EGA and INALUM sign MoU

United Arab Emirates: Emirates Global Aluminium, the largest industrial company in the United Arab Emirates outside oil and gas, and PT Indonesia Asahan Aluminium (INALUM), the only and largest integrated aluminium company in Indonesia, today signed a Memorandum of Understanding targeting the licensing of UAE-developed EGA technology to the Indonesian company, and co-operation on the upgrade of an existing INALUM smelter and the development of a new aluminium smelter in Indonesia.

The MoU was exchanged in the presence of His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Deputy Supreme Commander of the UAE Armed Forces, and His Excellency Joko Widodo, President of the Republic of Indonesia, and signed by Abdulla Kalban, Managing Director of EGA, and Orias Petrus Moedak, President Director of INALUM.

Under the MoU, the two companies will evaluate the potential to form a joint venture to develop a greenfield aluminium smelter in Indonesia. Specific contributions to the joint venture could include services related to technology, the supply of raw materials, and the marketing of metal.

EGA and INALUM are already cooperating on the potential brownfield upgrade using EGA technological know-how of INALUM’s existing aluminium smelter in North Sumatra, under an MoU signed in 2018.

This cooperation has included the short-term secondment of INALUM engineers to EGA in the UAE for training in reduction cell modelling and design.

Abdulla Kalban, Managing Director of EGA, said: “We are pleased to expand our cooperation with INALUM and look forward to exploring further how we can together make these important projects for Indonesia a reality. EGA’s technology is proven both in the UAE and internationally, and we believe that we can make a big contribution to the success of INALUM’s expansion plans, and potentially even in future a vertically-integrated alumina refinery, to the benefit of both our countries.”

Orias Petrus Moedak, President Director of INALUM said: “I am pleased that we have developed a strong and cooperative relationship with EGA which has now led to the signing of this MoU. At INALUM, we are looking forward to deepening our work with EGA and to potentially deploying EGA’s technology in Indonesia.”

EGA has developed aluminium smelting technology in the UAE for more than 25 years and has used its own technology in every expansion since the 1990s. EGA has also retrofitted all its older production lines. EGA’s latest aluminium smelting technology is amongst the most efficient in the world.

EGA recently completed a historic three-year project to transfer its UAE-developed DX+ Ultra technology to Aluminium Bahrain for its Potline 6 expansion project. The transfer was the first time a UAE industrial company had licensed its core process technology internationally, in a milestone for the development of a knowledge-based economy in the UAE.

INALUM is an Indonesian state-owned company specialised in aluminium smelting. The company manages the huge potential of electricity generated from the Asahan River. INALUM was first established in 1976 as joint venture company between the Indonesian government and Nippon Asahan Aluminium Co., Ltd., a consortium of Japanese companies, before it was fully acquired by the government in 2013.

INALUM had successfully transformed itself into a strategic holding company that oversees all state-owned mining companies and has greater integration of operations with diverse mine production while supporting the downstream mine industrialisation.

الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم وشركة "إينالوم" الإندونيسية توقعان مذكرة تفاهم

الإمارات العربية المتحدة-12 يناير 2020: شهد صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن زايد آل نهيان، ولي عهد أبوظبي، نائب القائد الأعلى للقوات المسلحة، و جوكو ويدودو رئيس جمهورية إندونيسيا، توقيع اتفاقية تعاون بين شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، أكبر شركة صناعية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة خارج قطاع النفط والغاز، و شركة التعدين الوطنية القابضة الإندونيسية "إينالوم".

ووقع مذكرة التفاهم كل من عبدالله جاسم بن كلبان، العضو المنتدب في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم وأورياس بيتروس موداك، رئيس شركة "إينالوم" في أبوظبي والتي تهدف إلى منح الشركة الإندونيسية ترخيصاً لاستخدام تقنية شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم المطورة محليّاً في الدولة والتعاون على تطوير مصهر جديد للألمنيوم في شمال كاليمانتان في جزيرة بورنيو.

وستعمل الشركتان بموجب مذكرة التفاهم على تقييم إمكانية تنفيذ مشروع مشترك لتطوير مصهر الألمنيوم الجديد في شمال كاليمانتان حيث يمكن أن تساهم الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بعدة خدمات متعلقة بتقنية الصهر وتزويد المواد الخام والمساهمة في عمليات تسويق المعدن.

يُذكر أن شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم وشركة "إينالوم"تعاونتا منذ قبل وفق مذكرة تفاهم تم توقيعها في عام 2018، تنص على تقييم التحديثات الممكنة باستخدام تقنية الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم لتطوير مصهر شركة "إينالوم"المتواجد في شمال سومطرة.

وشمل هذا التعاون إعارة مهندسين من شركة INALUM إلى شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في دولة الإمارات لمدة قصيرة  بدوافع التدريب على تصميم ودراسة خلايا الاختزال.

وقال عبد الله جاسم بن كلبان العضو المنتدب لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم: "يسرنا توسيع نطاق التعاون مع شركة "إينالوم". كما نتطلع إلى تنفيذ هذه المشاريع على أرض الواقع، خصوصاً أنها في غاية الأهمية لجمهورية إندونيسيا. من جهة أخرى، أثبتت كفاءة تقنياتنا على المستوى المحلي والدولي، ونؤمن بأن مساهمتنا ستحقق خطط شركة INALUM التوسعية بنجاح. ومن المحتمل أيضا ان نتعاون في مشروع مصفاة ألومنا متكاملة رأسياً، في المستقبل، الأمر الذي سيعود بالنفع على البلدين".

من جانبه، قال أورياس بيتروس موداك، رئيس شركة "إينالوم": "نحن سعداء بتعزيز تعاوننا وشراكتنا مع الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم من خلال توقيع مذكرة التفاهم الثانية بيننا. ونتطلع في شركة "إينالوم"إلى مزيد من العمل مع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم واستخدام تقنياتها في إندونيسيا".

وعملت الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم على تطوير تقنياتها في مجال صهر الألمنيوم على مدار أكثر من 25 عاماً، حيث استخدمت الشركة تقنياتها الخاصة في عمليات توسعة المصاهر منذ تسعينيات القرن الماضي وقامت بتحديث وتطوير جميع خطوط إنتاجها القديمة. وتُعد التقنية المستخدمة لصهر الألمنيوم في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم من بين أكثر التقنيات كفاءةً على صعيد صناعة الألمنيوم العالمية.

وأكملت الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم مؤخراً مشروعاً تاريخياً امتدّ على مدار ثلاث سنوات لنقل تقنية DX+ Ultra التي طورتها في الدولة إلى شركة ألمنيوم البحرين لتوسيع خط الإنتاج السادس، وهي المرة الأولى التي ترخص فيها شركة صناعية إماراتية تقنياتها على المستوى الدولي في خطوة بارزة لتطوير اقتصاد قائم على المعرفة.

"إينالوم"هي شركة أندونيسية تختص في عمليات صهر الألمنيوم. تدير الشركة الكهرباء المولد من نهر أساهان بالكامل. تأسست الشركة عام 1976 بالإشتراك مع كل من الحكومة الإندونيسية ومجموعة الشركات اليابانية Nippon Asahan Aluminium Co.، Ltd. وقد قامت الحكومة الأندونيسية بالإستحواذ على الشركة بالكامل في عام 2013.

و تمكنت شركة "إينالوم"في التحويل إلى شركة قابضة إستراتيجية بنجاح حيث تشرف اليوم على جميع شركات تعدين المملوكة في إندونيسيا كما لديها تكامل كبير للعمليات من مناجم ومصانع متنوعة .