image description

EGA, Mubadala and Dubal Holding fire up most efficient power plant in UAE, with Siemens Energy H-Class gas turbine

  • New power block at EGA in Jebel Ali is under development by JA Power & Water Co, a joint venture formed by Mubadala and Dubal Holding.

United Arab Emirates, 3 February 2021: Emirates Global Aluminium, the largest industrial company in the United Arab Emirates outside oil and gas, Mubadala and Dubal Holding today successfully completed a major milestone with the first firing of the Siemens Energy H-class gas turbine at a new AED 1 billion state-of-the-art power plant under development at EGA’s Jebel Ali site.

The Siemens Energy H-class gas turbine, a leading technology in efficient power generation, is the heart of the new power plant. Over the coming months, other facilities of the plant will be completed and integrated to achieve a generation capacity of over 600 megawatts of electricity. Full completion of the project is expected in the summer.

The new power block at EGA is being developed by JA Power & Water Co, a joint venture formed by Mubadala and Dubal Holding. EGA intends to buy power from the joint venture for 25 years following commissioning.

Use of the H-class gas turbine will further improve the efficiency of power generation at EGA, saving natural resources and reducing costs and environmental emissions.

The installation of an H-class turbine aligns with the UAE Energy Strategy 2050, which aims to reduce the nation’s carbon footprint of power generation by 70 per cent and to increase energy efficiency by 40 per cent.

The new power block is expected to lower greenhouse gas emissions from EGA's power-generation and aluminium-smelting operations at Jebel Ali by some 10 percent, the equivalent of planting more than 17 million trees each year. NOx emissions are expected to decrease by as much as 58 percent. NOx is also emitted by motor vehicles and is amongst a group of emissions targeted for reductions under ‘UAE Vision 2021’ to improve local air quality. The NOx emissions reductions expected as a result of the new power block are equivalent to removing more than 850,000 cars from the road.

The project is the first time a Siemens Energy H-class gas turbine has been deployed in the global aluminium industry.

His Excellency Saeed Mohammed Al Tayer, Vice Chairman of EGA, said: “This ambitious project is in line with the directives of His Highness Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan, President of the UAE; His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, and His Highness Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Deputy Supreme Commander of the UAE Armed Forces to enhance sustainable development in the UAE. This project which includes a leading technology in efficient power generation supports the objectives of the UAE Vision 2021 and the UAE Centennial 2071, which outlines the path for a brighter future for generations to come by making the UAE the world’s leading nation. We look forward to the successful completion of this project and for it to contribute to our nation’s prosperity for decades to come.”

Abdulnasser Bin Kalban, Chief Executive Officer of EGA said: “We are making good progress on delivering this important project, despite all the challenges of 2020. Most importantly, the work to date has been completed safely with zero lost time injuries. This new power plant will improve the efficiency of power generation at EGA even further. That means lower costs in natural gas, and lower costs to the planet. Many applications of aluminium contribute to sustainability, but the environmental impact of how it is made also matters.”

Dietmar Siersdorfer, Managing Director of Siemens Energy in the Middle East and UAE, said: “This is a landmark project, as the first Siemens H-class globally to power an aluminium smelter, the most efficient power plant in the UAE and the most efficient in EGA’s fleet. This proven technology will help to decarbonise the UAE’s industrial sector and we look forward to continuing to work with EGA, Mubadala and Dubal Holding.”

Once the new power block is fully operational, five older, smaller and less efficient turbines at EGA’s Jebel Ali site will be put on standby for use only in emergencies.

EGA requires electricity for aluminium smelting and other industrial operations. EGA runs power plants at its sites in Jebel Ali and Al Taweelah with a current combined generating capacity of 5,850 megawatts, making the company the largest power-producer in the UAE after the Dubai and Abu Dhabi utilities with a similar generating capacity to New Zealand.

Earlier this year, EGA announced with Dubai Electricity and Water Authority that it has made the UAE the first country in the world to produce aluminium using the power of the sun. DEWA is supplying solar power from the Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum Solar Park on the outskirts of Dubai. EGA is marketing solar aluminium to global customers under the product name ‘CelestiAL’.

Siemens Energy is a leading global energy technology company, operating along almost the entire energy value chain. Siemens Energy was spun off from Siemens in September 2020 as an independent company with around 91,000 employees and operations in more than 90 countries.

image description

إطلاق توربين الغاز من سيمنس "H-Class" في محطة الطاقة الأكثر كفاءة في الدولة بالتعاون بين شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم ومبادلة ودوبال القابضة

  • العمل يجري على تطوير محطة الطاقة الجديدة في موقع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في جبل علي من قبل شركة جي إيه للطاقة والمياه، المشروع المشترك لشركتي مبادلة ودوبال القابضة.

الإمارات العربية المتحدة – 3 فبراير 2021: أعلنت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، أكبر شركة صناعية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة خارج قطاع النفط والغاز، بالتعاون مع شركة مبادلة ودوبال القابضة اليوم، عن نجاحها بتحقيق إنجاز كبير تمثل في إطلاق توربين الغاز من سيمنس للطاقة ، فئة "H-Class" في محطة الطاقة الجديدة بتكلفة 1 مليار درهم التي يجري العمل على تطويرها في موقع الشركة في جبل علي.

وتستند  التوربينات الغازية من شركة سيمنس للطاقة، فئة H-Class  إلى تقنيات  رائدة في توليد الطاقة بكفاءة حيثتشكل هذه التوربينات قلب محطة الطاقة الجديدة. وخلال الأشهر المقبلة، سيتم الانتهاء من المرافق الأخرى للمحطة ودمجها لتحقيق قدرة توليد تتجاوز 600 ميغاوات من الطاقة الكهربائية، ومن المتوقع الانتهاء الكامل من المشروع خلال هذا الصيف.

وتتولى شركة JA Power & Water Co، المشروع المشترك لشركتي مبادلة ودوبال القابضة، عمليات تطوير مجمع الطاقة الجديد في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، وتعتزم شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم شراء الطاقة التي ستنتجها المحطة لمدة 25 عاماً من تاريخ التعاقد.

ومن شأن استخدام التوربينات الغازية، طراز H-Class المساهمة في تعزيز كفاءة توليد الطاقة في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بشكل أكبر، بالإضافة إلى الحفاظ على الموارد الطبيعية وخفض التكاليف والانبعاثات البيئية المرتبطة بإنتاج الألمنيوم. ويتماشى تركيب توربينات الغاز، فئة H-Class، مع استراتيجية الإمارات للطاقة 2050، الرامية إلى تقليل البصمة الكربونية للدولة الناتجة عن توليد الطاقة بنسبة 70% وزيادة كفاءة الطاقة بنسبة 40%.

ومن المتوقع أن تسهم محطة الطاقة الجديدة في الحد من انبعاثات الغازات المسببة للاحتباس الحراري الناجمة عن عمليات توليد الطاقة وصهر الألمنيوم التي تقوم بها شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في جبل علي بحوالي 10 %، أي ما يعادل زراعة أكثر من 17 مليون شجرة سنوياً. وأيضاً تقليل انبعاثات أكاسيد النيتروجين بنسبة تصل إلى 58%. وتعتبر أكاسيد النيتروجين، والتي تنبعث من السيارات أيضاً، من بين مجموعة الانبعاثات المزمع تخفيضها في إطار رؤية الإمارات 2021 لتحسين جودة الهواء في الدولة، ويعادل تخفيض انبعاثات أكاسيد النيتروجين المتوقعة من محطة الطاقة الجديدة إزالة أكثر من 850 ألف سيارة من الطرقات.

ويعد هذا المشروع هو الأول الذي يتم فيه استخدام توربين غازي من  شركة سيمنس للطاقة طراز "H-Class" في صناعة الألمنيوم العالمية.

وقال معالي سعيد محمد الطاير، نائب رئيس مجلس إدارة شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم: " ينسجم هذا المشروع الطموح مع توجيهات القيادة الرشيدة لسيدي صاحب السمو الشيخ خليفة بن زايد آل نهيان رئيس الدولة "حفظه الله" وسيدي صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم نائب رئيس الدولة رئيس مجلس الوزراء حاكم دبي "رعاه الله" وصاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن زايد آل نهيان ولي عهد أبوظبي نائب القائد الأعلى للقوات المسلحة لتعزيز مسيرة التنمية المستدامة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. ويساهم هذا المشروع، الذي يتضمن تقنيات رائدة في توليد الطاقة بكفاءة  واعتمادية عالية ، في تحقيق أهداف رؤية الإمارات 2021 ومئوية الإمارات 2071، التي ترسم الطريق نحو مستقبل أكثر إشراقا لأجيالنا القادمة وتعزز مكانة الدولة لتكون أفضل دولة في العالم. ونتطلع إلى استكمال هذا المشروع بنجاح والمساهمة في ازدهار وطننا على مدى العقود القادمة ".

ومن جانبه، قال عبد الناصر بن كلبان، الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم: "يجري العمل على تنفيذ هذا المشروع على أكمل وجه، على الرغم التحديات التي واجهناها في العام 2020. والأهم من ذلك، أن العمل حتى الآن قد اكتمل بأمان دون تسجيل أي إصابات ناجمة عن العمل. ستسهم محطة الطاقة الجديدة في تحسين كفاءة توليد الطاقة في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بشكل أكبر، الأمر الذي يعني انخفاض تكاليف الغاز الطبيعي مع الحفاظ على البيئة. وفيما تساهم تطبيقات الألمنيوم في تعزيز الاستدامة، إلا أننا يجب أن نضع في الحسبان أيضاً التأثير البيئي لكيفية تصنيعه".

وقال ديتمار سيرسدورفر، المدير التنفيذي لشركة سيمنس  للطاقة الشرق الأوسط ودولة الإمارات: "هذا المشروع تاريخي، حيث يشكل أول استخدام للتوربينات الغازية طراز H-Class لتشغيل مصهر للألمنيوم على مستوى العالم، وفي أكثر محطات الطاقة كفاءة في دولة الإمارات وأكثر التوربينات كفاءة في أسطول شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم. وستساعد هذه التكنولوجيا التي أثبتت جدواها في الحد من البصمة الكربونية في القطاع الصناعي في دولة الإمارات، ونتطلع إلى مواصلة العمل مع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم ومبادلة ودوبال القابضة".

وبمجرد تشغيل مجمع محطة الطاقة الجديدة بالكامل، سيتم تجهيز خمس وحدات احتياطية من التوربينات الأقدم والأصغر حجماً والأقل كفاءة لدى شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بجبل علي لاستخدامها في حالات الطوارئ فقط.

وتحتاج شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم إلى الكهرباء في عملية صهر الألمنيوم والعمليات الصناعية الأخرى. وتدير الشركة محطات توليد طاقة للاستعمال الداخلي في مواقعها في جبل علي والطويلة بطاقة توليد مجمّعة تبلغ حالياً 5,850 ميجاوات، ما يجعلها أكبر شركة منتجة للطاقة في دولة الإمارات بعد هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي وهيئة مياه وكهرباء أبوظبي مع قدرة توليد مماثلة لنيوزيلندا.

وفي وقت سابق من هذا العام، أعلنت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بالتعاون مع هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي، عن تعزيز مكانة دولة الإمارات الريادية بجعلها أول دولة في العالم تنتج الألمنيوم باستخدام الطاقة الشمسية النظيفة، حيث ستوفر هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي الطاقة الشمسية من مجمع محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم للطاقة الشمسية في دبي، فيما ستعمل شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم على تسويق الألمنيوم المنتج باستخدام الطاقة الشمسية لعملائها حول العالمي تحت اسم "CelestiAL".

الجدير بالذكر أن سيمنس للطاقة هي شركة عالمية رائدة في مجال تكنولوجيا الطاقة، وتعمل على امتداد سلسلة القيمة لقطاع الطاقة بأكمله تقريباً. وانفصلت الشركة عن شركة سيمنس  في سبتمبر 2020، كشركة مستقلة تضم حوالي 91,000 موظف وتعمل في أكثر من 90 دولة.