image description

The American Dream

EGA America Inc. has become the USA’s leading supplier of high-quality aluminium. Missouri-based Emirati expatriate Adel Abubakar explains how he led the team in developing EGA’s stateside expansion

Most weekdays when he is not travelling, UAE National Adel Abubakar negotiates rush-hour traffic to reach a smart but modest office block located opposite a neat lake and park in downtown St. Louis, Missouri. The innocuous setting belies the importance of Adel and his team’s role in the Emirates Global Aluminium story. Last year, EGA America Inc. supplied over 500,000tonnes of ’premium aluminium’ toNorth America, or almost a fifth of EGA’s worldwide sales.

This figure is even more impressive considering the competition from both established US-based smelters and other international companies, not to mention the challenge of shipping the product halfway round the world from EGA’s smelters in Abu Dhabi and Dubai.

Adel has held this role since 2012, and is responsible for all day-to-day operations of EGA America Inc.’s business in North America.

And by ‘all operations’, he jokes, that means everything. “I have a high-performance team, but it is small. There are 24, 25 people running everything we do here, and it’s a pretty flat structure. Which means I'm also the HR person, the IT guy, the commercial lead. You get pulled into everything but that's how you learn. You run with it and learn as you go, and I've enjoyed the challenge.”

Adel has come a long way since joining Dubai Aluminium in 2006 as Senior Manager, Business Development for New Aluminium Smelter Projects. “I’d spent around ten years in the banking world, but then I wasn't enjoying it anymore - it's not tangible and you're just dealing with paper money,” he says of how he made the switch from finance to industry. “So I spoke then to a friend of mine who recommended EGA because they wanted someone to build a new team, and I was fortunate to get the job. This was 2006 and the role was a lot of fun. It was exciting to be involved in the development of Al Taweelah, which at that time was being developed by Emirates Aluminium. We were trying to get several other projects off the ground; it was dynamic, challenging and I learned a lot.”

Adel was directly involved in the work that led to the creation of Emirates Aluminium in Abu Dhabi and subsequently the formation of Emirates Global Aluminium. “I had to learn how to deal with very senior people at a Government level and it took a lot of hard work to build the teams, but I like roles that aren't clear-cut and that are challenging and interesting. To see EMAL and then EGA come to life is really rewarding and I still have relationships with people involved in those discussions.”

In 2010, Adel joined the Marketing and Sales department and was given a remit for the Americas. “The US market was small for us at the time, so I worked on building that up, and we also entered South America for the first time. A year into that process, I was asked to also handle part of European business, which I did for a couple of years.”

But Adel was increasingly drawn to the potential of the US market which he thought, given the distance and time zone difference, needed greater focus. “I was ambitious, and I felt there was room to grow. But we needed a better way to serve that market, so I recommended that I move there fulltime to build a team. Our leadership approved the idea and I moved in 2012.”

A permanent base

The next two years were spent building a core team and, in 2014, opening an office. At that time, US sales accounted for less than five percent of EGA’s worldwide sales, a figure that has grown fivefold since then. Today EGA regarded as the highest quality supplier in the US and has a reputation for service, quality and reliability - which begs the question of how it was able to establish such a firm footprint so quickly.

“It’s a combination of factors,” replies Adel. “First we had to work on the structure. We hired our own people, opened our office. Secondly, we had to adapt. We’d previously ordered on-demand from the UAE, which takes 90 days to arrive. So I invited our CEO to come over in 2014 and meet all our key clients, which he did. He quickly agreed that we needed on-the-ground stock, so now we have around 15 warehouses across the US to help us serve our customers’ needs more efficiently.”

With this infrastructure in place, Adel and his team could then focus on properly servicing those clients. “We go further than most of the traditional suppliers. You’ve got to be reliable, you need to understand the market, and you have to stay close to your customers so you know what they want.”

The one thing Adel didn’t have to do was convince the customers about the merits of EGA’s aluminium. “Our quality is a given. We supply the highest quality metal, so we don't even have to have that conversation with our customers. But it’s obviously a key to our success.”

Many of those customers are companies in the supply chains of important sectors such as the aerospace and automotive industry, and the end-users of much of the metal are world-renowned brands making products and infrastructure relied upon worldwide.

EGA supplies ‘premium aluminium’ to the US and competes on quality and reliability more than price. “We’re not out of the ballpark but we demand a premium price for a premium product. We supply super high-purity metal that very few manufacturers are able to produce consistently, so it won't ever be the cheapest metal. And now some have a tariff advantage over us [after the US Government introduced a 10 per cent levy on most aluminium imports in 2018].”

Quizzed further on the success of EGA America Inc., Adel returns to the theme of reliability and excellence – two factors that stem from EGA’s continual investments in new technology and its focus on long-term performance rather than inflated quarterly results.

“This is especially relevant in the US market where there hasn’t been a new smelter built in almost 50 years. So they are disadvantaged from a technology and energy efficiency point of view, which creates a lot of issues because you get breakdowns and other problems.”

Adel says that his customers are extremely impressed with the contrast when they are brought over to see the facilities at Jebel Ali in Dubai and Al Taweelah in Abu Dhabi. “The market is very tough at the moment but EGA is still investing in its future. And when we bring customers to the UAE to see our plant, they can see that it's obviously had a lot of investment and upgrades. And they want to be associated with a brand that is known for quality. The brand carries weight.”

Life in the United States

As for Adel, he and his family are enjoying life in the States. “My children are here, and they speak with American accents; they’ve adapted as kids do. A very important part of our job as parents is to keep our children in touch with our Emirati heritage, and we come back regularly” he says. “But here we like the outdoors; hiking and things like that.”

He also describes his customers as “very welcoming” and “good people” with whom he enjoys doing business. “They’re straight shooters and tell you when they don’t like something and when they do, which takes time to get used to as it’s very different to our culture in the UAE, but I’ve learned to really like it - you know what they think!” he says with a laugh.

And most importantly business is still going well. “When I got the plan from head office for 2020, I was scratching my head about how we’d achieve this number. But the orders are coming in and we should hit the target.” 

In the end he says it is about the brand values that everyone at EGA has worked so hard to build. “It’s respected and known across the world for quality, and customers want to be associated with it,” he reflects. “That’s a good position to be in, whatever the short-term market conditions.”

image description

الحلم الأمريكي

تعد شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم المورد الأساسي للألمنيوم عالي الجودة في الولايات المتحدة. عادل أبوبكر، إماراتي يعمل في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم ومقيمٌ في ميسوري، يشاركنا تجربته ودوره في قيادة فريق عمل على توسيع نطاق الشركة في مختلف أنحاء الولايات المتحدة.

في معظم أيام الأسبوع، وحين لا يتطلب من عادل السفرَ بدافع العمل، فإنه يتوجّه إلى مكتبه المتواضع والواقع بالقرب من بحيرة جميلة وحديقة رائعة وسط مدينة سان لويس بولاية ميسوري. ويختبئ خلف خبايا هذا الموقع الدور الهام الذي لعبه عادل وفريقه في قصة "شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم" وفرعها بالولايات المتحدة. ففي العام الماضي، زوّدت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم- أمريكا حوالي 500,000 طن من الألمنيوم عالي الجودة إلى شمال أمريكا، أي حوالي خُمس مبيعاتها العالمية.

وما يجعل هذا الرقم في غاية الأهمية والإثارة هو المنافسة القائمة بين المصاهر في الولايات المتحدة وبقية المصاهر حول أنحاء العالم، حيث لا ننسى التحديات والجهود المتطلبة لشحن المنتجات  من بداية انطلاقها من مصاهر "شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم" في أبوظبي ودبي.حتى تصل إلى وجهتها في مسافة تعادل نصف العالم.

تولى عادل منصبه في الشركة منذ عام 2012، وهو مسؤول عن إدارة جميع العمليات اليومية لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم- أمريكا في شمال الولايات المتحدة.

ويمازح قائلًا أنه يعني بـ"جميع العمليات" كل شيء بالفعل. ويضيف: "لدي فريق صغير ذو أداء عالي، مكونٌ من 25 موظفًا ضمن هيكلية تنظيمية مسطحة. وهذا يعني أنني مسؤول عن شؤون الموظفين وتكنولوجيا المعلومات وغيرها من المهام، ولا أمانع بل اعتبرها الطريقة الأنسب للتعلّم، ولقد استمتعت بهذا التحدي".

تطوّر عادل بشكل كبير منذ انضمامه لشركة "دوبال" عام 2006 كمدير أول في تطوير الأعمال لمشاريع مصاهر الألمنيوم الجديدة. ويشرح عن ذلك التحوّل من قطاع  البنوك إلى الصناعة قائلًا "بعدما قضيت حوالي العشر سنوات في عالم البنوك، لم أعد أستمتع بعملي هناك، لاسيما أن العمل  بشكل مستمر مع الأوراق النقدية لم يعد مثيراً للاهتمام". ويكمل: "حالفني الحظ لنيل تلك الوظيفة في "دوبال" التي اقترحها صديقي في ذلك الحين وأخبرني أنهم كانوا يبحثون عن مدير فريق. استمتعت بالعمل هناك عام 2006، وبالتحديات والديناميكية التي تمتّعنا بها. كما شاركت بتطوير مصهر "الطويلة"، والذي كان يعرف في ذلك الحين بمصهر شركة "الإمارات للألمنيوم (إيمال) ".

أضاف عادل حول مشاركته بشكل مباشر في إنشاء  شركة "الإمارات للألمنيوم" (إيمال) في أبوظبي، ولاحقاً تأسيس "شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم": "تعلّمت كيفية التعامل مع الأشخاص في المناصب العالية على المستوى الحكومي. وعملت جاهداً على بناء الفرق واستلمت مناصب غير محددة تماماً، إلا أنها شكّلت تحديات شيقة لي. وكان من أبرز الأمور المجزية إنشاء "شركة الإمارات للألمنيوم" و من ثم"شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم"، كما إنني لا زلت على تواصل مع الأشخاص الذين ساهموا في المحادثات حول دمج هاتين الشركتين".

لاحقًا في عام 2010، انضم عادل إلى قسم التسويق والمبيعات وحصل على تفويض للأمريكتين. "كان سوق الولايات المتحدة صغيرًا بالنسبة لنا حينها، فعملت على تطويره، وكنا في ذاك الحين دخلنا أمريكا الجنوبية للمرة الأولى. وطُلب مني بعد عام من هذه العملية استلام بعض الأعمال في أوروبا، وهذا ما قمت به لبضعة سنوات".

إلا أن انجذاب عادل لما يشكّله سوق الولايات المتحدة من فرص دفعه للتفكير بأن فرق التوقيت والبعد الجغرافي يتطلّبان الجهد الإضافي. "دفعني طموحي للتفكير بالتطوّر الذي في إمكاننا إحداثه في الولايات المتحدة. فاقترحت ان أنتقل للعيش هناك كي نعزّز مساهمتنا في السوق، وهذا فعلًا ما حصل بعد موافقة الإدارة في عام 2012، وبادرت في  تشكيل الفريق".

قاعدة دائمة

بعدما استغرق بناء الفريق الرئيسي عامين، تم افتتاح المكتب في عام 2014. وشكلت مبيعات الولايات المتحدة حينها أقل من خمسة في المئة من مبيعات "شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم" في جميع أنحاء العالم، قبل أن يرتفع الرقم بخمسة أضعاف حتى اليوم. وتعدّ "شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم" اليوم المورد الأفضل في الولايات المتحدة من حيث الجودة العالية والسمعة الطيبة في ما يتعلّق بالخدمة والموثوقية،  الأمر الذي طرح التساؤل حول  كيفية تحقيق هذه البصمة الفريدة بوقت قياسي.

يجيب عادل إنه "مزيج من العوامل المختلفة"، مضيفًا: "كان علينا أن نعمل على الهيكلة، فبعدما وظّفنا فريقنا الخاص وافتتحنا مكتبنا، كان علينا أن نتكيّف. وحصلنا على المواد التي تم طلبها من الإمارات مسبقاً في غضون 90 يوماً، لذا دعيت الرئيس التنفيذي في عام 2014 للقاء جميع عملائنا الرئيسيين وهذا بالفعل ما حصل. وافق بشكل سريع على حاجتنا لمخزون على أرض الواقع، لذا لدينا الآن حوالي 15 مستودعًا في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة لمساعدتنا على تلبية احتياجات عملائنا بكفاءة أعلى. "

يؤدي وجود تلك البنية التحتية في مكانها المناسب إلى تركيز عادل وفريقه على خدمة العملاء بأفضل طريقة ممكنة. "نقوم بتخطيط أبعد بكثير من معظم الموردين التقليديين. فعلينا أن نكسب ثقة زبائننا وأن نتقرّب منهم لنعرف ماذا يريدون، بالإضافة إلى فهم السوق".

لم يضطّر عادل لإقناع العملاء بمميزات الألمنيوم التي تملكه "شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم". ويوضح: "جودة معادننا هو مفتاح نجاحنا ".والعديد من هؤلاء العملاء شركات في سلاسل التوريد للقطاعات المهمة كصناعة الطيارات والسيارات. بالإضافة إلى العلامات التجارية المعروفة عالمياً التي تستخدم معدن الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في صناعة منتجاتها والبنية التحتية التي تعتمدها في جميع أنحاء العالم.

تزوّد "شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم" الولايات المتحدة بالألمنيوم ذات الجودة العالية، وتنافس على جودة المعدن والموثوقية أكثر من السعر. "لسنا خارج المنافسة، لكن أسعارنا تعتبر الأفضل مقارنةً بالجودة التي نقدمها، علمًا بأنه لا يمكن لمعظم المصنّعين إنتاجها لمدة طويلة، وهذا ما يجعلها باهظة الثمن.  وبعض الشركات المحلية يمكنها منافستنا من ناحية التعرفة حاليًا، حيث فرضت حكومة الولايات المتحدة ضريبة بنسبة 10 في المئة على معظم واردات الألمنيوم خلال عام 2018".

وبعد سؤاله عن نجاح شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم- أمريكا عاد عادل للتحدّث عن الموثوقية والتميّز، وهما عاملان ينبعان من استثمارات "شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم" المستمرة في التقنيات الحديثة وتركيز الشركة على الأداء على المدى الطويل بدلاً من النتائج الفصلية المتضخمة."

"وتبرز أهمية ذلك في سوق الولايات المتحدة بشكل كبير في ظل عدم بناء أي مصهر جديد منذ حوالي 50 عامًا.  حيث أن البحث المستمر حول أحدث التقنيات وكفاءة الطاقة، يولّدان العديد من المشاكل والمصاعب".

يتحدّث عادل عن إعجاب زبائنه بالتباين الذي شهدوه خلال رؤية منشآت جبل علي في دبي والطويلة في أبوظبي. “برغم الصعوبة الفائقة في السوق حاليًا، إلا أن "شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم" تواصل الاستثمار بمستقبلها. ويتضح ذلك حين يأتي عملاءنا لرؤية المنشآت الخاصة بنا في الإمارات، فيعلمون أننا نمتلك العديد من الاستثمارات والتحديثات، وبالطبع، يريدون أن يبنوا علاقة مع علامة تجارية معروفة بالجودة العالية، كعلامتنا التجارية".

الحياة في الولايات المتحدة الأميركية

يستمتع عادل بحياته إلى جانب عائلته في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. ويقول: "أولادي معي هنا، وهم يتقنون اللكنة الأمريكية التي اعتادوا عليها كسائر الأولاد هنا. ومن أبرز مهامنا كأهل وعائلة إبقاء الروابط المتينة بين أولادنا والثقافة الإماراتية، علمًا أننا نزور موطننا  باستمرار".وأضاف: "أما هنا، فنحب النشاطات في الهواء الطلق كالتنزّه في الطبيعية وغيرها من الأمور".

ويصف عملاءه كـ"ناس مرحّبين وطيبين" يحب العمل معهم. يقول بابتسامة أنهم "يتمتّعون بالوضوح ويقولون الأشياء كما هي. سوف يخبرونك مباشرة إن أعجبهم أم لم يعجبهم أي شيء، والاعتياد على ذلك يتطلّب بعض الوقت، كونه  يختلف عن ثقافتنا المحلية في الإمارات. إلّا أنني اعتدت على ذلك وتعلّمت أن أعجب به أيضاً – أليس من الرائع أن تعلم ماذا يفكّر به الآخرون!". 

من ناحية أخرى، الأهم هو أن الأعمال تسير على ما يرام. "حين حصلت على خطة عام 2020 من المقر الرئيسي، فكّرت جليًا بكيفية التوصّل إلى هذا الرقم. لكن التعليمات تصلنا وعلينا أن نسعى لتحقيق هدفنا".

كما يضيف: "بالنهاية، يتعلّق الأمر بقيم العلامة التجارية التي عمل الجميع على بنائها في "شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم". فهي تتمتّع بالسمعة الطيبة والجودة العالية، التي تجذب العملاء إليها، وهذا في غاية الإيجابية بغض النظر عن أوضاع السوق على المدى القصير".