EGA migrates successfully to ISO 27001:2013

Audit of aluminium giant’s Information Security Management System yields latest certification

United Arab Emirates: With the information technology wave sweeping the business world and the simultaneous rise of security incidents (as per a recent global survey, 38 per cent more security incidents were detected in 2015 than in 2014), business leaders worldwide agree unanimously on the need for adequate and proportionate security controls. Indeed, the importance for such measures is fundamental to the deep commitment to sustainability and business continuity at Emirates Global Aluminium (“EGA”), where a strong Information security management system (“ISMS”) is considered essential for providing secure, reliable and highly available information security system to its employees, customers and business partners.

On the basis of this premise, EGA obtained initial certification to the ISO 27001:2005 ISMS standard in 2006 (in DUBAL) and in 2012 (in EMAL) as a part of its corporate information security compliance programme, which aims to reduce the threat and vulnerability posed to the business continuity by information security risks. Excellent work done in the interim by the Information Technology department has led to the development of an integrated information security system at EGA, which was certified to the more stringent ISO 27001:2013 ISMS standard (an upgraded version of the 2005 edition) on 12 July 2015. Lloyd’s Register Quality Assurance (“LRQA”, an internationally renowned third-party certification body) issued the certificate to EGA after conducting a comprehensive audit.

Commenting on the achievement, Abdulla Jassem bin Kalban (MD & CEO of EGA) said, “Successfully migrating to the more advanced ISO 27001 standard reflects our corporate commitment to continuous improvement. It also confirms that EGA’s Information security practices and controls comply with international standards and best practices, thus ensuring the security of our information assets.”

Ahmad Al Mulla (Senior Vice President, I.T.) presented the ISO 27001:2013 Certificate to Abdulla Jassem bin Kalban (MD & CEO), with Saeed Fadhel Al Mazrooei (CEO: UAE Operations), Senior Vice Presidents, Senior Managers, and core team members of EGA’s Information Technology and Quality Assurance departments in attendance.

"الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم" تتحول بنجاح لمعيار الأيزو 27001:2013

مؤسسة لويدز ريجستر لضمان الجودة منحت الشهادة لعملاق الألمنيوم الإماراتي عقب عملية مراجعة شاملة لنظام إدارة أمن المعلومات.

الإمارات العربية المُتحدة: في ظل إجتياح موجة تكنولوجيا المعلومات لعالم الأعمال وزيادة عدد الحوادث الأمنية (إرتفع عدد الحوادث الأمنية بنسبة 38 في المائة في العام 2015 مقارنة مع العام 2014، وفق دراسة استقصائية عالمية أجريت مؤخراً)، يجمع قادة الأعمال في جميع أنحاء العالم على ضرورة وجود ضوابط أمنية كافية ومتناسبة. وبلا شك فإن أهمية هذه التدابير تمثل ركيزة أساسية لإلتزام شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم العميق تجاه الاستدامة واستمرارية الأعمال، حيث يعتبر وجود نظام قوي لإدارة أمن المعلومات، أساسي لتوفير نظام أمن معلوماتي آمن وموثوق ومتاح لموظفيها وعملائها وشركائها التجاريين.

واستناداً لتلك الفرضية، حصلت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم على شهادة الإعتماد الأولي لمعيار الأيزو 27001:2005 لنظام إدارة أمن المعلومات في العام 2006 (في دوبال) والعام 2012 (في إيمال) كجزء من برنامج إمتثال أمن معلومات الشركة، الذي يهدف إلى الحد من التهديدات والإختراقات التي قد تتعرض لها استمرارية الأعمال نتيجة مخاطر أمن المعلومات. وأسفرت الجهود الممتازة  لإدارة تقنية المعلومات عن تطوير نظام أمن معلومات متكامل في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، و الذي تم إعتماده، يوم 12 يوليو 2015، وفق المعيار القياسي لشهادة الأيزو 27001:2013 لنظام إدارة أمن المعلومات، الأكثر صرامة (نسخة مطورة من معيار العام 2005)، حيث قامت مؤسسة لويدز ريجستر لضمان الجودة، وهي جهة إعتماد مستقلة دولية شهيرة، بإصدار الشهادة لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم عقب عملية مراجعة شاملة.

وتعليقاً على هذا الإنجاز، قال سعادة/ عبدالله جاسم بن كلبان، العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم :"يعكس تحولنا الناجح لمعيار الأيزو 27001 الأكثر تطوراً، مدى إلتزام الشركة تجاه التحسين المستمر، ويؤكد على توافق ممارسات أمن وضوابط المعلومات في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم مع أفضل المعايير والممارسات الدولية، وبالتالي ضمان أمن أصول معلومات الشركة".

أحمد الملا (نائب أول الرئيس: تقنية المعلومات)،  يقدم شهادة الأيزو 27001:2013 لنظام إدارة أمن المعلومات إلى عبدالله جاسم بن كلبان،العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي، بحضور سعادة/ سعيد فاضل المزروعي (الرئيس التنفيذي للعمليات التشغيلية، دولة الإمارات)، ولفيف من النواب الأوائل للرئيس، وكبار المدراء، وأعضاء فريق إدارتي تقنية المعلومات وضمان الجودة في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم.