image description

Turba-charging the future

Dedicated Vice President of Technology Development & Transfer seeks crowning moment for game-changing bauxite residue solution

It is perhaps apt that as Vice President of Technology Development & Transfer at Emirates Global Aluminium, Abdalla Alzarooni feels like his favourite moment at EGA is yet to take place – but it is one he eagerly anticipates.

“Let’s take a step back,” Abdalla initially replies when asked to describe EGA’s ground-breaking initiative to convert bauxite residue into soil products. For more than 100 years, industry experts have been conducting research and development in the field to find a viable use for bauxite residue, a type of caustic waste generated during alumina refining.  

With some 150 million tonnes of the waste produced worldwide every year and less than two percent put to productive use, the discovery by Abdalla’s team of a solution is a giant leap forward.

So much so, that it has instigated the construction of a pilot plant at EGA – thought to be the first of its kind in the world – to convert bauxite residue into soil products that can be used for greening.

But, indeed, let us first take a step back.

Construction of the pilot plant in Al Taweelah, is expected to commence later this year and follows five very thorough and, at times, painstaking years of research and development, much of which was done here at EGA. Over the years of research, EGA collaborated with The University of Queensland’s School of Agriculture and Food Sciences and other universities including at the American University of Sharjah in the UAE and Texas A&M to name a few.

“We started by forming a team of experts and establishing a clear road map. We knew what we wanted to do and where we wanted to focus our efforts.

“We set that target right from the beginning – we had to start doing something different.”

At EGA, we have a bold aspiration to embed sustainability in everything we do, and this project is part of our drive to be a global sustainability leader for the aluminium industry by 2030.

The breakthrough centred around what EGA calls Turba – the Arabic word for soil – and came following a brainwave about bauxite coming from the company’s plant in Guinea.

People have been working on the reuse for bauxite residue for 100 years and they have not come across a solution yet. However, trials have shown that EGA’s manufactured soil enhances plant growth while using less water and fertiliser than native sandy alternatives. The pioneering process converts bauxite residue in its entirety in hours into an environmentally-benign, plant-friendly soil.

But there is another reason as to why this achievement is not Abdalla’s career highlight at EGA.

“We have reached a very great discovery, says Abdalla, “but I do not want to jump up and down and say this is a done deal.

“I know that it is not enough yet. We must now demonstrate this at industrial scale, and that's where we are at today.”

Only then – and on one condition – will Abdalla be prepared to declare the proudest moment of his career.

“The proudest moment will be when we stop sending bauxite residue to permanent storage entirely,” smiles Abdalla, who is from Sharjah. “That will really be the proudest moment of my career and is what I am concentrating on.” The work could contribute directly to the UAE’s aim of reducing waste-to-landfill by 75 per cent by 2030, lowering greenhouse gas emissions, optimising local resources, and through R&D, contribute to the overall development of the UAE knowledge economy.

While the bauxite residue re-use work is a source of particular pride, there are many other facets to Abdalla’s role at EGA. He was part of the team that established the technology transfer function at the company. He is “very, very proud” that EGA is now successful in selling technology outside of the UAE.

In 2016, EGA became the first UAE industrial company to license its core process technology internationally, in a deal with Aluminium Bahrain.

He also works closely with the team designing and modelling the aluminium reduction cell technology. Abdalla, a keen football fan who supports Manchester United and plays right wing when he puts on the boots himself, lends his expertise in the operation and process control of development cells. It is therefore of little surprise that the development of cell control systems and logics also fall under his purview at EGA.

Indeed, technology development and transfer is not just important at the UAE’s biggest company outside of the oil and gas industry, he says, but “one of the pillars of EGA”.

“Innovation & continuous improvement is one of our core values,” Abdalla adds.

Not only is the story of Turba historically momentous, but it is truly indicative of EGA’s role as a technology pathfinder. And it will also hopefully – and hopefully very soon – reward Abdalla with the favourite and crowning moment of his career.

image description

تربة من أجل المستقبل

يسعى نائب رئيس تطوير ونقل التكنولوجيا للوصول إلى لحظة نجاح تطبيق الحل الثوري لتحويل بقايا البوكسيت

ربما يكون من المناسب أن يشعر عبدالله الزرعوني، نائب رئيس تطوير ونقل التكنولوجيا في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، أن اللحظة الأكثر فخراً في مسيرته المهنية في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم لم تأتِ بعد، ولكنه ينتظرها بفارغ الصبر.

عندما طُلب من عبدالله وصف مبادرة شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم الرائدة لتحويل بقايا البوكسيت إلى منتجات تربة صالحة للزراعة، أجاب في البداية: "دعونا نعود خطوة إلى الوراء". ظل خبراء البحث والتطوير في قطاع الألمنيوم يجرون التجارب لأكثر من 100 عام من أجل إيجاد استخدام يمكن تطبيقه على أرض الواقع لبقايا البوكسيت، وهي أحد أنواع النفايات القلوية الناتجة عن تكرير الألومينا.

تُتنج عمليات تكرير الألومينا حوالي 150 مليون طن من بقايا البوكسيت في جميع أنحاء العالم كل عام، ولا يعاد استخدام إلا جزء بسيط منها يقدر بأقل من 2%، ومن ثم فإن اكتشاف فريق عبدالله لهذا الحل يمثل تقدماً ثورياً في هذا الصدد.

ويمثل هذا الاكتشاف إنجازاً كبيراً لدرجة أنه شجّع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم على بناء منشأة تجريبية هي الأولى من نوعها في العالم لتحويل بقايا البوكسيت إلى تربة صالحة للزراعة والتي يمكن استخدامها لزراعة الأشجار والحدائق.

 

ولكن، دعونا أولاً نعود خطوة إلى الوراء.

جاء قرار بناء المنشأة التجريبية في الطويلة، و من المتوقع أن تبدأ عمليات الإنشاء خلال نهاية العام، بعد خمس سنوات من المجهود الكبير والمضني في مجال البحث والتطوير من جانب شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم. حيث تعاونت الشركة خلال سنوات من البحث  مع كلية الزراعة وعلوم الأغذية بجامعة كوينزلاند وبعض الجامعات الأخرى، تتضمن الجامعة الأمريكية في الشارقة و جامعة تكساس إيه اند إم.

قال عبدالله: "بدأنا بتشكيل فريق فني لوضع خارطة طريق واضحة، فقد عرفنا ما نريد القيام به والنطاق الذي ينبغي أن نركز عليه جهودنا".

وأضاف: "حددنا هذا الهدف منذ البداية، فقد كان علينا أن نفعل شيئاً مختلفاً".

لدينا في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم طموح جريء بترسيخ الاستدامة في كل ما نقوم به، ويعتبر هذا المشروع جزءاً من سعينا لنكون رواد الاستدامة العالمية في قطاع الألمنيوم بحلول العام 2030.

ويركز هذا الابتكار الثوري على ما تسميه شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم "التربة"، وكان عبارة عن فكرة طرأت بشأن البوكسيت القادم من موقع الشركة في غينيا.

يحاول الخبراء اكتشاف طريقة لإعادة استخدام بقايا البوكسيت منذ 100 عام ولم يتوصلوا إلى حل حتى الآن. ومع ذلك، أظهرت التجارب أن التربة المصنعة من قبل شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تعزز نمو النباتات وتتطلب كميات أقل من المياه والأسمدة مقارنة بالبدائل الرملية المحلية. وتحوّل هذه العملية الرائدة بقايا البوكسيت بالكامل في غضون ساعات إلى تربة صالحة للزراعة وصديقة للبيئة.

ولكن هناك سبب آخر لعدم احتلال هذا الإنجاز مكانة بارزة في مسيرة عبدالله المهنية في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم.

قال عبدالله: "لقد توصلنا إلى اكتشاف كبير للغاية، لكنني لا أريد أن أفرط في الفرح وأقول إن الأمر قد انتهى".

واستطرد: "أعلم أن هذا ليس كافياً، إذ يجب تطبيق العملية على نطاق كبير، وهذا ما نحن بصدده حالياً".

في هذه اللحظة فقط - وبشرط واحد - سيعلن عبدالله أنها أكثر لحظات حياته المهنية فخراً.

ابتسم عبدالله، وقال: "ستكون اللحظة الأكثر فخراً عندما نتوقف تماماً عن إرسال بقايا البوكسيت إلى التخزين الدائم". وأضاف: "ستكون تلك حقاً أكثر لحظة أفتخر بها في مسيرتي وهي ما أركز عليه". يمكن أن يسهم هذا الابتكار بشكل مباشر في هدف دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة المتمثل في تقليل النفايات المرسلة إلى مكب النفايات بنسبة 75% بحلول العام 2030، وخفض انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري، وتحسين الموارد المحلية، مع المساهمة في تنمية اقتصاد المعرفة في الدولة من خلال البحث والتطوير.

رغم أن إعادة استخدام بقايا البوكسيت تعتبر مصدر فخر بشكل خاص، إلا أن هناك العديد من مصادر الفخر الأخرى في حياة عبدالله المهنية في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، فقد كان جزءاً من الفريق الذي أدى مهمة نقل التكنولوجيا في الشركة، وهو "فخور جداً جداً" بأن شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم نجحت في بيع تقنياتها الخاصة خارج الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

وفي العام 2016، أصبحت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم أول شركة صناعية إماراتية ترخص تقنياتها الصناعية الأساسية على الصعيد الدولي، بتوقيع اتفاقية نقل التقنيات مع شركة ألمنيوم البحرين "ألبا".

كما يعمل عبدالله بشكل وثيق مع فريق العمل على تصميم تقنيات خلايا الاختزال وتقديم النماذج اللازمة لها، حيث يرسخ عاشق كرة القدم، الذي يشجع فريق مانشستر يونايتد ويلعب في الجناح الأيمن عندما يمارسها بنفسه، خبراته لتطوير عمليات خلايا الصهر والتحكم فيها، وتندرج ضمن اختصاصاته في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم مهمة تطوير أنظمة التحكم في الخلايا.

ويري عبدالله أن تطوير التقنيات ونقلها ليس مهماً فقط في أكبر شركة في الإمارات العربية المتحدة، خارج قطاع النفط والغاز، بل يعتبر "أحد الركائز الرئيسية في الشركة".

وأضاف عبدالله: "يمثل الابتكار والتحسين المستمر إحدى قيمنا الأساسية".

ولا تمثل قصة تصنيع "التربة" لحظة مهمة من الناحية التاريخية فحسب، بل و تبرز دور الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم كشركة رائدة في مجال التقنيات، ونأمل أيضاً أن تمنح عبدالله في القريب العاجل اللحظة المفضلة في مسيرته المهنية.