Students complete summer training at EGA

High school and university students gain invaluable work experience at aluminium giant.

United Arab Emirates: The annual Summer Training Programme at Emirates Global Aluminium (“EGA”) has drawn to a conclusion for another year with a total of 19 high school and university students successfully completing work experience at EGA’s two sites in the UAE. A total of 15 trainees were enrolled at Dubai Aluminium (“DUBAL” or EGA Jebel Ali), with the Information Technology department welcoming the highest number of students. Emirates Aluminium (“EMAL” or EGA Al Taweelah) hosted four summer trainees in the Human Resources, Environment Health Safety Fire & Security (“EHSFS”), and Supply Chain departments.

A further seven students from Mubadala’s Al Nokhba scholarship programme also benefited from the Summer Training Programme at EMAL – all of whom are studying engineering at universities abroad. These special trainees were allocated to key departments within EMAL Operations, notably Carbon & Port, Power, Casthouse, Reduction, and Major Projects.

By design, EGA’s Summer Training Programme provides business exposure opportunities to UAE-based students, with participants assigned to an area relevant to the discipline they are studying. Guidance is also provided on recommended subjects to focus on as a foundation for a solid career. Participation in the Summer Training Programme is essential for all EGA-sponsored students, who are expected to spend up to five weeks working at EGA in at least two long vacations during their study period and to join the business upon graduating. This exposure to the business helps them acclimatise to EGA and gain relevant work experience relevant to their studies.

Taking place from 2 to 27 August, the Summer Training Programme this year welcomed students from diverse high schools, Zayed University, the American University of Sharjah, Al Ain University and the Higher Colleges of Technology (“HCT”). All students were allocated to a specific supervisor for training and on-going support. On successful completion of the programme, each received a certificate and a memento to commemorate their efforts.

As part of its Emiratization and Corporate Social Responsibility (“CSR”) strategies, EGA offers a variety of programmes that support high school and university students before they start work. These initiatives support the overall education ambitions of the leadership of the UAE and enable EGA to identify potential employees and scholarship students.

“EGA is committed to ensuring rewarding career and development opportunities for all our people, as well as to contributing meaningfully to the communities where we operate. The EGA Summer Training Programme addresses both ambitions by providing a platform for students to develop their skills beyond the classroom and gain a more thorough understanding of the working world,” said Elham Al-Qasim (Executive Vice President: Human Capital at EGA). “We have a growing reputation as one of the UAE’s leading employers and this programme, along with other talent acquisition and training initiatives, is key to attracting Emirati talent and maintaining our status in the market.”

ختام ناجح لفعاليات برنامج شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم للتدريب الصيفي 2015

عملاق الألمنيوم الإماراتي و فرص التدريب العملي القيمة لطلبة المدارس الثانوية والجامعات في الإمارات.

الإمارات العربية المُتحدة: أسدلت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم الستار على فعاليات برنامجها السنوي للتدريب الصيفي للعام 2015، حيث أنهى 19 متدربا من طلبة المدارس الثانوية والجامعات، بنجاح برنامجهم للتدريب العملي بموقعي الشركة في الإمارات، وتم تسجيل إجمالي 15 متدربا بشركة دبي للألمنيوم (دوبال، والتي تعرف أيضا بإسم موقع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بجبل علي)، حيث إستقطبت إدارة تقنية المعلومات العدد الأكبر من الطلاب المتدربين، فيما إستضافت شركة الإمارات للألمنيوم (إيمال، والتي تعرف أيضا بإسم موقع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بالطويلة)، أربعة متدربين بإدارات الموارد البشرية والبيئة والصحة والسلامة وخدمات الإطفاء والأمن، والتوريدات.

كما وفرت إيمال أيضا الخبرة العملية لسبعة متدربين من برنامج النخبة  للمنح الدراسية في شركة مبادلة للتنمية، وجميعهم يدرسون الهندسة في الخارج، حيث تم توزيع المتدربين على الإدرات التشغيلية الرئيسية في الشركة، خاصة  إدارات الكربون والميناء، والطاقة، والمسبك، والإختزال والمشاريع الكبرى.

ووفق التصميم، يعمل برنامج التدريب الصيفي السنوي لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم على  توفير فرص التدريب العملي القيمة للطلاب الإماراتيين عبر توزيعهم على إدارات الشركة ذات الصلة بمجال دراستهم، كما يتم توفير التوجيه والإرشاد حول الموضوعات التي يتوجب التركيز عليها كأساس لبدء مسيرة مهنية قوية، وتعد المشاركة في برنامج التدريب الصيفي متطلبا ضروريا لجميع الطلاب الذين يدرسون تحت رعاية شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، والذين يتوقع منهم العمل حتى خمسة أسابيع في الشركة خلال إثنتين على الأقل من العطل الطويلة أثناء فترة دراستهم، والإنضمام للعمل بالشركة، فور تخرجهم. وتساعد مثل هذه النوعية من التدريب العملي الطلاب على التأقلم مع أجواء العمل في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، وإكتساب الخبرات العملية ذات الصلة بمجال دراستهم.

وقد رحب برنامج التدريب الصيفي لهذا العام، والذي إمتد في الفترة من 2 إلى 27 أغسطس،  بطلاب من المدارس الثانوية المختلفة، وجامعة زايد، والجامعة الأمريكية في الشارقة وجامعة العين وكليات التقنية العليا، حيث تم تخصيص مشرفين لجميع الطلاب لمساعدتهم أثناء التدريب وتقديم الدعم المتواصل لهم، ومع الانتهاء بنجاح من فعاليات البرنامج، تسلم كل متدرب شهادة وهدية تذكارية تقديرا لجهودهم الدؤوبة.

وفي إطار إستراتيجياتها للتوطين والمسؤولية الإجتماعية، توفر شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم مجموعة متنوعة من البرامج التي تدعم طلاب المدارس الثانوية والجامعات، قبل بدء مسيرتهم المهنية، حيث تدعم تلك المبادرات التطلعات التعليم الشامل لقيادة الدولة، وتمكن شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم من تحديد وإختيار الموظفين المحتملين وطلاب المنح الدراسية.

وقالت السيدة/ الهام القاسم، نائب الرئيس التنفيذي لرأس المال البشري في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم :"تلتزم شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم  بضمان توفير الفرص الوظيفية والتنموية المجزية لجميع أبناء الإمارات، وكذلك المساهمة بشكل واع ومفيد في دعم المجتمعات التي نعمل فيها، حيث يلبي برنامج التدريب الصيفي للشركة تلك التطلعات من خلال توفير منصة ملائمة للطلاب لتنمية مهاراتهم خارج فصول الدراسة واكتساب فهم أشمل لبيئة العمل"، ومضت القاسم بالقول :"تتمتع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بسمعة متنامية كأحد أهم أماكن العمل المفضلة في الإمارات، ومن ثم فإن هذا البرنامج، جنبا إلى جنب مبادرات إكتساب المهارات والتدريب الأخرى، تمثل عنصرا رئيسيا لجذب المواهب الإماراتية والمحافظة على مكانتنا المرموقة في السوق."