EGA staff innovators achieve record AED70 million in savings

United Arab Emirates: Emirates Global Aluminium, the largest industrial company in the United Arab Emirates outside oil and gas, today announced that it achieved cost savings of AED 70 million in 2018 through employee suggestions and continuous improvement projects, the highest ever in a year since the programme began in 1981.

Abdulla Kalban, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of EGA, said: “At EGA we believe that everyone has a role to play in continuous improvement. Employees who are closest to a certain work process are often best placed to spot opportunities to improve it. Our programmes are built to enable all our people to share and action their ideas. When a company of our size has every employee striving to be an innovator, these numbers on cost savings are not surprising.”

Nearly AED 50 million worth of savings were generated through a record 38,037 proposals submitted as a part of EGA’s Suggestion Scheme, under which individual employees recommend improvements in their area of operation.  In addition, 201 improvement projects, resulting in the remaining savings were registered through “Tamayaz”; a cross-functional, team based program, initiated in 2016 for supervisory & non-supervisory employees as a mean of problem solving and process improvement across EGA.

EGA shares a proportion of the cost savings from employee suggestions and Tamayaz projects with the teams implementing the suggestion or project. Since 1999, EGA has received nearly 500,000 suggestions for operational and technical improvements, out of which 254,551 have been implemented to generate savings of AED 345 million. Their achievements are also recognised within the company every month and at annual events. In 2018, six Tamayaz projects were awarded in the 10th Global Continual Improvement & Innovation Awards in different categories

In addition to programmes to engage its entire workforce in continuous improvement, EGA has a dedicated technology development team which focuses on innovation to improve its core process technology.

EGA has developed its own technology for more than 25 years and has used UAE-developed technology in every smelter expansion since the 1990s. The company has also retrofitted all its older production lines.

برقمٍ غير مسبوق: موظفي الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم يحققون وفورات قدرها 70 مليون درهم خلال عامٍ واحد

الإمارات العربية المتحدة: أعلنت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، أكبر شركة صناعية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة خارج قطاع النفط والغاز، اليوم عن تحقيق وفورات في التكلفة بقيمة 70 مليون درهم في العام 2018 وذلك من خلال تطبيق الآراء والمشاريع المقترحة من برنامج "اقتراحات الموظفين"  للتحسين المستمر،  وهي أعلى نسبة توفير تحققها الشركة منذ إطلاق البرنامج في العام 1981.

وقال عبد الله جاسم بن كلبان، العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم: "نؤمن في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بقدرات وآراء موظفينا في تحسين الكفاءة و تطوير العمليات، حيث أن الأفراد الأقرب إلى سير العمل هم الأمثل في تحديد فرص تحسين الكفاءة و وضع أفضل الحلول لتخطي التحديات التي تواجههم كل يوم. ويعد هذا البرنامج فرصة للموظفين لإثبات قدراتهم الفنية والمهنية و لتعزيز مبدأ الابتكار والتطوير المستمر في طور العمل."

 

وقد نجحت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في تحقيق الوفورات من خلال تقديم 38,037   اقتراحاً قدمها موظفو الشركة في برنامج "اقتراحات الموظفين" للتحسين المستمر، والتي بموجبها يقدّم الموظفين إقتراحاتهم بشأن التحسينات المحتملة في مجال عملهم وتنفيذ المعتمد منها. إضافة إلى ذلك، نفذت الشركة 201 مشروع من مشاريع التحسين التي نجم عنها تحقيق الباقي من وفورات التكلفة، وقد سُجلت هذه المشاريع من خلال برنامج "تميّز"، وهو برنامج تعاونيّ متعدد الوظائف تم إطلاقه في عام 2016 للموظفين المضطلعين بمهام إشرافية وغير إشرافية كوسيلة لحلّ المشكلات وإدخال التحسينات في الشركة.

 

وتشارك الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم نسبةً من الوفر في التكلفة الناجمة عن برنامج "اقتراحات الموظفين" وبرنامج "تميّز" مع الكوادر التي قدمت هذه الاقتراحات وساهمت في تنفيذها. ومنذ عام 1999 تلقّت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم ما يقارب نصف مليون اقتراح للتحسينات الفنية والتقنية، حيثُ نُفذ منها حوالي ربع مليون اقتراح (254.551) نجمَ عنها وفراً بواقع 345 مليون درهم. كما تدأب الشركة على تكريم إنجازات موظفيها أيضاً داخل الشركة في كل شهر وفي الفعاليات السنوية. وكانت ستة مشاريع من مشاريع برنامج "تميّز" قد فازت في عام 2018 بجوائز تكريم في النسخة العاشرة من مسابقة التحسين العالمي والابتكار المستمر في مختلف الفئات.

وبالإضافة إلى برامج الشركة الهادفة إلى إِشراك جميع الموظفين في التحسين المستمر، تمتلك الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم فريقاً متخصصاً بالتطوير التكنولوجي يركز على الابتكار من أجل تحسين تكنولوجيا العمليات الأساسية للشركة.

وعلى مدى أكثر من 25 عاماً، ركزت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم على تطوير تقنياتها الخاصة لصهر الألمنيوم كما استخدمت تقنيتها الخاصة في جميع مشاريعها التوسعية منذ التسعينات، وأتمت الشركة مشروعاً كبيراً لإعادة تحديث جميع خطوط الإنتاج القديمة اعتماداً على أحدث تقنيتها، والتي تعد من بين أكثر التقنيات كفاءةً في صناعة الألمنيوم على المستوى العالمي.