EGA encourages Emirati youth to consider careers in industry

Industrial giant welcoming high school students to its operations as part of Mubadala Career Tour initiative

United Arab Emirates: Emirates Global Aluminium (“EGA”) is showcasing one of the largest industrial sites in the United Arab Emirates to high school students over the coming weeks in an effort to encourage young Emiratis to consider careers in industry.

The students will tour EGA’s Al Taweelah operations, one of the largest single-site primary aluminium smelters in the world and the heart of a growing broader UAE aluminium industry that already employs around 30,000 people.

EGA employs around 7,000 people in the UAE, with an Emiratisation rate in targeted positions of 35% for 2016. The company is targeting 42% per cent Emiratisation in these positions by 2020.

The EGA site tours are part of the Mubadala Career Tour initiative, a collaborative effort between Mubadala and the Abu Dhabi Education Council to introduce young people to the diverse industries in the country.

The first group of 45 youngsters to tour EGA this time were Grade 10 students from Al Samha School, one of the closest schools to Al Taweelah operations.

The EGA team that hosted the Al Samha School students included Khadija Al Marzooqi (Senior Officer, Communications), who graduated from Al Samha School herself.

Lulua Mohamed, 15 years old, said: “I was surprised that women can work at EGA. There are a lot of job opportunities available.”

Fellow student Sanaa Abdullah, also 15, added: “I would like to be an engineer when I graduate from university, and EGA will be one of my first choices.”

“It is very pleasing that students from Al Samha School visited us, as we always welcome recruits from communities near our operations,” says Ahmed Al Shamsi (Executive Vice President, Human Capital). “EGA offers rewarding career opportunities for ambitious high school and university graduates in many fields. Half of our current Executive Committee joined as graduates.”

EGA is owned in equal shares by Mubadala and Investment Corporation of Dubai and has participated in the annual Mubadala Career Tour initiative since 2014. Over 250 students have visited EGA so far as part of Mubadala Career Tours.

EGA also regularly hosts other school and university groups at its sites in Jebel Ali and Al Taweelah to support both education and students’ career considerations.

الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تشجع الشباب الإماراتي على العمل بصناعة الألمنيوم

عملاق الألمنيوم الإمارات يرحب بطلاب المدارس في موقع عملياتها، في إطار مبادرة الجولات الوظيفية لشركة مبادلة

الإمارات العربية المُتحدة: تعتزم شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم إستعراض واحدا من أضخم المواقع الصناعية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة أمام طلاب المدارس الثانوية، وذلك في إطار جهودها الرامية إلى تشجيع الشباب الإماراتي على العمل بصناعة الألمنيوم.

وسيقوم الطلاب بجولة في موقع عمليات شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بمنطقة الطويلة، احدى أضخم المصاهر المنفردة لإنتاج الألمنيوم الأولي في العالم، والقلب النابض لصناعة الألمنيوم الإماراتية المتنامية، التي توظف حاليا حوالي 30 ألف موظف.

وتقوم شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم حاليا بتوظيف حوالي 7 آلاف موظف في دولة الإمارات، حيث بلغت نسبة التوطين في الوظائف المستهدفة 35٪ في العام 2016، وتسعى الشركة لبلوغ نسبة التوطين 42% في تلك المناصب بحلول العام 2020.

وتشكل هذه الجولةجزءا من "مبادرة الجولات الوظيفية" التابعة لشركة "مبادلة"، وتمثل جهدا مشتركا بين مبادلة ومجلس أبوظبي للتعليم لتعريف الشباب الإماراتي على مختلف القطاعات الصناعية في الدولة.

وضمت الدفعة الأولى من الشباب الإماراتي التي تقوم بزيارة موقع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم 45 من طلبة الصف العاشر بمدرسة السمحة، التي تعد من أقرب المدارس لموقغ عمليات الطويلة.

وضم فريق شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم الذي كان في إستقبال طلاب مدرسة السمحة، خديجة المرزوقي (مسؤول أول الإتصال)، وهي من خريجي هذه المدرسة.

وقالت الطالبة لولوه محمد ذات الـ15ربيعا :"لقد فوجئت بأن بمقدور النساء العمل في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، فهناك الكثير من فرص العمل المتاحة ".

فيما أضافت زميلتها سناء عبدالله التي يبلغ عمرها أيضا 15 عاما بالقول :"أتطلع إلى أن أكون مهندسة عند تخرجي من الجامعة، وبالطبع ستكون شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم من بين خياراتي المفضلة".

من جانبه قال أحمد الشامسي، نائب الرئيس التنفيذي للموارد البشرية :"لقد كان من دواعي سرورنا الكبير بقيام طلاب مدرسة السمحة بزيارتنا، حيث نرحب دائما بالطلاب القادمين من المناطق القريبة من موقع عملياتنا"، ومضى الشامسي بالقول :"توفر شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم فرصا وظيفية مجزية لطلاب المدارس الثانوية والجامعات الطموحين في العديد من التخصصات، خاصة وأن نصف مسؤولي اللجنة التنفيذية في الشركة إنضموا إليها كخريجين".

تجدر الإشارة إلى أن شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم مملوكة بالتساوي بين شركة مبادلة ومؤسسة دبي للإستثمارات الحكومية، وقد شاركت بمبادرة مبادلة السنوية للجولات الوظيفية منذ العام 2014، حيث قام نحوا 250 طالبا حتى الآن بزيارة شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، في إطار جولات مبادلة الوظيفية.

وتقوم شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بشكل دوري بإستضافة مجموعات طلابية من المدارس والجامعات الأخرى بموقعيها في جبل علي والطويلة، بهدف دعم المسيرة التعليمية والطموحات الوظيفية للطلاب.