EGA and VITO to intensify research on the potential use of industrial by-product for construction applications

Success could lead to bauxite residue replacing some imported construction materials, including sand and clay-based products

United Arab Emirates: Emirates Global Aluminium, the largest industrial company in the United Arab Emirates outside oil and gas, will intensify research partnership with the European research and technology organisation, VITO NV. The partnership aims to find uses for bauxite residue by the UAE construction industry by further developing two of the potential applications identified in the first phase of the project.

EGA and VITO have been working together on research into the large-scale use of bauxite residue in construction materials since 2017. VITO will continue to work closely with experts at the University of Leuven in Belgium on this research.

The first of the new studies will investigate the potential for bauxite residue to be used for constructing road foundations, replacing materials such as sand. Most naturally-occurring sand in the UAE is unsuitable for road-base, meaning much of the sand used for road construction is imported.

The second study will assess whether bauxite residue can replace imported clay-based light weight aggregates, which are used to make light weight concrete as well as sound and heat insulating blocks. If successful, this could create a new industry based on locally available materials and substantially reduce the UAE’s reliance on these imported construction products.

Dr Ali Alzarouni, EGA’s Executive Vice President Midstream said: “We are now moving into the next stage of this important research on the use of bauxite residue, with detailed work on specific potential applications in construction. Finding economically-viable uses for bauxite residue is a global challenge. We are mindful of the scale of the task, but success here could be a breakthrough for our entire industry.”

Bauxite residue is a by-product of alumina refining - the process of turning bauxite ore into alumina, which is the feedstock for aluminium smelters. EGA is constructing the first alumina refinery in the UAE next to its Al Taweelah smelter in Abu Dhabi.

Although for decades academic research has been conducted on potential uses, most bauxite residue produced worldwide is still stored indefinitely as waste. Industry experts estimate that at least 150 million tonnes of bauxite residue is produced worldwide each year and less than two percent of this is currently put to productive use.

Whilst new productive uses for bauxite residue are developed, EGA will operate a dedicated bauxite residue storage site in line with current world-class best practice, about 30 kilometres inland from the coast in Khalifa Industrial Zone Abu Dhabi.

When the Al Taweelah alumina refinery starts production, bauxite residue will be washed, pressed into a dry cake, and transported to the area for permanent managed storage. The site will eventually be covered and used for other industrial purposes.

EGA is also working with The University of Queensland’s School of Agriculture and Food Sciences to investigate combining bauxite residue with agricultural and domestic wastes to create a soil for greening and other uses in the UAE.

شراكة بين الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم ومنظمة البحوث والتكنولوجيا الأوروبية المستقلة «فيتو» لتكثيف البحوث بشأن الاستخدامات المحتملة للمنتجات الثانوية الصناعية في تطبيقات البناء

نجاح هذه البحوث يمكن أن يؤدي إلى استبدال بعض مواد البناء المستوردة والتي تتضمن منتجات الرمال والمنتجات المعتمدة على الطمي، ببقايا البوكسيت.

الإمارات العربية المتحدة: أعلنت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، أكبر شركة صناعية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة خارج قطاع النفط والغاز، بتكثيف الشراكة والجهود في إجراء البحوث مع منظمة البحوث والتكنولوجيا الأوروبية المستقلة «فيتو». وتهدف هذه الشراكة إلى إيجاد استخدامات بديلة لبقايا البوكسيت داخل قطاع البناء بدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة من خلال تطوير إثنين من الاستخدامات المحتملة لبقايا البوكسيت التي تم تحديدها في المرحلة الأولى من المشروع.

الجدير بالذكر أن التعاون بين الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم و"فيتو" في إجراء البحوث بشأن استخدام نطاق واسع لبقايا البوكسيت في مواد البناء قائمٌ منذ 2017. وستواصل "فيتو" العمل عن كثب مع الخبراء في جامعة "لوفن" في بلجيكا بشأن هذه البحوث.

ستبحث الدراسة الأولى ضمن هذه الدراسات البحثية الحديثة إمكانية استخدام بقايا البوكسيت في بناء أساسات الطرق واستبدال المواد المستخدمة في البناء مثل الرمال. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن معظم الرمال الطبيعية في الإمارات العربية المتحدة غير ملائمة للاستخدام في أساسات الطرق، ما يعني أن كميات هائلة من الرمال المستخدمة في بناء الطرق يتم استيرادها من الخارج.

وستُجري الدراسة الثانية تقييماً حول إمكانية استخدام بقايا البوكسيت بدل من الركام الخفيف المستورد المعتمد على الطمي، والذي يُستخدم لصنع الخرسانة الخفيفة، بالإضافة إلى صنع قوالب الطوب العازل للصوت والحرارة. وإذا نجحت هذه الدراسة، ستظهر لنا صناعة جديدة قائمة على المواد المتاحة محلياً، وسيقل اعتماد دولة الإمارات بدرجة كبيرة على منتجات البناء المستوردة من الخارج.

وقال الدكتور عبد الله الزرعوني، نائب الرئيس التنفيذي، لعمليات الإنتاج في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم: "نحن الآن نمضي في المرحلة التالية من هذا البحث المهم بشأن استخدام بقايا البوكسيت، إلى جانب خطة العمل المفصلة التي تم وضعها لتحديد بعض الاستخدامات المحتملة لبقايا البوكسيت في مجال البناء. وتشكل عملية إيجاد استخدامات صالحة لبقايا البوكسيت تحدياً حقيقياً في مجال عملنا على الصعيد العالمي. نحن ندرك حجم هذه المهمة، ولكن النجاح في خوض هذا التحدي يمكن أن يمثل طفرة حقيقية في الصناعة بأكملها".

تعد بقايا البوكسيت منتجاً ثانوياً في عملية التكرير الألومينا التي يتم فيها تحويل مادة البوكسيت الخام إلى مادة الألومينا، وهي المادة الأولية لمصاهر الألمنيوم. وتبني شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم أول مصفاة ألومينا في دولة الإمارات بالقرب من مصهر الطويلة في أبوظبي.

وعلى الرغم من إجراء العديد من البحوث الأكاديمية على مدى العقود الماضية حول الاستخدامات المحتملة، فإن معظم مخلفات البوكسيت المنتجة في جميع أنحاء العالم لا تزال مخزنة إلى أجل غير مسمى باعتبارها نفايات. ويقدر الخبراء المختصون أن العالم ينتج ما لا يقل عن 150 مليون طن من بقايا البوكسيت كل عام، وأقل من 2% من هذه البقايا يتم استخدامها بشكل فعّال حالياً.

وبالتزامن مع تطوير استخدامات إنتاجية جديدة، ستخصص الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم موقعاً لتخزين بقايا البوكسيت بما يتماشى مع أفضل الممارسات العالمية الحالية، وسيكون على بعد حوالي 30 كيلومتراً من الساحل في منطقة خليفة الصناعية في أبوظبي.

عندما تبدأ مصفاة الطويلة للألومينا بعملية الإنتاج، سيتم غسل بقايا البوكسيت وضغطها في قالب جاف ونقلها إلى منطقة التخزين الدائم. وسيتم في نهاية المطاف تغطية الموقع واستخدامه لأغراض صناعية أخرى.

تعمل شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم أيضاً مع كلية الزراعة والعلوم الغذائية بجامعة كوينزلاند في التحقيق على الجمع بين بقايا البوكسيت والنفايات الزراعية والمنزلية لتهيئة تربة صالحة للتخضير وللاستخدامات الأخرى في دولة الإمارات.