image description

Shifting forces

Working through weekend and overnight shifts, Khadija Al Abbasi is a pioneer for her generation

Emirati women are notorious for breaking boundaries and setting records for reaching new heights. Khadija Al Abbasi is among these remarkable women, having become the first Emirati woman to work permanently in a shift pattern at EGA – a regular schedule of 12 hour shifts on the shopfloor that span across weekends and nights.

Working shifts poses its own set of challenges; there are a lot of sacrifices to be made, and the adjustment to a gruelling 24/7 work roster can be physically difficult to overcome.

Khadija describes the process of adapting, “You have to adjust your body clock to start to feel normal. Depending on the shift pattern, we may work weekends. We may work at night. We don't have regular weekends or regular days off. Sometimes your days off are weekdays, and typically, none of your family or friends outside of work are off at the same time.

“And even if you describe working shifts in detail to people, they will not be able to understand unless they work them too. You need to try it to really appreciate what it means.”

The decision to become the first Emirati woman to work shifts at EGA’s Al Taweelah Alumina Refinery was not one she took lightly. There were initial reservations around being the only woman on shifts. Khadija rose to the challenge, asserting, “I did it because I really believe this unlocks new opportunities for women. Our nation’s leaders are clear we have a full role to play in the future of our society.”

Women currently hold just under 20 per cent of supervisory roles at EGA, and the company is aiming to increase this to 25 per cent by 2025. Increasing the number of women at all levels in Operations will be key to achieving this goal, and many of these roles require working in a shift-pattern.

Shining through the hurdles that Khadija overcame during the transition to working shifts was the unwavering support of her family and loved ones, which pushed her to thrive and succeed in her role. “I am proud of what I’ve done. In the end, the emotional support I received from those around me is what drove me forward.”

Although women working in Operations are ubiquitous at EGA, there was a new dynamic to grow into with Khadija being, quite literally, the only woman on site during night shifts. Nevertheless, she persevered, tirelessly engaging in site work and proving the versatility, resilience, and value women bring to the table, regardless of what environment they are in.

With Khadija working as a shift supervisor, she asserts that knowing the Operations from the ground-up is a crucial part of succeeding in her role. “If you don’t know how to do the operator’s job, you will not be able to do the supervisory job,” Khadija says. She believes that having that knowledge is the difference between simply managing Operations, and effectively leading Operations.

Khadija is passionate about her learning and development, whether it comes to progressing her contributions to the Operations team or furthering her higher education. Armed with a bachelor’s degree in Electrical Engineering from Higher Colleges of Technology in Dubai, she recently completed her MBA in Finance from the Canadian University in Dubai, earning a distinction while juggling studying with her work commitments.  

On top of that, she is a member of the EGA Youth Council. “A lot of initiatives are conducted through the Youth Council,” Khadija says. She considers the Youth Council an important avenue to connect with the youth in the company, and inspires collaboration and knowledge sharing among the next generation of leaders.

Youth councils were initially established by the Federal Youth Authority in 2016 as an initiative by the United Arab Emirates’ leadership to empower Emirati youth to lead in every sphere of society.

Well-suited to her role in the Youth Council, inspiring others, opening doors and leading her generation forward – and especially other women – is something she holds very dear to her heart.

“I would like for my story to be a message to everyone that we can do it,” she says. “That women can succeed in an industrial field. Yes, it is difficult, but if you have the will, the right motivations, the right support from the right people, then you will do it.

“With the support myself and every woman gets at EGA, and from the UAE leadership, everything and anything is possible.”

image description

قوى التغيير

خديجة العباسي: رائدة وقدوة لجيلها في التفاني والالتزام

 تشتهر المرأة الإماراتية بالتفوق على العوائق وتحقيق الأرقام القياسية وخديجة العباسي هي إحدى هؤلاء النساء الرائدات، حيث أصبحت أول امرأة إماراتية تعمل بشكل دائم بنظام المناوبات في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، والذي يتضمن جدولاً زمنياً منتظماً من مناوبات نهارية أو ليلية تمتد 12 ساعة من العمل في موقع الإنتاج حتى خلال عطلات نهاية الأسبوع.

ولأن نظام العمل بالمناوبات يفرض مجموعة كبيرة من التحديات، يجب تقديم الكثير من التضحيات، وربما يكون صعباً على الجسد أن يتكيف مع جدول العمل الشاق على مدار الساعة طوال أيام الأسبوع.

وصفت خديجة عملية التكيّف تلك فقالت: "أحتاج إلى تعديل ساعة الجسد البيولوجية لكي أشعر بأن الوضع طبيعي وهو أمر شبه مستحيل مع نظام المناوبات، أحياناً نعمل في عطلات نهاية الأسبوع أو نعمل ليلاً، وليس لدينا أيام إجازة منتظمة كغيرنا ففي بعض الأحيان تكون الإجازة في أيام العمل العادية، ولا يتصادف ذلك مع إجازات أي من أفراد العائلة أو الأصدقاء".

وأضافت: "وحتى لو حاولت شرح نظام مناوبات العمل بالتفصيل للآخرين، فلن يستطيعوا فهمه وإدراك مايعنيه العمل بهذا النظام، إذ يجب على المرء تجربته أن يخوض هذه التجربة ليدركه حقاً".

لم يكن قراراً هيناً على خديجة أن تصبح أول امرأة إماراتية تعمل بنظام المناوبات في مصفاة الطويلة للألومينا التابعة لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، فكونها المرأة الوحيدة التي تعمل بهذا النظام جاء مع تحفظاته. ولكن خديجة كانت على مستوى التحدي، وقالت: "لقد اتخذت هذا القرار أملاً في خلق فرصٍ جديدة للنساء الإماراتيات. إن قيادة دولتنا الرشيدة تمتلك رؤية واضحة تنص أن للمرأة دور كبير يجب أن تمارسه في بناء مستقبل مجتمعنا".

تشغل النساء حالياً مايقارب 20% من المناصب الإشرافية في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، وتهدف الشركة إلى زيادة هذه النسبة إلى 25% بحلول العام 2025. وتعتبر زيادة عدد النساء في جميع المستويات في الشركة ركيزة أساسية لتحقيق هذا الهدف، ولكن العديد من هذه الوظائف تتطلب العمل بنظام المناوبات.

تغلبت خديجة على الكثير من العقبات التي واجهتها بفضل دعم عائلتها وأحبتها، وعلقت على ذلك فقالت: "أنا فخورة بما حققته، وقد كان الدعم العاطفي الذي تلقيته من عائلتي والمحيطين بي هو ما دفعني إلى تحقيق النجاح".

على الرغم من وجود الكثير من النساء العاملات في عمليات شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، إلا أنه كان هناك وضعاً جديداً عندما أصبحت خديجة المرأة الوحيدة التي تعمل في الموقع خلال المناوبات الليلية -بشكل حرفي-. ومع ذلك، فقد ثابرت وعملت بلا كلل في الموقع وأثبتت مدى المرونة والقيمة التي يمكن أن تضيفها النساء في مكان العمل، بغض النظر عن البيئة اللاتي يعملن فيها.

وعندما ارتقت خديجة لمنصب مشرفة في فريق العمليات التابع لمصفاة الألومينا، أكدت أن معرفة العمل من الألف إلى الياء تمثل جزءاً أساسياً للنجاح في وظيفتها، وقالت: "إن كنت لا تعرف كيفية أداء وظيفة العامل، فلن تستطيع أداء مهمة المشرف عليه"، حيث ترى أن تلك المعرفة هي الفارق بين إدارة العمل وقيادة فريق العمل بكفاءة.

لطالما كانت خديجة شغوفة بالتعلم والتطور، سواء فيما يتعلق بمساهماتها في فريق العمليات أو تعزيز تعليمها العالي. فقد كانت خديجة حاصلة على بكالوريوس الهندسة الكهربائية من كليات التقنية العليا في دبي، ثم حصلت مؤخراً على ماجستير إدارة الأعمال في العلوم المالية من الجامعة الكندية في دبي بدرجة امتياز، وذلك خلال أدائها مهام وظيفتها بكفاءة عالية.

إضافة إلى ذلك، انضمت خديجة إلى مجلس الشباب التابع لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، والذي تعتبره وسيلة مهمة للتواصل مع الشباب في الشركة وتعزيز التعاون ومشاركة المعرفة بين الجيل القادم من القادة. وعلقت خديجة: "نتمكن من تنفيذ العديد من المبادرات التوعوية والقيادية من خلال مجلس الشباب".

تم إنشاء مجالس الشباب في البداية من قبل المؤسسة الاتحادية للشباب في العام 2016 كمبادرة من قيادة دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة لتمكين الشباب الإماراتي من القيادة في كل المجالات المجتمعية. وتعتز خديجة بدورها في مجلس الشباب، والذي ينتاسب معها تماماً فهي تلهم الآخرين وتقود جيلها نحو التطور، خاصة النساء الأخريات، وتعمل على إتاحة الفرص لهن.

قالت خديجة: "أود أن تكون قصتي رسالة إلى الجميع بأننا نستطيع تحقيق ما نريد". وأضافت: "يمكن للمرأة أن تنجح في المجال الصناعي. نعم، هذا صعب، ولكن إذا توافرت الإرادة والدوافع الصحيحة والدعم المناسب من المقربين، يمكنها أن تحقق كل ما تريده".

واختتمت: "بفضل الدعم الذي أتلقاه أنا وكل امرأة في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، ومن قيادتنا الرشيدة في دولة الإمارات، يصبح كل شيء وأي شيء ممكناً".