image description

Environment

Mining and industrial processes have the potential to cause significant environmental consequences if not managed responsibly. At Emirates Global Aluminium, activities with potential environmental impacts are overseen by a dedicated team of in-house environmental specialists. Working together, our operations and environment teams are responsible for managing all necessary controls, monitoring plans and audits plus constantly finding opportunities for improvement.

Across all operations and project sites, EGA actively identifies potential environmental risks and suitable controls. Our management plans establish requirements for impact identification, monitoring and controls in order to manage risk, avoid impacts and ensure an appropriate level of mitigation where necessary.

At EGA, all of our smelting and casting operations are certified to ISO 14001:2015 with plans to certify our alumina refinery in the future.

In Al Taweelah, the environmental performance of our smelting and casting has been confirmed as meeting ASI Performance Standards with plans to certify all of our operational facilities in the future.

Greenhouse gas emissions

EGA’s core policy includes a commitment to a low-carbon future through reductions in energy use and greenhouse gas emissions. This commitment is reflected in our current Carbon Abatement Strategy that includes specific targets for reduction in emissions intensity from our aluminium smelting, casting and power production operations

Fuel consumption at our natural gas power plants accounts for most of our greenhouse gas emissions along with greenhouse emissions generated by the consumption of anodes and the generation of  perfluorocarbons (PFCs) during the electrolysis process.

In 2019, greenhouse gas emissions associated with our metal production was 38 per cent lower than the published global industry average. our PFC emissions intensity was more than 91% lower than the global industry average

We are also anticipating a significant decrease in our greenhouse gas emissions intensity in the not-too-distant future.

Biodiversity

We depend on healthy, functioning ecosystems and must maintain these for future generations. The protection of the natural environment is part of our core policy at EGA.

In the UAE, our facilities at Al Taweelah are approximately two kilometers from Ras Ghanada, a nationally protected marine reserve. Our Jebel Ali site is approximately seven kilometers from the Jebel Ali Wildlife Sanctuary. Both these protected areas support important clusters of coral, mangrove and seagrass. At both our sites in the UAE our discharge monitoring efforts take account of these valuable conservation areas and to date we have not identified any adverse impacts associated with our operations. In 2019, we continued our conservation efforts associated with the critically endangered hawksbill turtle, including regular surveys and implementation of protection measures to safeguard the turtle’s nests and habitat, in addition to rescuing any diseased or distressed turtles.

In Guinea, our biodiversity assessments have confirmed that habitats in and around our mining and port concessions support rich assemblages and important species of mammals, reptiles, herpetofauna, avifauna and flora, including 27 critically endangered species. These species include the West African chimpanzee, the hooded vulture and the Atlantic humpbacked dolphin. All our associated biodiversity conservation work is governed through our Biodiversity Management Plan, prepared in  accordance with IFC Performance Standards, and includes a commitment to achieve no net loss for biodiversity and a net gain for critical habitats

Air quality

Power generation and industrial processes associated with aluminium smelting can create adverse air quality impacts if not adequately controlled. In the UAE, protecting air quality is a key focus area for our environmental management system. We monitor emissions and local ambient air quality to ensure the effectiveness of our controls and regularly communicate the results to relevant environmental regulators.

Potential air quality impacts from our mine and export facilities in Guinea are predominantly associated with dust generation from the movement and the processing of large quantities of earth and rock as well as emissions from mobile equipment and power generators. We have run simulated computer dispersion models in order to help us avoid potential local impacts associated with NOx and SO x emissions and identify suitable locations for air quality monitoring stations to ensure controls for dust suppression are sufficient

Waste management

At EGA, the waste hierarchy is at the core of our waste management decisions. In boh the UAE and in Guinea we have a comprehensive Waste Management Plan, with a long-term aspiration of sending zero waste to landfill.

In the UAE we are exploring and developing various opportunities for our waste streams to be used as feedstock for other industries and have already had proven success in recycling 100% of our generated spent pot lining, one of the aluminium industries most signifncant and ofen most problematic waste streams.

 

In guinea, diverting waste from landfill is particularly challenging given that our mining concession is in an isolated area with minimal opportunity to access sophisticated waste treatment infrastructure. Much of our waste is currently securely stored and controlled onsite until we are able to confirm a suitable means of reuse or recycling. Meanwhile, we are actively engaged with local waste recycling organisations hoping to expand their businesses.

image description

البيئة

إن إدارة عمليات التعدين والعمليات الصناعية بشكل مسؤول يقلل من العواقب البيئية المحتملة، لذا تتم متابعة جميع الأنشطة ذات الآثار البيئية المحتملة في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم من قبل فريق بيئي مختص يعمل مع فريق العمليات لإدارة الضوابط المطلوبة ومراقبة الخطط والقيام بعمليات التدقيق بالإضافة إلى البحث عن طرق جديدة لتحسين العمل والأداء.

تحدد شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بفعالية المخاطر البيئية المحتملة والضوابط المناسبة في جميع مواقع العمليات والمشاريع. تضع الإدارة خطط خاصة تضم متطلبات تحديد الأثر ومراقبة والضوابط المطلوبة من أجل إدارة المخاطر وتجنب الآثار وضمان تخفيضها لمستوى مناسب عند الضرورة.

تمتثل جميع عمليات الصهر والصب في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم لمعيار أيزو 14001 للعام 2015 مع وجود خطط لاعتماد مصفاة الألومينا التابعة للشركة في المستقبل.

أما في موقع الطويلة بشكل خاص، تم تأكيد امتثال الأداء البيئي لعمليات الصهر والصب لدينا بمعايير الأداء التابعة لمبادرة رعاية الألمنيوم، وكما توجد خطط لمصادقة جميع منشآتنا التشغيلية في المستقبل.

 

انبعاثات الغازات الدفيئة

تتضمن السياسة المؤسسية لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم الالتزام ببناء مستقبل منخفض الانبعاثات الكربونية من خلال تقليل استخدام الطاقة وانبعاثات الغازات الدفيئة. وينعكس هذا الالتزام في استراتيجيتنا الحالية للحد من انبعاثات الكربون التي تتضمن أهدافاً لخفض كثافة الانبعاثات الناتجة عن عمليات صهر الألمنيوم وصبه وعمليات إنتاج الطاقة اللازمة لتشغيل المصنع.

تنبعث معظم انبعاثات الغازات الدفيئة عند استهلاك الوقود في محطات توليد الطاقة التي تعمل بالغاز الطبيعي   إلى جانب انبعاثات الغازات الناتجة عن استهلاك الأنودات وتوليد مركبات الكربون المشبعة بالفلور أثناء عملية التحليل الكهربائي.

في العام 2019، سجلنا انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري المرتبطة بعمليات إنتاج المعادن أقلّ بنسبة 38% مقارنة مع متوسط ​​الصناعة العالمي الذي تم نشره في العام نفسه. وبلغت كثافة انبعاثات البيروفلوروكربونات لدينا بنسبة أقل من 91٪ مقارنة مع متوسط ​​الصناعة العالمية.

ونتوقع انخفاضاً كبيراً في كثافة انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة في المستقبل.

التنوع البيولوجي

نعتمد على منظومة بيئية صحية ومتكاملة وفعالة ويتوجب علينا الحفاظ عليها للأجيال القادمة. وتعد حماية البيئة الطبيعية جزءاً أساسياً من سياستنا المؤسسية في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم.

في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، تقع منشآتنا في الطويلة على بعد كيلومترين تقريباً من رأس غنادة، وهي محمية بحرية وطنية. ويقع موقع جبل علي على بعد سبعة كيلومترات تقريباً من محمية جبل علي للحياة البرية. وتدعم هاتان المحميتان مجموعات مهمة من الشعاب المرجانية وأشجار القرم والأعشاب البحرية. ونراعي في مواقع عملياتنا في الإمارات  هذه المناطق والحفاظ على مواردها الطبيعية القيّمة، وحتى الآن لم نحدد أي آثار سلبية مرتبطة بعملياتنا. وفي العام 2019، واصلنا جهودنا للحفاظ على سلاحف منقار الصقر المهددة بالانقراض بالإضافة إلى عمليات المسح المنتظمة وتطبيق تدابير الوقائية لحماية أعشاش السلاحف وموائلها، إلى جانب إنقاذ أي سلاحف مريضة أو منهكة.

أما في غينيا، فقد أثبتت تقييماتنا المرتبطة بالتنوع البيولوجي أن الموائل الطبيعية في مناطق التعدين والموانئ التابعة لنا وبالاضافة إلى المناطق المحيطة بنا تدعم تجمعات الموارد الغنية والأنواع المهمة من الثدييات والزواحف والطيور والنباتات، بما في ذلك 27 نوعاً مهدداً بالانقراض. وتشمل هذه الأنواع شمبانزي غرب أفريقيا والنسر المقنع ودلفين المحيط الأطلسي محدب الظهر. وتخضع جميع جهودنا المختصة بالحفاظ على التنوع البيولوجي لخطة إدارة التنوع البيولوجي الخاصة بنا والتي تم إعدادها استناداً لمعايير الأداء الصادرة عن مؤسسة التمويل الدولية وتتضمن التزاماً بعدم إلحاق أي خسارة صافية للتنوع البيولوجي وتحقيق مكاسب صافية للموائل الطبييعة المهمة.

جودة الهواء

يمكن لتوليد الطاقة والعمليات الصناعية المرتبطة بصهر الألمنيوم أن تتسبب بتأثيرات ضارة على جودة الهواء إذا لم يتم التعامل معها بشكل صحيح. وفي دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، تعتبر حماية جودة الهواء أحد القضايا الرئيسية في الأجندة الوطنية،  لذى تسعى الإدارة البيئية في الشركة أقصى الجهود لرصد الانبعاثات وتقييم جودة الهواء في محيط عملياتنا المحلية ومشاركة أدائنا البيئي والنتائج المترتبة بانتظام إلى الجهات المعنية بمراقبة الأداء البيئي للشركات.

أما في غينيا فإن التأثيرات المحتملة على جودة الهواء جراء وجود المناجم ومنشآت التصدير ترتبط في الغالب بتوليد الغبار من نقل ومعالجة كميات كبيرة من الأراضي والصخور إلى جانب الانبعاثات من المعدات المتنقلة ومولدات الطاقة. وقد قمنا بتشغيل نماذج محاكاة إلكترونية لمساعدتنا على تجنب التأثيرات المحلية المرتبطة بانبعاثات أوكسيد النيتروجين وأوكسيد الكبريت وتحديد المواقع المناسبة لمحطات مراقبة جودة الهواء لضمان وضع ضوابط كافية لإخماد الغبار.

إدارة النفايات

في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم،  تعتمد قراراتنا المتعلقة بإدارة النفايات بشكل كبير على الهيكل الهرمي لإدارة النفايات. وقد وضعنا خطط شاملة في كل من دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وغينيا لإدارة النفايات بشكل مسؤول، ونتطلع إلى تحقيق هدفنا على المدى البعيد والمتمثل بالتخلص من النفايات تماماً دون تحويلها إلى المكبات.

وفي دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، نبحث في تطوير العديد من الفرص والحلول للاستفادة من النفايات كمواد أولية للصناعات الأخرى، وقد أثبتنا بالفعل نجاحنا في إعادة تدوير 100٪ من نفايات صهر الألمنيوم وهي أحد أنواع النفايات الأبرز والأكثر صعوبة في صناعات الألمنيوم.

أما في غينيا، فتشكل عملية تحويل مسار النفايات عن المكبات تحدياً كبيراً لأن مناطق التعدين التابعة لنا هي مناطق معزولة تتمتع بالحد الأدنى من إمكانية الوصول إلى البنية التحتية المتطورة لمعالجة النفايات. ويتم حالياً تخزين جزء كبير من نفاياتنا والتحكم بها بشكل آمن في الموقع إلى أن يتم توفير وسيلة مناسبة لإعادة الاستخدام أو إعادة التدوير. وفي الوقت نفسه، نشارك بكثافة مع منظمات إعادة تدوير النفايات المحلية للمساعدة في توسيع نطاق الاعمال.