Young UAE Nationals dream of engineering and technology careers but need more role models and internships to make dreams reality, EGA study finds

  • 40% of young UAE Nationals want careers in science, technology, engineering or mathematics-related fields – far more than their parents’ generation
  • 68% of young people think having access to role models and internships would help them pursue these important careers
  • ‘UAE Vision 2021’ calls for innovation, research, science and technology to form the pillars of a knowledge-based, highly productive and competitive economy
  • EGA employs more than 1,540 professionals in science, technology, engineering and mathematics specialisms including 500 UAE Nationals.

United Arab Emirates: A survey commissioned by Emirates Global Aluminium, the largest industrial company in the United Arab Emirates outside oil and gas, has found that young UAE Nationals are increasingly aiming to pursue careers in science, technology, engineering and mathematics, which are collectively known by the acronym STEM, but need more high-profile role models and internship opportunities to make their career dreams a reality.
The survey found that 40 per cent of 18-24 year old UAE Nationals are interested in entering STEM fields. This compares to just 23 per cent of their parents who say they would pick these sectors if they were young today.
Some 38 per cent of young UAE Nationals see internships and on-the-job training opportunities as key to pursuing ambitions in these fields. Another 30 per cent want access to the insights and experiences of high-profile people who have had successful careers in STEM.
UAE Vision 2021 calls for innovation, research, science and technology to form the pillars of a knowledge-based, highly productive and competitive economy. ‘UAE Vision 2021’ also calls for improved educational attainment in these subjects..
85 per cent of young people and 87 per cent of parents see careers in STEM as more likely to contribute to national development than careers in other fields.
EGA employs more than 1,540 professionals in STEM related fields, including some 500 UAE Nationals.
One-in-five young people are interested in careers in technology, making it the most popular career aspiration for their generation. Just two per cent of parents polled would pick technology if they were young today.
12 per cent of young people want to become engineers, and four per cent aspire to be scientists.
However the study also shows that interest in mathematics and science during school alone is not enough to encourage all young people to pick these fields as careers. Some 17 per cent of young men and 37 per cent of young women say that they currently enjoy studying science and mathematics but plan to pursue careers in other fields.
Abdulla Kalban, Managing Director & Chief Executive Officer of EGA, said: “It is clear that we need more of our young people in the UAE to pursue careers in science, technology, engineering and mathematics. It is the responsibility of major employers of these professionals like EGA, and those of us who have enjoyed successful careers in these fields, to do everything we can to make that happen both for our own companies and our nation.”
Mr. Kalban is one of five members of EGA’s Executive Committee who studied a STEM subject at university and then joined EGA as graduate trainees.
EGA currently has 130 graduate trainees, primarily in STEM related disciplines. Graduate trainees undergo 18-month training programmes before taking on permanent roles at the company.
EGA is sponsoring 180 UAE Nationals to study at university, most in various fields of engineering. EGA has helped nearly 350 students get their education since 2001.
EGA has run a summer internship programme for students for the past 20 years. This year 30 UAE National university and high school students received work experience at EGA’s smelters in Abu Dhabi and Dubai and in head office departments.
EGA recently launched a national programme to encourage high school students to consider further studies and careers in STEM. The programme, called ‘Engineer the Future’, provides interactive learning sessions in high schools on aluminium and the fundamental science on which the aluminium industry is based.
The survey was commissioned by EGA and conducted by the global polling firm YouGov.

الشباب الإماراتي يحلمون بمهن الهندسة والتكنولوجيا ولكنهم بحاجة إلى المزيد من نماذج العمل والتدريب لتحقيق هذه الأحلام

  • 40% من الشباب الإماراتي يريدون العمل في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات، وهي نسبة أكبر بكثير من جيل آبائهم
  • 68% من الشباب يعتقدون أن الحصول على نماذج العمل والتدريب الداخلي يساعدهم على متابعة هذه المهن المهمة
  • "رؤية الإمارات 2021" تحث على الابتكار والبحث والعلوم والتكنولوجيا لتشكيل دعائم الاقتصاد القائم على المعرفة
  • يعمل في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم أكثر من 1540 موظف في تخصصات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات، منهم 500 من مواطني الدولة

الإمارات العربية المتحدة: كشفت دراسة استقصائية أجرتها شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، أكبر شركة صناعية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة خارج قطاع النفط والغاز، أن الشباب من مواطني دولة الإمارات يتطلعون بشكل متزايد إلى العمل في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات، ولكنهم يعتقدون أنهم بحاجة إلى أمثلة نجاح والمزيد من فرص التدريب ليتمكنوا من تحقيق أحلامهم.
ووجدت الدراسة أن 40% من المواطنين الإماراتيين الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 18 و24 عاماً مهتمون بدخول مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. ويقارن ذلك بنسبة 23% فقط من جيل آبائهم ، الذين أعربوا عن رغبتهم باختيار هذه القطاعات في حال أتيحت لهم الفرصة مرة أخرى اليوم.
ويرى نحو 38% من الشباب الإماراتيين أن فرص التدريب الداخلي والعملي هما من أهم الركائز لتحقيق طموحاتهم في هذه الميادين. ويسعى 30% آخرون للحصول على أفكار وتجارب الأشخاص البارزين الذين حصلوا على وظائف وحياة مهنية ناجحة في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات.
تحث رؤية الإمارات 2021 إلى الابتكار والبحث والعلوم والتكنولوجيا لتشكيل دعائم الاقتصاد الإنتاجي قائمة على المعرفة والتنافس. وتدعو رؤية الإمارات 2021 أيضاً إلى تحسين التحصيل التعليمي في هذه المجالات.
ويرى 85% من الشباب و87% من الأهالي أن الوظائف في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات يتوقع أن تسهم في التنمية الوطنية أكثر من المهن في مجالات أخرى.
تجدر الإشارة إلى أن شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم يعمل فيها أكثر من 1540 موظف في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات، منهم حوالي 500 مواطن إماراتي.
وأبدى شاب واحد من كل خمسة شباب اهتمامه بالعمل في مهن متصلة بمجال التكنولوجيا، ما يجعله القطاع الوظيفي الأكثر شعبية بين جيل الشباب. بينما أعرب 2% فقط من الأهالي الذين شملتهم الدراسة أنهم كانوا سيختارون مجال التكنولوجيا في حال أتيحت لهم الفرصة مرة أخرى اليوم.
ويرغب 12% من الشباب أن يصبحوا مهندسين، إضافة إلى أن 4% يطمحون إلى أن يكونوا علماء. وتبين الدراسة أيضاً أن الاهتمام بالرياضيات والعلوم خلال فترة المدرسة وحدها لا يكفي لتشجيع جميع الشباب على اختيار هذه المجالات كمهن مستقبلية لهم، حيث قال حوالي 17% من الشبان و37% من الشابات إنهم يتمتعون حالياً بدراسة العلوم والرياضيات، لكنهم يخططون للعمل في مهن بمجالات أخرى.
وقال عبد الله كلبان، العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم: "من الواضح أننا بحاجة إلى أن يتابع المزيد من الشباب الإماراتي طموحاتهم للعمل في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. وتقع مسؤولية هذا على عاتق أصحاب العمل والشركات الكبيرة مثل هذه المهن، مثل شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، بالإضافة إلى الأشخاص الذين يتمتعون بحياة مهنية ناجحة في هذه المجالات، لنقدم كل ما في وسعنا لتحقيق ذلك سواء لشركاتنا وأمتنا".
ويعد السيد عبد الله كلبان أحد أعضاء اللجنة التنفيذية الخمسة لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم الذين درسوا أحد اختصاصات العلوم أو التكنولوجيا أو الهندسة أو الرياضيات في الجامعة، وانضموا بعد ذلك للشركة كمتدربين.
ويعمل في الشركة حالياً 130 متدرب في تخصصات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. ويخضع المتدربون الخريجون لبرامج تدريبية مدتها 18 شهراً قبل أن يتسلموا مهامهم الدائمة في الشركة. كما ترعى الشركة 180 مواطناً إماراتياً خلال دراستهم الجامعية في مختلف مجالات الهندسة. وساعدت الشركة أيضاً حوالي 350 طالباً لإتمام تعليمهم منذ العام 2001.
وتنظم شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم برنامج التدريب الصيفي للطلاب على مدى السنوات الـ20 الماضية. وحصل 30 طالباً وطالبة من طلبة الجامعات الوطنية والمدارس الثانوية في دولة الإمارات هذا العام على شهادة خبرة عملية في مصاهر الشركة المتواجدة في أبوظبي ودبي وفي أقسام مقر الشركة الرئيسي.
وأطلقت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم مؤخراً برنامجاً وطنياً لتشجيع طلبة المدارس الثانوية على دراسة المزيد من التخصصات المطلوبة للعمل في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. ويقدم البرنامج الذي يدعى "مهندس المستقبل" دورات تعليمية تفاعلية في المدارس الثانوية متعلقة بصناعة الألمنيوم والعلوم الأساسية التي تعتمد عليها.
جدير بالذكر أن هذه الدراسة أجريت من قبل شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، وأجرتها شركة يوجوف العالمية لاستطلاعات الرأي.