Development and training to drive emiratization at EGA

Dedicated Emiratization division matches recruits with most suitable jobs 

United Arab Emirates: The region’s largest primary aluminium producer, Emirates Global Aluminium (“EGA”), has announced a series of enhancements to strengthen its Emiratization Strategy as the business continues to fulfil a corporate mandate to recruit, retain and develop UAE National talent across the organisation. EGA’s dedicated Emiratization division has identified a number of roles, both within EGA’s local and global operations, as a priority for Emiratization. This will facilitate matching the skills, talents and ambitions of recruits with the most suitable job functions within the aluminium giant’s vast operations – thereby promoting retention and sustained career progression.

Currently, the proportion of UAE Nationals among the highlighted positions identified in the Emiratization strategy is 31 per cent, while EGA’s five-year goal for Emiratization is to reach 42 per cent. Both measures are well above the UAE’s industry average of 4 per cent in the private sector.

Commenting on EGA’s enhanced Emiratization Strategy, Sultan Al Sabri (Senior Director, Emiratization) said: “EGA is in a unique position where over 60 per cent of the management team comprises UAE Nationals. This is a great testament to the efficacy of our ongoing Emiratization strategy and sets a positive example for the younger generation of Emirati’s who are considering a career in an industry such as ours.”

Al Sabri explains that EGA’s Emiratization Strategy aims to attract and retain both experienced candidates and entry level recruits through a range of initiatives including highly competitive salary and benefit packages as well pre-employment training courses in various disciplines, advanced graduate training and accelerated development programmes, as well as internships and summer training programmes. In 2015, EGA hosted 35 interns on its work placement programme and also enrolled 20 candidates for its summer training programme. In addition, EGA has granted more than 120 undergraduate scholarships to UAE Nationals students currently at university, who will be able to hold supervisory roles within the organisation upon graduation.

“As a proudly Emirati company, EGA is committed to hiring, growing and developing local talent to maximise its impact on the social and economic development of the UAE. In line with the UAE Vision 2021, EGA actively contributes to the creation of a stable labour market and a productive workforce that revolves around UAE citizens,” says Al Sabri. “We have a strong Emiratization focus and are proud of our 39-year legacy of supporting and nurturing many of the most talented and influential business leaders within the UAE.”

الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تدشن إستراتيجية توطين محسنة

 

 

  • مواطنو الإمارات يشكلون حاليا نسبة 31% من شريحة الوظائف المحددة في إستراتيجية التوطين، وخطة التوطين الخمسية تهدف إلى زيادة تلك النسبة إلى 42%.
  • أكثر من 60% من الفريق الإداري للشركة يتكون من المواطنين، ما يمثل دليلا كبيرا على مدى فعالية وكفاءة إستراتيجية التوطين في الشركة.

الإمارات العربية المُتحدة: قالت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم أن مواطني الإمارات يشكلون حاليا نسبة 31% من شريحة الوظائف المحددة في إستراتيجية التوطين الخاصة بها، وأن خطتها الخمسية للتوطين تهدف إلى زيادة تلك النسبة إلى 42%، وهما النسبتان اللتان تتجاوزا، وبشكل كبير، المتوسط الصناعي في الإمارات البالغ 4% في القطاع الخاص.

وتأتي هذه التصريحات مع إعلان الشركة، التي تعد أكبر منتج للألمنيوم الأولي في المنطقة، عن سلسلة من التحسينات لتعزيز إستراتيجية التوطين الخاصة بها، مع مواصلة الإيفاء بإلتزامها بتوظيف وإستبقاء وتطوير المواهب الإماراتية بمختلف عملياتها، حيث قامت إدارة التوطين في الشركة بتحديد عدد من الوظائف على مستوى عمليات الشركة المحلية والعالمية، كأولوية للتوطين، وهو الأمر الذي يسهل مطابقة مهارات ومواهب وطموحات الموظفين مع الوظائف الأكثر ملائمة على إمتداد نطاق عمليات عملاق الألمنيوم الإماراتي، وبالتالي تعزيز عملية إستبقاء الموظفين وتحقيق التقدم الوظيفي المستدام.

وتعليقا على استراتيجية التوطين المحسنة في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، قال سلطان الصابري، مدير أول التوطين :" تتمتع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بمكانة مرموقة حيث يشكل مواطنو الإمارات أكثر من 60% من الفريق الإداري للشركة، وهو ما يمثل دليلا كبيرا على مدى فعالية وكفاءة إستراتيجية التوطين المتبعة و يعطي مثالا إيجابيا لجيل الشباب الإماراتي، الذي يفكر في العمل بقطاع صناعة الألمنيوم".

وأشار الصابري إلى أن استراتيجية التوطين في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تهدف الى اجتذاب واستبقاء كلا من الموظفين ذوي الخبرة والموظفين المبتدئين على حد سواء، من خلال مجموعة من المبادرات بما في ذلك المرتبات والمزايا التنافسية، وكذلك الدورات التدريبية لما قبل التوظيف في مختلف التخصصات، والبرامج التدريبية المتطورة للخريجين وبرامج التطوير المتسارع، فضلا عن برامج التدريب الداخلي والتدريب الصيفي. وفي العام 2015، استضافت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم 35 متدربا ضمن برنامج التدريب العملي، كما قامت أيضا بتسجيل 20 متدربا في برنامجها للتدريب الصيفي. وبالإضافة لذلك، قدمت الشركة أكثر من 120 منحة دراسية للطلبة الإماراتيين الذين يدرسون حاليا بالجامعات، وسيكون بمقدورهم شغل وظائف إشرافية في الشركة، بعد تخرجهم.

وأضاف الصابري :"إنطلاقا من فخرها الكبير بجذورها الإماراتية، تلتزم شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بتوظيف وتنمية وتطوير المهارات الإماراتية، وزيادة تأثيرها الإيجابي على مسيرة التنمية الاجتماعية والاقتصادية في الإمارات. وتماشيا مع رؤية الإمارات 2021، تساهم شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بشكل فعال في خلق سوق عمل مستقر وقوى عاملة منتجة تتمحور حول مواطني الإمارات"، وإختتم الصابري تصريحاته بالقول :"نحن نركز بشكل قوي على التوطين ونفخر كل الفخر بإرثنا الممتد على مدار 39 عاما من دعم ورعاية العديد من كبار قادة الأعمال وأكثرهم موهبة وتأثيرا في الإمارات".