image description

Learning on the Job

Muhammad Sardar has spent 40 years at Emirates Global Aluminium – and has never stopped learning.

For a company that has constantly evolved, one thing has remained a constant for the past two decades: the office belonging to Muhammad Saeed Sardar. “Whenever I change roles, I keep the same office and just change the plaque on the door,” he jokes.

In almost every other respect, his 40-year career at Emirates Global Aluminium – he’s the longest serving employee – has been about constant re-invention. And he says that is precisely why he wanted to work there in the first place. “I moved to Dubai from my home in Pakistan to work for a different company, but I had friends who worked at what at that time was DUBAL (Dubai Aluminium) and I saw how they were sent to the U.S. for training. It was obvious that EGA invested in its employees. I was young and ambitious and wanted to progress, so I also applied for a role.”

Muhammad, who turns 67 next year, got a job in production planning administration at a time when the production capacity of the plant was 135,000 tonnes per year. “We had been set up with British expertise. So we had British management and out of the 1,500 staff, maybe 1,000 were British,” he remembers, pointing to old photos on his office wall that show him with various colleagues, many of whom have long since retired.

After proving his worth for the first few years, he was given the opportunity to train in the production field, and was then sent for courses to be a supervisor. He says that he still has a copy of his appraisal from 1982 where his then-manager wrote that one day Muhammad would be a trusted part of the management team. It also helped that he was a hard worker. It was in that same year that a power problem at the plant resulted in him working literally 24 hours nonstop to help resolve the problem.

Since that time, his progress has been as constant as his work ethic. He has attended more than 70 training courses and has held a string of key positions across the plant. Asked to cite highlights from his career, he casts his mind back to EGA’s first major expansion in 1991. Muhammad was involved in preparing the aluminium bus bars for the expansion project, and from then on was a crucial figure in selecting, testing, installing and operating new machines at the plant.

He also points with pride to pictures and mementoes on his office wall of highlights from his career. In one, he’s pictured with a large gathering of industry experts. The photo was taken in 1995 at a conference in Spokane, Washington, where he delivered a technical paper. Asked whether his fellow attendees knew about EGA, he says they didn’t even know where the UAE was on the map. But then the company underwent its second major expansion in 2000, increasing production to over 550,000 tonnes per year and adding a ‘Made in the UAE’ stamp to its products. EGA, like the UAE, would soon become a global brand name, becoming the world’s largest ‘premium aluminium’ producer and the biggest industrial company in the UAE outside oil and gas. Muhammad proudly remembers hitting one million tonnes per year around 2005; a figure that is dwarfed by the 2.6m tonnes produced today in Jebel Ali and EGA’s Al Taweelah site, where the first phase began production in 2009, at the Khalifa Industrial Zone Abu Dhabi.

These days Muhammad is as busy as ever, shuttling between the two sites. He says that, thanks to his many roles, he is an important bridge between the many production functions. He handles all the technical work relating to insurance, disaster management, legal and compliance, risk management and liabilities.

“We build to the best international standards for safety, the environment and for the product. And we also continually plan for the future, in terms of modernisation and automation. Every year we set aside money to cover the depreciation of our hardware over their useful life. When the machine is coming to the end of its life cycle, we have the money to invest in a replacement, and it’s my job to select what we need. So there is no equipment here that was here in 1979 when I joined. In fact, I have a plaque of a machine that I installed when I first arrived and then removed many years later.”

It’s obvious that Muhammad is as passionate as he ever was about this work. On a tour of the site after the interview, he points proudly to the many buildings where he had a hand in setting up the production lines, and he speaks about the time the British Queen and her husband Prince Philip visited the site. Asked how long he intends to work, he says that for as long as he enjoys the work and can add value, he is happy to stay, joking that he maintains his own health as carefully as he maintains his plant machinery. He says he’s proud to have spent his career at a company that respects hard work and has done his best to pass that experience along to the next generation.

“We have many people who were selected from within for promotion rather than just recruited from outside, as that gives us firmer foundations. For example, our Managing Director & CEO, Abdulla Kalban, started here as a supervisor. He would work shifts with me, when I was also a supervisor at the time. Everyone here works hard and learns from experience.”

But what he is most proud of achieving during his long career, are the opportunities EGA provided for his family. “The company gave great support for my children's education, and I am very proud of being a successful father.” He points to pictures of his family on the wall. “You can see my three sons and daughter. They were all born and brought up here, and they all got degrees. The life they have here has been good. All my children and grandchildren are still here and it makes me want to stay.”

image description

رحلة التعلم خلال العمل

أمضى محمد سردار 40 عاماً من عمره في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم – دون التوقف مطلقاً عن اكتساب المهارات الجديدة.

رغم أن مسيرة تطور الشركة لم تتوقف يوماً، إلا إنه يوجد شيءٌ واحدٌ فقط لم يتغير على الإطلاق، وهو مكتب محمد سعيد سردار. مازحنا محمد قائلاً: "إن منصبي يتغير في كل مرة، وفي كل مرة أحتفظ بنفس المكتب ولكنني أقوم بتغيير اللوحة المعلقة على الباب".

خلال مسيرة الأربعين عاماً في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، فإن فترة خدمة محمد تعتبر الأطول في الشركة، وقد كانت محفولةً بالابتكارات بشكل متواصل. وهي في الحقيقة السبب خلف رغبته في العمل في الشركة في المقام الأول. "انتقلت من منزلي في باكستان للعمل لشركة أخرى ولكنني رأيت أصدقائي الذين يعملون في دبي للألمنيوم (دوبال)*، حيث تم إرسالهم في دورات تدريبية إلى الولايات المتحدة، حينها أتضح لي حجم استثمار الشركة في موظفيها. كنت شاباً طموحاً ورغبت في التقدم أيضاً، ولذلك قمت بالتقديم على طلب التوظيف".

حصل محمد الذي سيدخل عامه السابع والستون في السنة القادمة، على وظيفته في إدارة تخطيط الإنتاج في وقت بلغت فيه القدرة الإنتاجية للمصنع ما يقارب 135,000 طن سنوياً. ناظراً إلى صور زملائه القدماء الذين تقاعدوا منذ زمن طويل مصفوفةً على رف مكتبه، ثم قال: "لقد تم تدريبنا بمساعدة خبرات بريطانية، كنا نمتلك في السابق إدارة بريطانية، فمن بين الموظفين البالغ عددهم 1,500 موظف تقريباً، ربما كان 1,000 موظف منهم بريطاني الجنسية".

تمكّن محمد من إثبات جدارته في سنواته الأولى، وعلى إثره تم منحه الفرصة للتدريب في مجال الإنتاج، ومن ثم أُرسل في دروات تدريبية ليصبح مشرفاً. الجميل في الأمر، هو إنه قام بالاحتفاظ بنسخة من تقييمه عام 1982م، فقد كتب مديره حينئذ بأن محمد سيصبح يوماً من الموثوقين في إدارة الشركة.  وكونه يعمل بجد دوماً جعل تحقيق هذا الأمر أسهل. في ذاك العام بالتحديد، حدثت مشكلة في قسم الطاقة التابع للمصنع مما أجبره على البقاء لمدة 24 ساعة متوالية دون كلل لحل هذه المشكلة.

ومنذ ذلك الحين، يلتزم محمد بخطة تطوير مهاراته كالتزامه في أخلاقيات العمل. فقد شارك في أكثر من 70 دورة تدريبية، بالإضافة إلى أنه شغل  سلسلةً من المناصب الرئيسية في مختلف أقسام المصنع. عند استفسارنا عن  تحدياته في مسيرته العملية، قام باستذكار أول توسع رئيسي لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في عام 1991. حيث شارك محمد في إعداد قضبان توصيل الألمنيوم لمشروع التوسعة، ومنذئذ أصبح أحد الأشخاص المعهودين في قضية اختيار واختبار وتركيب وتشغيل أي نوع من الآلات الجديدة في المصنع.

أشار محمد بفخر إلى الصور والتذكارات على حائط مكتبه والتي سطرت مسيرته المهنية. في أحدها، يظهر محمد مع مجموعة ضخمة من خبراء الصناعة في صورة التقطت خلال مؤتمر في مدينة سبوكان، واشنطن عام 1995م حيث ألقى خطابه عن ورقة بحث تقنية. ويستذكر بإنه سأل الحاضرين يومئذ إن كانوا يعلمون ماهي شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، فأخبره الكثيرون بأنهم لا يعلمون أين تقع دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة على الخريطة أساساً. وبعد ذلك، مرّت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بثاني عملية توسع رئيسي عام 2000م، لتقوم بزيادة قدرته الإنتاجية إلى أكثر من 550,000 طن سنوياً، إلى جانب إضافة طابع "صنع في الإمارات" على جميع منتجاتها. نظيراً لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة فإن شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمينوم ستكون قريباً علامةً تجاريةً عالمية، لتصبح أكبر منتج للألمنيوم عالي الجودة في العالم وأكبر شركة صناعية في الإمارات خارج قطاع النفط والغاز. يفخر محمد بما أنجزته الشركة في عام 2005م حيث بلغ حجم الإنتاج مليون طن سنوياً؛ وهو ما يبدو ضئيلاً مقارنةً بما تنتجه اليوم، بإجمالي يبلغ 2.5 مليون طن سنوياً من خلال موقعها في جبل علي وموقعها الآخر في الطويلة الكامن منطقة خليفة الصناعية، والذي بدأت فيه أول مراحل الإنتاج عام 2009م.

وكعادته، فإن محمد لايزال مشغولاً جداً في التنقل بين الموقعين. يشير بأن الفضل يعود  لأدواره المتعددة في أن يكون حلقة وصل بين عديد من خطوط الإنتاج. فهو يتولى جميع الأعمال التقنية المتعلقة بالتأمين وإدارة الكوارث، والشؤون القانونية والامتثال لها، وإدارة المخاطر والمسؤوليات.

"لقد أرتقينا بأفضل المعايير الدولية من مختلف النواحي مثل السلامة والبيئة والمنتج أيضاً. وحين نقوم بالتخطيط للمستقبل، فإننا نضع التحديث والتشغيل الآلي دوماً في عين الاعتبار. نقوم في كل عام بتخصيص مبلغ من المال لنقوم بتغطية قيمة الخفض في أجهزتنا مقارنةً بمدى عمرها الإنتاجي، وبالتأكيد أننا نملك الأموال اللازمة للبحث عن بديل عندما تقترب الآلة من نهاية دورة حياتها، وواجبي حينها يكمن في تحديد ما نحتاجه. ولذلك، لا توجد آلة واحدة لم يتم استبدالها منذ بدايتي في عام 1979م، بل وفي الواقع، فإنني مازلت أحتفظ بلوحة من الجهاز الذي قمت بتثبيته لأول مرة في المصنع، وثم أزلته بعد سنوات عديدة".

يتضح لنا جميعاً مقدار شغف محمد بعمله حتى يومنا هذا. خلال مقابلتنا، قام بأخذنا بجولة حول المصنع وأشار باعتزاز إلى العديد من الأبنية المحيطة بنا والذي كانت له يد في إنشاء خطوط إنتاجها. وهو يتذكر جيداً زيارة جلالة الملكة إليزابيث الثانية وزوجها الأمير فيليب إلى المصنع. استفسرنا عن المدة التي يعتزم فيها مواصلة العمل، فكان رده بإن ذلك مرهون بأمران وهما إنه يستطيع الاستمتاع بالعمل وقادر على العطاء، فإن توافرا فهو سعيد على البقاء، بل ومازحنا قائلاً بأنه يحافظ على صحته بنفس الدقة التي يحافظ فيها على آلات مصنعه. يقول محمد إنه فخور لقضاءه حياته المهنية في شركة تحترم العمل الشاق وأنه بذل قصارى جهده لتمرير هذه التجربة إلى الأجيال القادمة.

"يوجد موظفين كثر تم اختيارهم ليتم ترقيتهم عوضاً عن توظيف أشخاص آخرين من الخارج، وذلك ينعكس بالتأكيد في ترسيخ قيمة هذه المؤسسة.