EGA offers social inclusion to children from Awladouna centre

Supporting special needs children and giving them the chance to integrate in social activities
United Arab Emirates: Emirates Global Aluminium (“EGA”), invited children from Awladouna Center to join in its annual CSR initiative coincident with the 27th edition of the Omega Dubai Desert Classic (“ODDC”).

A group of 20 students from Awladouna Center, accompanied by six teachers and five volunteers was hosted by EGA’s CSR team at Emirates Golf Club on Thursday 4 February, during Round 1 of the tournament. The children had the opportunity to meet some of the top players competing in the event and enjoyed the carnival-like atmosphere at the tournament village where a wide range of activities, relaxation zones and interactive opportunities were on offer. As a responsible corporate social citizen, EGA is continuously on the look-out for that benefit and give back to the community. Leveraging its long-standing sponsorship of the ODDC, EGA took the initiative to invite these special needs children for an outing rich in social interaction that will help develop their social skills.

“EGA’s involvement in the ODDC is motivated by our corporate commitment to support the broader goals of the UAE government, specifically by showcasing our country to international audiences which, in turn, contributes to the socio-economic growth the nation,” commented Khalid Essa Buhumaid (Senior Vice President, Communication & Government Relations). “Each year, we leverage our sponsorship of the event to benefit a selected charitable organisation, with preference being given to the disadvantaged and disabled in our society. Moreover, we foster long-term relationships with centers, in order to provide continuous support that will help make a difference in society.”

Evidencing this, EGA has built a strong, long-term relationship with Awladouna Center, having previously supported various initiatives over the years. For example, EGA has donated AED 74,300 since 2013 towards different needs at the center – including building handrails around the upper floor opening and staircases for the children’s safety, closing in a balcony using Aluminium to create a small classroom, equipping two different vocational rooms and more.

Moreover, Emirates Global Aluminium (“EGA”) pro-actively supported the ‘Pink Friday’, at this year’s Omega Dubai Desert Classic tournament, by distributing 2,000 caps to spectators and media representatives as they arrive to watch the golf on Friday 5 February, to help raise awareness of breast cancer – thereby sending out a strong message of support for the cause. Pink Day is an annual activity hosted at EGA hosted, where health screening is offered to its female employees and a full programme of events is organised to highlight the importance of early detection. As part of this campaign, EGA also runs several fund-raising activities to raise money for UAE-based breast cancer charities.

الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم توفر فرص الدمج الإجتماعي لطلاب مركز "أولادنا" لذوي الإحتياجات الخاص

الإمارات العربية المُتحدة: وجهت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم الدعوة لأطفال مركز "أولادنا" لذوي الإحتياجات الخاصة للإنضمام لمبادرة المسؤولية الإجتماعية الخيرية السنوية التي نظمتها الشركة بالتزامن مع الدورة الـ27 لبطولة أوميجا دبي ديزرت كلاسيك.

وقام فريق المسؤولية الإجتماعية في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بإستضافة 20 طالبا من مركز "أولادنا" لذوي الإحتياجات الخاصة، بصحبة ستة مدرسين وخمسة متطوعين بنادي الإمارات للجولف يوم الخميس 4 فبراير، خلال الجولة الأولى من منافسات البطولة. وأتيحت الفرصة للأطفال، بالإلتقاء مع عدد من أشهر اللاعبين والإستمتاع بالأجواء الإحتفالية في " البطولة القروية "، حيث توفرت مجموعة واسعة من الأنشطة ومناطق الاسترخاء والفرص التفاعلية. وإنطلاقاً من كونها شركة مسؤولة إجتماعيا، تسعى شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بشكل دائم إلى ال

وقال السيد/ خالد عيسى بوحميد، نائب أول الرئيس للإتصال والشؤون الحكومية :"تمثل رعايتنا لبطولة أوميجا دبي ديزرت كلاسيك إنعكاساً جلياً لإلتزامنا الراسخ بدعم الأهداف العامة لحكومة الإمارات، خاصة عبر تسليط أنظار الجمهور العالمي على دولتنا، وهو ما يسهم بدوره في تعزيز مسيرة التنمية الإجتماعية والإقتصادية للإمارات، حيث نقوم كل عام بالإستفادة من رعايتنا للبطولة لجمع التبرعات لصالح المؤسسات والجمعيات الخيرية، خاصة تلك التي تعنى بشؤون ذوي الإحتياجات الخاصة في مجتمعنا، كما نعمل على تعزيز علاقات طويلة الأمد مع المراكز الخيرية، من أجل توفير الدعم المتواصل الذي من شأنه أن يساعد على إحداث التغيير المنشود في المجتمع".

وخير دليل على ما تقدم، نجاح شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في بناء علاقة طويلة وقوية مع مركز "أولادنا" لذوي الإحتياجات الخاصة، حيث قامت بدعم العديد من المبادرات على مدار السنين، فعلى سبيل المثال، تبرعت الشركة بمبلغ 74,300 درهم منذ العام 2013، لتلبية مختلف متطلبات المركز، بما في ذلك بناء أعمدة درابزون حول فتحة الطابق العلوي وسلالم لسلامة الأطفال، وإغلاق إحدى الشرفات باستخدام الألمنيوم، لتحويلها إلى فصل دراسي صغير وتجهيز غرفتين للتدريب المهني، والكثير غير ذلك.

بالإضافة عن ذالك أعلنت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، عن دعمها لمبادرة "الجمعة الوردية"، خلال فعاليات بطولة أوميجا دبي ديزرت كلاسيك هذا العام، وذلك من خلال توزيع 2000 قبعة على أفراد الجمهور وممثلي وسائل الإعلام عند وصولهم لمشاهدة منافسات الجولف، اليوم نهار الجمعة الموافق 5 فبراير بهدف المساعدة على رفع مستوى الوعي بمرض سرطان الثدي، ما يبعث برسالة دعم قوية لهذه القضية النبيلة. وتقوم الشركة بتنظيم سنوي لفعاليات "اليوم الوردي"، الذي يشهد توفير الفحوصات الطبية لموظفات الشركة وبرنامج حافل من الأنشطة لتسليط الضوء على أهمية الكشف المبكر. وكجزء من هذه الحملة، تقوم الشركة أيضا بتنظيم العديد من أنشطة جمع التبرعات الخيرية لصالح الجمعيات الخيرية الإماراتية التي تعنى بمكافحة مرض سرطان الثدي.