EGA’s Hot Metal Road Goes Live To Deliver Molten Aluminium To Customers In KIZAD

Ducab Aluminium Company is inaugural Hot Metal customer via dedicated route.

United Arab Emirates: Emirates Global Aluminium’s Al Taweelah smelter is starting deliveries of molten liquid metal to its customers in Khalifa Industrial Zone Abu Dhabi (“KIZAD”) via a dedicated Hot Metal Road – the first in the United Arab Emirates to link separate industrial sites.

The inaugural hot metal customer is Ducab Aluminium Company which produces aluminium electrical cables.

Receiving aluminium as molten metal eliminates the need for companies like Ducab Aluminium Company to use high energy to re-melt it before use. This saves both costs and environmental emissions, increasing the competitiveness of the growing UAE aluminium fabrication industry.

EGA has developed a dedicated, state-of-the-art Liquid Metal Transfer facility, which is capable of 24-hour operations. The first of its kind in the UAE, this facility transfers molten metal via overhead crane to preheated 14.5 tonne crucibles which can keep the metal liquid for up to 18 hours at temperatures of around 780 degrees Celsius.

The crucibles are mounted on highly secured trailers and driven to customers.

Ducab Aluminium Company is a joint venture between Ducab, the Middle East’s leading manufacturer of high-quality cables and cabling products, and Senaat, one of the largest industrial investment and holding companies in the UAE.

“For our customers and those businesses planning to establish their operations in KIZAD, receiving molten metal offers substantial operating and environmental advantages,” says Dr Feras Allan, Senior Vice President, Product & Casting Operations at EGA. “This means that the Hot Metal Road is an important boost to the development of the broader aluminium industry here, creating jobs, economic opportunities and wealth for the nation.”

Eng. Hassan Omar, Chief Operating Officer, Ducab, said: “The close proximity of the new Ducab Aluminium Company plant to the world’s largest single-site aluminium smelter introduces additional efficiencies into our operations. The Hot Metal Road will significantly reduce re-melting costs and save energy, in line with Ducab’s environmentally-responsible production policies, and allow us to develop a complementary downstream industry in both aluminium rod and conductors.”

The Ducab Aluminium Company plant will have a production capacity of 50,000 tonnes per annum and is the result of an investment of AED 220 million (US$60 million). This includes the costs of the plant, machinery, infrastructure, and buildings. Using the latest technology and production standards, Ducab Aluminium Company will manufacture aluminium and aluminium alloy rods, wires, and bare overhead conductors, as it aims to capitalise on the growing market demand for these products within the Middle East and North Africa region.

Ducab Aluminium Company is the latest addition to the growing number of downstream ventures being developed in KIZAD as part of the UAE’s ambitious vision to further diversify the economy.

Once all of the planned downstream aluminium industries at KIZAD are fully commissioned, EGA will be able to deliver up to a quarter of a million tonnes of liquid aluminium per year. EGA and its predecessor companies have been the foundation and lynchpin of the UAE’s aluminium sector since the 1970s. The aluminium industry as a whole in the country now employs around 30,000 people.

الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تدشن طريق مخصص لنقل الألمنيوم المصهور لعملائها بمنطقة خليفة الصناعية

الإمارات العربية المُتحدة: بدأ مصهر شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بمنطقة الطويلة بتسليم شحنات الألمنيوم المنصهر السائل إلى عملاء الشركة في منطقة خليفة الصناعية (كيزاد) في أبوظبي، عبر طريق مخصص لنقل الألمنيوم المنصهر السائل، يعد الأول من نوعه في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة الذي يربط مواقع صناعية منفصلة.

وتعد شركة دوكاب للألمنيوم، التي تقوم بتصنيع كابلات الألمنيوم الكهربائية، أول شركة تحصلعلى شحنات الألمنيوم المصهور السائل.

ويسهم الحصول على معدن الألمنيوم في حالته المصهورة في توفير النفقات وتقليص الإنبعاثات البيئية، وتعزيز تنافسية شركات تصنيع منتجات الألمنيوم الإماراتية المتنامية، مثل شركة دوكاب للألمنيوم، لاستخدام موارد طاقة عالية لإعادة صهر قضبان الألمنيوم قبل إعادة إستخدامها.

وقامت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بتطوير منشأة خاصة ومتطورة لنقل الألمنيوم المصهور تعمل على مدار الساعة. وتقوم المنشأة، التي تعد الأولى من نوعها في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، بنقل المعدن المصهور عبر رافعات علوية إلى صناديق شحن بري مسبقة التسخين بطاقة 14.5 طن، والتي يمكنها المحافظة على معدن الألمنيوم في حالته السائلة حتى 18 ساعة، عند درجات حرارة حوالي 780درجة مئوية.

وتم تركيب صناديق الشحن البري مسبقة التسخين على مقطورات مزودة بأرقى درجات السلامة والأمان وقيادتها حتى مقرات العملاء.

وتعد شركة دوكاب للألمنيوم مشروعاً مشتركاً بين دوكاب، الشركة الصناعية الرائدة بقطاع إنتاج الكابلات الكهربائية ذات الجودة العالية ومنتجات الكابلات في منطقة الشرق الأوسط، وشركة "صناعات" إحدى أضخم الشركات القابضة في مجال الاستثمار الصناعي في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

وقال الدكتور فراس علان، نائب أول الرئيس لمنتجات وعمليات السبك في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم :"بالنسبة لعملائها وللشركات التي تخطط لإفتتاح عمليات في منطقة خليفة الصناعية في أبوظبي، فإن إستلامها للألمنيوم المصهور يوفر مزايا تشغيلية وبيئية كبرى، وهو ما يعني أن طريق نقل الألمنيوم المصهور، يمثل دفعة قوية لتطوير صناعة الألمنيوم في الإمارات وتوفير الوظائف والفرص الإقتصادية وتحقيق رخاء الدولة."

من جانبه قال المهندس حسن عمر، الرئيس التنفيذي للعمليات في شركة "دوكاب":"يضفي تواجد مصنع شركة دوكاب للألمنيوم الجديد على مقربة من أضخم المصاهر المنفردة للألمنيوم في العالم إلى كفاءات إضافية على عملياتنا، حيث سيسهم طريق نقل الألمنيوم المصهور بشكل ملحوظ في خفض تكاليف إعادة الصهر وتوفير الطاقة، وذلك تماشيا مع سياسات الإنتاج المسؤولة بيئيا في دوكاب، وتمكيننا من تطوير صناعة الألمنيوم التحويلية التكميلية على مستوى قضبان وموصلات الألمنيوم."

وستبلغ الطاقة الإنتاجية لمصنع دوكاب للألمنيوم الجديد 50 ألف طن سنويا، وهو ثمرة إستثمارات بقيمة 220 مليون درهم (60 مليون دولار أمريكي )، تتضمن تكلفة المصنع والمعدات والبنية التحتية والمباني. وباستخدام أحدث معايير التكنولوجيا والإنتاج، ستقوم شركة دوكاب للألمنيوم بتصنيع قضبان الألمنيوم وخلائط الألمنيوم والأسلاك والموصلات العلوية ، كما تهدف للاستفادة من الطلب المتنامي على هذه المنتجات في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا.

وتعد شركة دوكاب للألمنيوم أحدث إضافة إلى العدد المتزايد من مشاريع الصناعات التحويلية في منطقة خليفة الصناعية في أبوظبي، التي يجري تطويرها كجزء من رؤية دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة الطموحة لتحقيق مزيد من التنوع الإقتصادي.

وبمجرد استكمال وتشغيل جميع مصانع صناعات الألمنيوم التحويلية المخطط لها بمنطقة خليفة الصناعية، ستقوم شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بتسليم حتى ربع مليون طن من الألمنيوم المصهور عبر منشأة نقل الألمنيوم المصهور سنويا. وكانت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم والشركات قبلها، أساس وعصب قطاع الألمنيوم الإماراتي من العام 1970، حيث يقوم قطاع صناعة الألمنيوم في الدولة حاليا بتوظيف نحو 30 ألف موظف.