image description

UAE’s most-efficient power plant completed at EGA, significantly improving environmental performance

  • New power plant at EGA in Jebel Ali developed by JA Power & Water Co, a joint venture formed by Mubadala and Dubal Holding
  • Siemens Energy H-class gas turbine at heart of new facility, in first use in global aluminium industry

United Arab Emirates, 26 September 2021: Emirates Global Aluminium, the largest industrial company in the United Arab Emirates outside oil and gas, Mubadala Investment Company and Dubal Holding today announced the completion of the UAE’s most-efficient power plant, which will significantly improve environmental performance at EGA in Jebel Ali.

A ceremony to mark the completion was attended by His Excellency Saeed Mohammed Al Tayer, Vice Chairman of EGA and Managing Director & Chief Executive Officer of Dubai Electricity & Water Authority; Musabbeh Al Kaabi, Board member of EGA and Chief Executive Officer of UAE Investments at Mubadala Investment Company; EGA Managing Director Abdulla Kalban and Chief Executive Officer Abdulnasser Bin Kalban; and Karim Amin, Executive Vice President Generation, Siemens Energy.

The AED 1 billion state-of-the-art power plant is built around a Siemens Energy H-class gas turbine, the first in the UAE and in the global aluminium industry, with a generation capacity of some 600 megawatts. The new power plant further improves the efficiency of power generation at EGA, saving natural resources and reducing costs and environmental emissions. Five older, less efficient turbines at EGA are being put on standby for use only in emergencies.

His Excellency Saeed Mohammed Al Tayer, Vice Chairman of EGA, said: “Completion of this project at EGA is in line with the directives of His Highness Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan, President of the UAE; His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, and His Highness Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Deputy Supreme Commander of the UAE Armed Forces to make the UAE a global leader in sustainability. The new power plant at EGA is considered one of the plants with high operational efficiency and an important step towards enhancing environmental sustainability.”

Musabbeh Al Kaabi, Board member of EGA and CEO of UAE Investments at Mubadala, said: “The successful completion of this project is a testament to the focus we have placed on improving EGA’s cost position while reducing its emissions, which further cements the importance we place on addressing key Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) issues. We are proud of the EGA’s resilience and the team’s ability to deliver this project safely and under budget despite challenging circumstances presented by the pandemic.”

Abdulnasser Bin Kalban, Chief Executive Officer of EGA said: “Despite COVID-19, this project was completed on time and, most importantly, safely. We now have on our site the most efficient power plant in the UAE, which will significantly reduce our environmental emissions as well as lowering our costs. This plant will deliver value to EGA and to the nation for many years to come.”

Karim Amin, Executive Vice President Generation, Siemens Energy, said: “This project, equipped with Siemens Energy’s H-class technology, created a new benchmark in the aluminium industry by significantly  improving reliability and efficiency of energy generation whilst lowering emissions and costs at the same time. We are proud that our innovative solutions will help to drive decarbonisation in the UAE's industrial sector and are looking forward to many more years of collaboration with EGA, Mubadala, and Dubal Holding.”

The new power block is expected to lower greenhouse gas emissions from EGA's power-generation and aluminium-smelting operations at Jebel Ali by some 10 percent, the equivalent of planting more than 17 million trees each year. NOx emissions are expected to decrease by as much as 58 percent. NOx is also emitted by motor vehicles, and the new power block is equivalent to removing more than 850,000 cars from Dubai’s roads.

The UAE Energy Strategy 2050 aims to reduce the carbon footprint of power generation in the UAE by 70 per cent, and increase energy efficiency by 40 per cent.

Construction of the new power block took some 12.8 million hours of work equivalent to one person working more than 6,000 years, with a workforce of 3,778 at peak in November last year. The project was completed with a world-class safety record, and zero injuries leading to time off work.

EGA requires electricity for aluminium smelting and other industrial operations, and is the largest power generator in the country after the Dubai and Abu Dhabi utilities with a similar generating capacity to New Zealand.

Siemens Energy is a leading global energy technology company, operating along almost the entire energy value chain. Siemens Energy was spun off from Siemens in 2020 as an independent company with around 91,000 employees and operations in more than 90 countries.

image description

الانتهاء من إنشاء محطة توليد الكهرباء الأكثر كفاءة على مستوى الدولة في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم مساهماً في تحسين الأداء البيئي بشكل كبير

  • تولت شركة "جي إيه للطاقة والمياه " تطوير محطة الكهرباء الجديدة في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في جبل علي، المشروع المشترك بين مبادلة ودوبال القابضة
  • المحطة الجديدة تستخدم توربينات غازية فئة H-Class من سيمنس للطاقة، لأول مرة في قطاع صناعة الألمنيوم العالمية

الإمارات العربية المتحدة، 26 سبتمبر 2021: أعلنت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، أكبر شركة صناعية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة خارج قطاع النفط والغاز، بالتعاون مع شركة مبادلة للإستثمار ودوبال القابضة اليوم عن الانتهاء من إنشاء محطة توليد الكهرباء الأكثر كفاءة على مستوى دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، والتي ستساهم بشكلٍ ملحوظ إلى تحسين الأداء البيئي في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بجبل علي.

وقد حضر الحفل من كامل أعمال المحطة معالي/ سعيد محمد الطاير، نائب رئيس مجلس إدارة شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم والعضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي لهيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي، ومصبح الكعبي، عضو مجلس إدارة شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم والرئيس التنفيذي لقطاع الاستثمار في الإمارات في شركة مبادلة، وعبد الله كلبان، العضو المنتدب لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، وعبد الناصر بن كلبان، الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، وكريم أمين، نائب الرئيس التنفيذي لقطاع توليد الطاقة بشركة سيمنس للطاقة.

وقد تم بناء هذه المحطة وفق أحدث التقنيات بتكلفةٍ بلغت مليار درهم، حيث  تستخدم التوربين الغازي فئة H-Class من سيمنس للطاقة، وهو الأول من نوعه في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وفي قطاع صناعة الألمنيوم على مستوى العالم، بقدرة توليد تبلغ حوالي 600 ميجاوات. وتعمل المحطة الجديدة على تحسين كفاءة توليد الطاقة في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، مما يوفر الموارد الطبيعية ويقلل من التكاليف والانبعاثات الضارة بالبيئة. ويوجد عدد خمسة توربينات أقدم وأقل كفاءة من النموذج الحالي المتطور المستخدم في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، وقد تم تعليق العمل في جميعها وذلك لاستخدامها فقط في حالات الطوارئ.

وبهذه المناسبة صرح معالي/ سعيد محمد الطاير، نائب رئيس مجلس إدارة شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم: "يأتي استكمال هذا المشروع في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تماشياً مع توجيهات سيدي صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان، رئيس الدولة "حفظه الله"، وسيدي صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، نائب رئيس الدولة رئيس مجلس الوزراء حاكم دبي "رعاه الله"، وصاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن زايد آل نهيان، ولي عهد أبوظبي نائب القائد الأعلى للقوات المسلحة لتعزيز الريادة  العالمية لدولة الإمارات في مجال الاستدامة. وتعتبر محطة الطاقة الجديدة في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم من المحطات ذات الكفاءة التشغيلية  العالية وخطوة هامة نحو تعزيز الاستدامة البيئية."

ومن جانبه قال مصبح الكعبي، عضو مجلس إدارة شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم والرئيس التنفيذي لقطاع الاستثمار في الإمارات في مبادلة: "إن إنجاز هذا المشروع هو دليل على الجهود الكبيرة التي نبذلها من أجل خفض التكلفة والحد من الانبعاثات الضارة في قطاع صناعة الألمنيوم، كما يؤكد التزامنا بالمساهمة في وضع الحلول لمختلف القضايا البيئية والاجتماعية والحوكمة المؤسسية".

 وأضاف الكعبي: "كمستثمر عالمي فإننا نفخر بشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم لإنجاز هذا المشروع بطريقة آمنة وفي حدود الميزانية المعتمدة، على الرغم من التحديات العديدة التي فرضتها جائحة كوفيد-19، ما يظهر المرونة العالية والقدرة المتميزة التي يتمتع بها جميع العاملين من إدارة وموظفين".

وقال عبد الناصر بن كلبان، الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم: "على الرغم من تفشي جائحة كوفيد-19 وما أعقبها من تحديات، فقد تم الانتهاء من هذا المشروع في الوقت المحدد، والأهم من ذلك بأمانٍ تام. وتمتلك الشركة حالياً محطة الطاقة الأكثر كفاءة في دولة الإمارات، والتي ستقلل بشكلٍ كبير من الانبعاثات الضارة بالبيئة بالإضافة إلى خفض التكاليف. وستشكل هذه المحطة المتطورة قيمةً مضافة  لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم ولدولة الإمارات لأعوام عديدة قادمة ".

من جهته صرح، كريم أمين، نائب الرئيس التنفيذي لقطاع توليد الطاقة بشركة سيمنس للطاقة، قائلاً: "إن هذا المشروع الذي يعتمد على التكنولوجيا المتقدمة للشركة، من طراز H-Class، يرسو معياراً جديداً في صناعة الألمنيوم من حيث تحقيق أعلى مستويات الموثوقية والكفاءة في عمليات توليد الطاقة مع المساهمة في الوقت نفسه في تخفيض الانبعاثات الضارة والنفقات التشغيلية. إننا فخورون بأن الحلول المبتكرة للشركة ستساعد في دفع الجهود للحد من البصمة الكربونية في القطاع الصناعي بدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، ونتطلع قدماً لأعوام طويلة مُقبلة من التعاون والشراكة مع شركائنا في الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم ومبادلة ودوبال القابضة. ومن المتوقع أن تُسهم هذه المحطة المتطورة في الحد من انبعاثات الغازات المسببة للاحتباس الحراري الناجمة عن عمليات توليد الطاقة وصهر الألمنيوم التي تقوم بها شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في جبل علي بحوالي 10 بالمائة، أي ما يعادل زراعة أكثر من 17 مليون شجرة كل عام. كما أنه من المتوقع أن تنخفض انبعاثات أكاسيد النيتروجين بنسبة تصل إلى 58 بالمائة، حيث تنبعث أكاسيد النيتروجين كذلك من السيارات، وسوف تسهم المحطة الجديدة في خفض هذه الانبعاثات بنسبة تعادل إزالة أكثر من 850 ألف سيارة من طرق دبي.

وتهدف استراتيجية الإمارات للطاقة 2050 إلى خفض البصمة الكربونية الناجمة عن توليد الطاقة في دولة الإمارات بنسبة 70 في المائة، فضلًا عن زيادة كفاءة الطاقة بنسبة 40 في المائة.

وقد استغرقت أعمال بناء المحطة الجديدة حوالي 12.8 مليون ساعة عمل أي ما يعادل عمل شخصٍ واحدٍ لأكثر من 6000 عام، وقد بلغت القوة العاملة 3,778 عامل في ذروتها في شهر نوفمبر من العام الماضي، وقد تم الانتهاء من المشروع بسجل سلامة عالمي ودون وجود إصابات تؤدي إلى إجازة من العمل.

وتحتاج شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم الكهرباء لصهر الألمنيوم والقيام بالعمليات الصناعية الأخرى، وتعد أكبر مولد للطاقة في الدولة بعد مؤسسات دبي وأبوظبي الخدماتية وبقدرة توليد تعادل انتاج نيوزيلندا من الطاقة.

وتعد سيمنس للطاقة شركةً عالميةً رائدةً في مجال تكنولوجيا الطاقة، وتقوم بتصنيع وتشغيل سلسلة قيمة الطاقة بأكملها تقريبًا. وقد تم إنشاء شركة سيمنس للطاقة التي انبثقت عن شركة سيمنس في عام 2020 كشركة مستقلة تضم قرابة 91,000 موظف وتعمل في أكثر من 90 دولة عبر العالم.