigate carbon dioxide emissions, contributing to environment protection and the sustainable development of the UAE.
In addition, the EGA football team won the OCEANS 24 HOUR Football Challenge to support Emirates Wildlife Society - WWF and donated the award money to the organisation’s marine conversation efforts.
As part of Breast Cancer Awareness month, EGA volunteers distributed 2,000 pink caps to the public in an effort to raise awareness. A company-wide Pink Day event was also held at EGA Jebel Ali and EGA Al Taweelah, where female employees were provided free screening at the company’s medical facilities. Staff participated generously in a fund-raising campaign by Friends of Cancer Patients for cancer research and treatment for underprivileged women.
The company participated in the “It Goes Back to You” campaign that provides Iftar for patients at Dubai Health Authority hospitals during Ramadan, with a AED10,000 donation.

Supporting engineers of the future

EGA supported education of young people by conducting a work-readiness program under INJAZ UAE, reaching out to 765 students to provide innovation camps for business solutions, training and job shadow days during which EGA volunteers mentored the students.
The company further launched a new national programme, ‘Engineer the Future,’ to encourage high school students to consider advanced studies and careers in science, technology, engineering and mathematics. This program aims to reach 8,000 students in 30 schools across the nation this academic year with interactive learning sessions on aluminium and the fundamental science on which the aluminium industry is based. As of December 2017, 1,264 students have attended the program.

موظفو شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم يختتمون "عام الخير" بأكثر من 2700 ساعة من العمل التطوعي

الإمارات العربية المتحدة: اختتمت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، أكبر شركة صناعية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة خارج قطاع النفط والغاز، فعاليات "عام الخير" بمجموعة من مبادرات المسؤولية المجتمعية التي تهدف إلى دعم التنمية المجتمعية وتحقيق الأثر الاجتماعي والبيئي. وعلى مدار هذا العام، سجل موظفو الشركة 2,790 ساعة من العمل التطوعي إلى جانب المشاركة في العديد من برامج المسؤولية المجتمعية للشركة.
وكان صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان رئيس الدولة حفظه الله، قد أعلن عن تسمية عام 2017 بـ"عام الخير"، عبر تركيز العمل على ثلاثة محاور رئيسية وهي ترسيخ مفهوم المسؤولية المجتمعية في الشركات، وتعزيز روح العمل التطوعي، وترسيخ خدمة الوطن.
ومن جانبه، قال عبد الله جاسم بن كلبان، العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم: "تفتخر شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بوعيها الإجتماعي وإلتزامها برعاية المقيمين في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وقد أتاح لنا "عام الخير" فرصة كبيرة لدعم المجتمع، فضلاً عن الحافز الإضافي لمواصلة العطاء للوطن بعد نهاية العام".

الموظفون يتبنون العمل التطوعي

برعاية شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، تسلق عشرة موظفين من الشركة جبل كليمنجارو، أعلى قمة في قارة أفريقيا، في رحلة استمرت لسبعة أيام، حيث تمكن الفريق من جمع تبرعات بقيمة 210,000 درهم لصالح مؤسسة الجليلة، وهي منظمة غير ربحية تقدم دراسات طبية وتعليمية، وسوف تستخدم الأموال لدعم الأفراد مبتوري الأطراف في دولة الإمارات.
كما ساهم متطوعون من شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في إنشاء مناطق القراءة لأطفال المدارس في مدرسة سلمى الأنصارية ومدرسة دبي الوطنية الخيرية. و خلال مرحلة الإنشاء قدَم موظفو الشركة لمجموعة من الطلاب مهارات بسيطة حول إدارة المشاريع، فضلاً عن تقديم التصميم الجرافيكي الأساسي، والدعم الفني والإداري، وبناء الفرق والتبرع بالكتب. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، تبرعت الشركة مؤخراً بحافلة لنقل طلاب أصحاب الهمم بهدف تسهيل نقلهم من و إلى مركز راشد لأصحاب الهمم لتلقي العلاجات المتخصصة والخدمات التعليمية.
وقالت أميرة المرزوقي من شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، والتي كانت عضواً في الفريق التطوعي لإنشاء مناطق القراءة: "يحظى الموظفون في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بالتشجيع الدائم للإنخراط في العمل التطوعي، وأنا أشعر بالفخر لانتمائي لهذه الشركة التي تحظى المسؤولية الاجتماعية لديها بالأولوية القصوى، و قد سنحت الفرصة للعديد من الموظفين هذا العام للمساهمة في رعاية الآخرين بطريقة مجدية، ونحن نتطلع إلى العام المقبل، وإتاحة المزيد من الفرص لموظفي الشركة ليكونوا جزءاً من المبادرات القادمة".
يذكر أن 1436 متطوعاً من شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم قد شاركوا في العديد من الأنشطة خلال عام 2017.

الاهتمام بالناس والبيئة

 

ضمن أنشطتها المتعلقة بحماية البيئة، طبقت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم نظام ساعة الأرض بشكل أسبوعي في وقت سابق من هذا العام، الأمر الذي أثمر عن تحقيقها وفراً يقدر بـ 24,395 كيلو وات/ ساعة خلال ثلاثة أشهر، وذلك عن طريق إيقاف الأجهزة الكهربائية الغير ضرورية لمدة ساعة أسبوعياً. وعلاوة على ذلك، شارك 1500 موظف في حملة الإمارات لتنظيف البيئة في موقعي الشركة في جبل علي والطويلة، حيث تمكنوا من إزالة 1,630 كجم من النفايات من كلا الموقعين.
كما تعاونت الشركة مع مجموعة الإمارات للبيئة لزراعة 167 شجرة في المدارس في كل من أبوظبي ودبي. وعند نضجها، ستسهم الأشجار المزروعة في التخفيف من انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون، والمساهمة في حماية البيئة والتنمية المستدامة لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.
وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، فاز فريق كرة القدم التابع لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بجائزة تحدي كرة القدم "أوشنس 24 ساعة" لدعم جمعية الإمارات للحياة الفطرية - الصندوق العالمي للطبيعة، وقامت بالتبرع بأموال الجائزة لجهود المنظمة في مجال الحوار حول أهمية الحياة البحرية.
وضمن شهر التوعية بمرض سرطان الثدي، وزع متطوعو الشركة 2,000 قبعة وردية على الجمهور في محاولة لنشر الوعي حول المرض. كما أقيمت فعاليات اليوم الوردي على مستوى الشركة في جبل علي والطويلة، حيث تم تقديم فحص مجاني للموظفات في المنشآت الطبية للشركة. وشارك الموظفون بسخاء في حملة لجمع الأموال من قبل أصدقاء مرضى السرطان لدعم بحوث السرطان وعلاج السيدات المصابات.
كما شاركت الشركة في حملة "العودة إليكم" والتي توفر الإفطار للمرضى في المستشفيات التابعة لهيئة الصحة بدبي خلال شهر رمضان، من خلال التبرع بمبلغ 10,000 درهم.

دعم مهندسي المستقبل

عززت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم إلتزامها بتعليم الشباب من خلال تنفيذ برنامج للاستعداد للعمل تحت إشراف "إنجاز الإمارات"، حيث قامت الشركة برعاية "مخيمات الإبداع" لمساعدة الشباب على توسيع آفاقهم وتطوير جوانب التفكير النقدي وقدرات حل المشكلات لديهم. نتيجة لذلك قامت الشركة بدعم 765 طالباً عبر تطوع موظفيها من مختلف الإدارات بوقتهم ومعارفهم لإرشادهم في ورش عمل مخيمات الإبداع. وذلك في إطار تعزيز مشاركة النشطة والواعية لموظفي الشركة في المجتمعات المحلية.

كما أطلقت الشركة برنامجاً وطنياً بعنوان "هندسة المستقبل" لتشجيع طلاب المدارس الثانوية على الاهتمام بالدراسات والمهن المتقدمة في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. ويهدف هذا البرنامج للوصول إلى 8000 طالب في 30 مدرسة في جميع أنحاء الدولة خلال العام الدراسي، بجلسات التعليم التفاعلي على الألمنيوم والعلوم الأساسية التي تقوم عليها صناعة الألمنيوم. وحتى شهر ديسمبر 2017، حضر البرنامج 1,264 طالباً.