image description

Leaders of tomorrow

From an inspirational meeting with the UAE President to developing, empowering and engaging the leaders of tomorrow, Hala AlHashmi wants the EGA Youth Council to make its mark on the world.

As her phone screensaver, Hala AlHashmi has a picture of herself standing proudly beside His Highness Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, President of the United Arab Emirates.

The picture was taken at an event at Qasr Al Bahr in Abu Dhabi to mark International Youth Day last August and is one of her most prized possessions.

“It was amazing,” smiles Hala. “When I think about it, I still get excited. It was a proud moment that I will always cherish in my heart.” Hala was invited to Qasr Al Bahr because she is chairperson of Emirates Global Aluminium’s Youth Council.

While Hala was at Qasr Al Bahr Majlis, His Highness Sheikh Mohamed gave a speech to the young people present that left an indelible impression on the senior lean & quality engineer.

“He gave us a very inspirational talk about us being the drive for the future and continuing the message of his father Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, the founding father of the UAE,” said Hala, who joined EGA six years ago after becoming the first Emirati woman to complete a Bachelor of Science degree with a major in industrial and systems engineering from Khalifa University.

“He talked to us about how education is very important and how teamwork is key to achieving what you want”.

“And it’s what I always say to the Youth Council members – if you have an idea, go for it. At EGA, we have leaders that actually take what we say seriously, and they are prepared to take action.”

The Youth Council’s purpose, says Hala, “is to ensure that EGA provides the best platform & environment for youth to become innovative leaders and pacemakers for positive change in the nation. The EGA Youth Council very much aligns with EGA’s ambition of becoming a talent-driven organisation.”

Hala showcased her own talents in acting and public speaking from a very young age. At eight years old, she was featured in a full page spread in the Al-Ittihad newspaper. She would go on to receive the prestigious Sheikh Hamdan Bin Rashid Al Maktoum Award for Distinguished Student during her time in primary school.

Hala took up the leadership of the 14-member EGA youth council in 2022.

Youth Councils were pioneered by the Federal Government of the UAE in 2016 as an initiative of the nation’s leadership to empower Emirati youth to lead the world in every sphere of society. EGA’s Youth Council was founded in 2018.  Hala says that it makes her “very proud” to work for a company that aligns with the UAE’s strategy on empowering and inspiring youth.

“I told our Chief Executive Officer that I’ll forever be grateful for working in a company with such direction. That the CEO makes the time to meet for one hour with the chairperson of the Youth Council just to make sure we are aligned says a lot, and I'm blessed that I'm part of an organisation like that.”

Hala says that the EGA Youth Council is driven by three priorities – development, engagement and empowerment.

“We meet regularly, and we are always focused on developing, engaging or empowering our youth,” she said. “Our activities can range from small, internal discussion circles to big external events such as our ‘Make it in the Emirates’ spot at the Youth Pavilion at Expo 2020 in Dubai, but they always come back to those three goals.

Inspired by the success of the initiatives, Hala also played a leading role in the EGA Youth Council's hosting of the first ‘Youth in Manufacturing & Technology Forum’, which brought together Youth Councils from manufacturing and technology-led organisations to drive forward Operation 300bn and the UAE Centennial 2071 goal of creating a diversified knowledge economy.

Leadership of the Youth Council of a major company gives Hala access to decision-makers across the country. Like Her Excellency Shamma Al Mazrui, the UAE Minister of State for Youth Affairs and until recently the youngest Government minister in the world. Hearing the Minister delivering an address on youth and climate change, Hala was struck by the first thing mentioned in her speech – that nearly 50 percent of the UAE population is aged between the ages of 15 and 35.

“If you have a young nation,” says Hala, “it is very important that youth are taken into every aspect of decision-making. Throughout every industry, it is vital that the UAE’s youth develop into innovative leaders and change makers. Our generation has watched our elders achieve a positive transformation of our country almost unprecedented in the history of the world. It is our responsibility to build on that in a way that lives up to their legacy.”

Asked for her ambitions for the EGA Youth Council during her three-year term as chair, Hala declares she has “one big ambition”.

“To leave the EGA Youth Council on the global map,” she adds. “We have amazing talent. We have unique individuals. We have youth with passion with a lot to offer to the world. And I believe as chair, I have that responsibility to show everyone how capable we are. We are the future.”

image description

قادة المستقبل

تتطلع هلا الهاشمي إلى تعزيز دور مجلس شباب الامارات العالمية للألمنيوم على المستوى العالمي بعد اللقاء المهم مع رئيس دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة والذي تناول إعداد قادة المستقبل وتمكينهم من المشاركة في تعزيز نهضة الدولة.

تحمل شاشة هاتف هلا الهاشمي صورتها وهي تقف بفخر إلى جانب صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن زايد آل نهيان، رئيس دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.

والتُقطت الصورة في قصر البحر بأبوظبي بمناسبة الاحتفال باليوم العالمي للشباب في أغسطس الماضي، وتعتبر الهاشمي أن هذه الصورة من أغلى مقتنياتها.

وقالت هلا مبتسمةً: "كان لقاءً رائعاً". وأضافت: "أشعر بالفخر كلما تذكرت لقائي بصاحب السمو وسأحتفظ بهذه الذكرى في قلبي ما حييت".

وتمت دعوة هلا، التي انضمت إلى الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم قبل ستة أعوام وأصبحت أول امرأة إماراتية تحقق شهادة البكالوريوس في العلوم بتخصص الأنظمة والهندسة الصناعية من جامعة خليفة، إلى قصر البحر باعتبارها رئيسة مجلس شباب شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم.

واستمعت هلا إلى الكلمة التي ألقاها صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد أمام الشباب في مجلس قصر البحر، حيث تركت كلمته أثراً كبيراً علها.

عبرت هلا قائلة: "كانت كلمة سموه ملهمة للغاية حيث أكد على دورنا في بناء المستقبل لمواصلة مسيرة والده الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان، الأب المؤسس لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة".

وأضافت: "تحدث سموه عن أهمية التعليم ودور العمل الجماعي في تحقيق أهدافنا".

وقالت هلا إن مجلس شباب الشركة "يهدف إلى توفير منصة لتعزيز القدرات الابتكارية للشباب وتمكينهم من المساهمة في بناء مستقبل مزدهر للدولة. ويسهم مجلس الشباب في تحقيق رؤية الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم والتي تركز على تحويل الشركة إلى مؤسسة رائدة تعتمد على المواهب".

وبرزت موهبة هلا في التمثيل والخطابة منذ صغرها حيث تم عرض صورتها على صفحة كاملة في صحيفة الاتحاد عندما كانت في الثامنة من عمرها. كما حققت جائزة الشيخ حمدان بن راشد آل مكتوم للطلاب المتميزين عندما كانت في المدرسة الابتدائية.

وفي عام 2022، تولت هالة قيادة مجلس شباب الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم والذي يضم 14 عضواً.

وتابعت هلا حديثها قائلة: "أقول دائماً لأعضاء مجلس الشباب - إذا كانت لديكم فكرة ما، اعملوا على تحقيقها. لدينا قادة و مدراء تنفيذيين يهتمون بآرائنا وأفكارنا وهم مستعدون لاتخاذ الإجراءات اللازمة لتنفيذ مقترحاتنا".

وأطلقت الحكومة الاتحادية في دولة الإمارات مجالس الشباب كفكرة رائدة في عام 2016 لتحقيق رؤية قيادة الدولة التي تهدف إلى تمكين الشباب الإماراتيين من المساهمة في الجهود العالمية في مختلف جوانب المجتمع. وتم تأسيس مجلس شباب الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في عام 2018، حيث قالت هلا إنها تشعر بالفخر في عملها في شركة تسهم في تنفيذ استراتيجية دولة الإمارات لتمكين الشباب وتعزيز قدراتهم.

و أضافت: "أخبرت الرئيس التنفيذي في شركتنا أنني أشعر بالامتنان لعملي في شركة تمتلك رؤية حكيمة مثل الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم. كما أثق بالرئيس التنفيذي الذي خصص ساعة من الوقت للقاء رئيس مجلس الشباب والتأكد من أننا نعمل يداً واحدة على تحقيق تطلعات الشركة ويسعدني أن أكون جزءاً من هذه الشركة".

و وضحت هلا إن مجلس شباب الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم يركز على ثلاثة أولويات وتشمل التنمية والمشاركة والتمكين.

وقالت: "نلتقي بشكل منتظم حيث نركز على تنمية قدرات الشباب وتمكينهم من المشاركة الفعالة". وأضافت: "تشمل أنشطتنا حلقات النقاش الداخلية الصغيرة والأحداث الخارجية الكبيرة مثل جناح مبادرة "اصنع في الإمارات" في منتدى الشباب بمعرض إكسبو 2020 في دبي، حيث تسهم أنشطتنا في تحقيق أهدافنا".

وأدت هلا دوراً كبيراً في تنظيم فعاليات المجلس مثل "منتدى الشباب في الصناعة والتكنولوجيا" الأول. حيث شارك في المنتدى أعضاء مجالس الشباب من مختلف المؤسسات الصناعية والتكنولوجية للمساهمة في تنفيذ "مشروع 300 مليار" و"مئوية الإمارات 2071" من أجل بناء اقتصاد مستدام قائم على المعرفة.

وبفضل قيادتها مجلس الشباب في واحدة من أكبر الشركات في الدولة تلتقي هلا بأصحاب القرار في الجهات المحلية مثل سعادة شما المزروعي، وزيرة الدولة لشؤون الشباب، والتي كانت حتى وقت قريب أصغر وزيرة في العالم، حيث شعرت هالة بالذهول عندما سمعت الوزيرة تقول في كلمتها عن الشباب والتغير المناخي أن حوالي 50% من سكان الإمارات تتراوح أعمارهم بين 15 و35 عاماً.

وقالت هلا: "إذا كان لديك أمة فتية، يجب تعزيز دور الشباب في مختلف جوانب صنع القرار من خلال تنمية قدرات الشباب الإماراتيين وإعدادهم ليصبحوا قادة مبتكرين يسهمون في تحقيق التغيير. وقد شاهد جيلنا كيف حقق الجيل السابق تحولات كبيرة في الدولة لا مثيل لها في تاريخ العالم. ولذلك يجب علينا مواصلة مسيرة البناء بالاعتماد على الإرث العريق الذي تركوه لنا".

وعند سؤالها عن طموحاتها في المجلس خلال فترة رئاستها التي تبلغ ثلاثة أعوام، قالت إن لديها "طموحاً كبيراً".

وأضافت قائلة: "أطمح إلى تعزيز دور المجلس على المستوى العالمي، إذ نمتلك العديد من المواهب الكبيرة والأشخاص المميزين. كما يمتلك شبابنا الشغف والإرادة للمساهمة في مسيرة التطور العالمية وأعتقد أنني قادرة على إطلاق قدراتنا لبناء مستقبل مزدهر باعتباري رئيساً للمجلس".