EGA is silver sponsor of 9th Annual Autism Week

Contributing to community wellbeing is integral to aluminium giant’s corporate DNA
United Arab Emirates: Emirates Global Aluminium (“EGA”) is the Silver Sponsor of the 9th Annual Autism Week taking place from 19 to 27 April 2016 in Abu Dhabi. The event, which is organised by Emirates Autism Centre coincident with the global Autism Month awareness campaign, is held under the patronage of His Excellency Sheikh Nahyan Bin Mubarak Al Nahyan (UAE Minister of Culture and Knowledge Development). EGA is passionate about supporting the wellbeing of the communities wherever it operates, with special needs being a particular focus, and previously sponsored the Annual Autism Week each year from 2011 to 2014.

With a world prevalence of 1 in every 45 individuals, autism is more common than paediatric cancer, diabetes, and AIDS combined, and is the fastest-rising developmental disorder. Autism education, unlike other developmental disorders in the special needs category, is unique, because it requires highly specialised one-on-one training, which is very costly to deliver. Accordingly EGA is this year also sponsoring the costs of one therapist for Autism Trust Foundation to the value of AED 96,000.

Commenting on the sponsorship, Abdulla Kalban (MD & CEO) said, “EGA is once again delighted to partner with Emirates Autism Centre in support of the Annual Autism Week, which aims to raise awareness about autism and encourage support for the cause from corporations across the country. We are very aware of just how important it is for private special needs centres to receive financial support from the business community in order for them to carry out their mission to integrate children with autism into mainstream society; and are therefore pleased to also support Autism Trust Foundation.”

EGA has a long history of involvement with centres in the UAE that specialise in autism therapies. EGA Jebel Ali Operations, for example, has provided extensive support to Dubai Autism Centre since 2009 – ranging from fundraising and driving autism awareness, through supporting advocacy and building capacity, to providing building materials for the centre’s new building. EGA Al Taweelah Operations has collaborated with Emirates Autism Centre since 2010, with key initiatives including building a full-equipped sensory room at the centre where special lighting, music, and objects are used therapeutically for children with autism. The sensory room is also used by other special needs centres in Abu Dhabi. In 2015, EGA hosted an internal autism awareness campaign in cooperation with both Emirates Autism Centre and Dubai Autism Centre.

ضمن رعايتها لأسبوع التوحد ٢٠١٦ الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تتكفل بتكاليف إخصائيي مؤسسة الثقة للتوحد بقيمة 96 ألف درهم

الإمارات العربية المُتحدة: تشير الإحصائيات العالمية إلى أن مرض التوحد هو المرض الأكثر إنتشارا على مستوى العالم، حيث يصيب واحد من كل 45 إنسان في العالم، متفوقا في إنتشاره على أمراض السرطان والسكري والإيدز عند الأطفال مجتمعة، ما يجعل منه مرض إضطراب النمو الأسرع إنتشارا. ونظرا لأن تعليم مرضى التوحد، وعلى عكس اضطرابات النمو الأخرى في فئة ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة، يعد أمرا فريدا من نوعه، لأنه يتطلب تدريبا مباشرا وفرديا متخصصا للغاية، وهو أمر مكلف جدا، فقد أعلنت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم هذا العام عن تبرعها بمبلغ 96 ألف درهم لتغطية تكاليف إخصائيي علاج مرضى التوحد في مؤسسة الثقة للتوحد.

ولم يتوقف دعم الشركة اللامحدود لهذه القضية الإنسانية التي تلامس حياة الكثيرين عند هذا الجهد الخيري المشكور، بل أعلنت الشركة أيضا عن رعايتها الفضية للأسبوع السنوي التاسع للتوحد، الذي يقام في الفترة من 19 إلى 27 أبريل 2016 في أبوظبي. وينظمه مركز الإمارات للتوحد بالتزامن مع حملة "شهر التوحد" العالمية التوعوية، تحت رعاية معالي الشيخ نهيان بن مبارك آل نهيان (وزير الدولة للثقافة وتنمية المعرفة)، وذلك في إطار شغف الشركة وحماسها الكبيرين تجاه دعم رفاهية المجتمعات التي تعمل فيها، خاصة ذوي الإحتياجات الخاصة، حيث قامت سابقا برعاية الأسبوع السنوي للتوحد في الفترة من 2011 إلى 2014.

وفي معرض تعليقه على جهود الشركة المتواصلة بمجال العمل الخيري والإجتماعي، قال عبدالله كلبان، العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي :" إنه لمن دواعي سرور شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم مرة اخرى الدخول في شراكة مع مركز الإمارات للتوحد لدعم الأسبوع السنوي للتوحد الذي يهدف إلى تعزيز الوعي العام بالمرض والتشجيع على دعم هذه القضية النبيلة من جانب الشركات العاملة في الدولة، حيث ندرك إدراكا كاملا كم هو مهم لمراكز رعاية ذوي الاحتياجات الخاصة تلقي الدعم المالي من مجتمع الأعمال من أجل مواصلة القيام بمهمتهم في دمج الأطفال المصابين بالتوحد في المجتمع، كما يسرنا أيضا أن تقديم الدعم لمؤسسة الثقة للتوحد".

وتتمتع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بتاريخ طويل في دعم مراكز الرعاية التي تتخصص في علاج مرضى التوحد في الإمارات، فعلي سبيل المثال قامت عمليات شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في جبل علي بتقديم دعم كبير ومكثف لمركز دبي للتوحد منذ العام 2009، تنوع ما بين جمع التبرعات الخيرية وحملات التوعية بمرض التوحد، وصولا إلى دعم جهود المركز وزيادة طاقته الإستيعابية، وتوفير مواد البناء لمبنى المركز الجديد. كما تعاونت عمليات شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في الطويلة مع مركز الإمارات للتوحد منذ العام 2010، حيث تضمنت مبادراتها الرئيسية بناء غرفة للعلاج الحسي كاملة التجهيز في المركز، حيث يتم استخدام الإضاءة الخاصة والموسيقى، والأغراض الأخرى لعلاج الأطفال المصابين بالتوحد، كما يتم استخدام غرفة العلاج الحسي أيضا من جانب مراكز احتياجات خاصة أخرى في أبو ظبي. وفي العام 2015، نظمت شركة الإمارات العالمية للالمنيوم حملة داخلية للتوعية بمرض التوحد بالتعاون مع كل من مركز الإمارات للتوحد ومركز دبي للتوحد.