Emirates Global Aluminium supports national talent through STEM

Walid Hassan AlHaddad, a 24 year old Emirati, knew he wanted to be an engineer as he always had a particular interest in engines and gas turbines. After graduating from university with an engineering degree, he embraced the opportunity to join Emirates Global Aluminium’s graduate program last year. Today, Walid is on his way to carving out a successful career path as a Graduate Trainee at EGA in Reduction, the department responsible for the company’s production of liquid metal.  

As an intern, the graduate program helped expand Walid’s knowledge on specialized topics in physics and thermodynamics and apply them in a real-world setting. For example, one of the first important mechanisms he learned on the job was to control the amount of energy released by the smelter to increase efficiency. Walid believes that the experience he gained at the program equipped him for his current role at EGA, where he primarily works on the preheating process of reduction cells.

Waleed said: “EGA has given me the opportunity to pursue my dreams of becoming an engineer and making a difference. The most valuable experience has been the hands-on work I’ve been exposed to at the graduate program which set the foundation for my career today. One great aspect about working at EGA is the fact that they invest in your development and open your eyes to different ways in which you can support the country’s goals as an Emirati in a STEM [science, technology, engineering and maths] field.”

The experience not only developed his technical skills and knowledge but has also made him aware of cultural norms and sensitivities. Working with a diverse team of people, Walid learned what it is like to work in an inclusive environment and solve problems and challenges in a collaborative way.

Walid is one of the more than 130 Emirati graduates currently on the graduate program. EGA’s commitment to Emiratisation is reflected by its strong local workforce, which includes almost 1,200 UAE Nationals. The company is focused on harnessing the full potential of national human capital, in line with the goals of ‘UAE Vision 2021’. It was also honoured for its contribution by His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the United Arab Emirates and Ruler of Dubai at the first edition of the UAE Emiratisation Awards, during a ceremony that took place recently in Abu Dhabi.

Another way in which EGA contributes to the development of young Emiratis is through its sponsorship program. Today, EGA sponsors over 150 nationals in their university studies and around 350 nationals have benefitted from sponsorships since 2001.

Mohammad AlRamahi, a 20 year old, is just one of the young Emiratis who is currently on a scholarship sponsored by EGA. He is an engineering student at the American University of Sharjah and hopes to one day kick-start his career as a Power Engineer at EGA.

Mohammad said: “I’m honoured to receive this scholarship opportunity from EGA, which has motivated me to focus on attaining my career goals. I believe that studying a STEM subject allows students to excel and innovate in the fields that they enjoy and accomplish meaningful changes to our future.  I’m excited to contribute to a society which is constantly being shaped by new technologies and innovations.  By pursuing a STEM major, I hope that one day I can support the UAE in achieving its goals and give back to my country.”

What attracts Mohammad to EGA is the fact that it provides its employees and trainees with all the necessary skills and knowledge required to achieve their goals. For instance, employees have opportunities to attend seminars and lectures whose sole purpose is to keep them updated with the latest technologies and studies conducted. During his summer training at EGA, which is offered to all sponsored students, Mohammad was invited to attend a seminar where employees from the electrical maintenance department shared their experience on working in the field and discussed Power System Protection. The opportunity motivated him to one day pursue a career at EGA.

Mohammad has also noticed the increase in students pursuing STEM education, like him. “STEM has become integrated in our daily life and as a result, there is a constant demand for STEM majors. Every year, many students apply for a STEM major which shows that more and more young people want to contribute to the UAE’s future in this way.”

الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تدعم الكفاءات الوطنية من خلال برامج العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات

وليد حسن الحداد، إماراتي يبلغ من العمر 24 عاماً، كان يريد منذ صغره أن يصبح مهندساً، حيث نمى لديه اهتمام خاص بالمحركات والتوربينات الغازية. وتمكن وليد من تحقيق حلمه والحصول على شهادة جامعية في الهندسة، وليد التحق ببرنامج تدريب الخريجين لدى شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، وهو يتقدم اليوم في مسار مهني ناجح ليصبح خبيراً في قسم الاختزال في الشركة .
والواقع أن انضمام وليد كخريج متدرب مكنه من توسيع نطاق معرفته في العديد من المواضيع المتخصصة في مجالات الفيزياء والديناميكات الحرارية وأتاح له تطبيقها على أرض الواقع في بيئة عمل حقيقية. فمثلًا كانت إحدى أولى الآليات المهمة التي تعلمها وليد خلال فترة تدريبه، هي زيادة كفاءة مصهر الألمنيوم وذلك بالتحكم بكمية الطاقة التي يطلقها. ويرى وليد أن التجربة التي اكتسبها في البرنامج أعدته جيدًا ليتولى عمله الحالي في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، إذ اصبح يشرف اليوم على عملية التسخين المسبق لخلايا الاختزال.

وقال وليد:  "منحتني شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم فرصة  تطبيق ما تعلمته في كلية الهندسة والمشاركة في الإنتاج فعلًا. كانت التجربة العملية التي مارستها في البرنامج التدريبي حجر الأساس الذي ترتكز عليه مهنتي اليوم، فمن الجوانب التي تمتاز بها الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم أنها تستثمر في تدريب وتطوير الشباب وتمكنهم مهنياً للمساهمة في تحقيق أهداف هذا الوطن وبناء اقتصاد قائم على المعرفة".

إلا أن ما استفاده وليد في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم لا يقتصر على تطوير مهاراته التقنية فحسب، بل أضافت إلى ذلك أيضًا تنمية الحس الإنساني والتعامل مع الغير، واكتسب ذلك من خلال عمله مع فريق من مختلف الجنسيات مع خلفياتها الثقافية المختلفة، مما مكنته من اكتساب الخبرة والقدرة على حل المشاكل وتجاوز تحدياتها في إطار تعاوني.

والواقع أن وليد هو واحدٌ من بين أكثر من 130 خريجاً إماراتياً استفادوا من برنامج تدريب الخريجين لدى الشركة. ويظهر واضحاً التزام الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بتوطين الوظائف من خلال توظيفها لقوة عمل ضخمة من المواطنين تصل إلى نحو 1200 مواطن إماراتي. وتركز الشركة على الاستفادة من الإمكانيات الكاملة للقوى البشرية الوطنية وفق الأهداف التي تحددها رؤية الإمارات الوطنية 2021، وأهلها ذلك لتحظى بتكريم صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم نائب رئيس الدولة رئيس مجلس الوزراء حاكم دبي على جهودها المثمرة في هذا المجال، الذي منحها جائزة التوطين الإماراتية في دورتها الأولى خلال حفل أقيم في العاصمة أبوظبي.

وتقدم شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم مبادرات أخرى لتطوير قدرات الشباب الإماراتيين، منها برنامج الرعاية، وهي ترعى اليوم أكثر من 150 مواطنًا عن طريق تمويل دراستهم الجامعية، واستفاد من هذا البرنامج منذ العام 2001 حتى الآن نحو 350 مواطناً، منهم محمد الرماحي، وعمره 20 عاماً وهو أحد الشباب الإماراتيين الذين حصلوا على منحة دراسية من الشركة للتخصص في  مجال الهندسة من الجامعة الأمريكية في الشارقة.

حيث عبَر الرماحي قائلاً: "شرفني الحصول على هذه المنحة الدراسية من شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم والتي تدفعني إلى التركيز على تحقيق أهدافي المهنية،  وأرى أن دراسة مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات تتيح للطلاب التفوق والابتكار في مجالات سيستمتعون بها وسيكون لها تأثيراً كبيراً على مستقبلنا. أشعر بحماس بالغ للإسهام في تقدم مجتمع يتطور بإستمرار من خلال التقنيات والابتكارات الجديدة. وآمل أن أتمكن في المستقبل القريب من دعم رؤية الإمارات 2021 ورد بعض من الجميل الذي قدمته لنا الدولة."

ولعل أكثر ما يجذب محمد للعمل في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم أنها تقدم لموظفيها والمتدربين فيها الفرصة لإكتساب المهارات والمعرفة اللازمة لتحقيق أهدافهم. وعلى سبيل المثال  لا الحصر، تشجع الشركة الموظفين بإستمرار على المشاركة في الندوات والمحاضرات والمؤتمرات وذلك بهدف إطلاعهم على أحدث التقنيات والدراسات في مجالاتهم،  فقد دُعي محمد خلال فترة تدريبه الصيفي لحضور ندوة شارك فيها فنيون من قسم الصيانة الكهربائية لعرض خبرتهم في هذا المجال ومناقشة حماية شبكة الطاقة، وحفزته هذه التجربة على الانخراط في متابعة مساره المهني ضمن شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم.

كما لاحظ محمد أن هناك زيادة إيجابية في لعدد الطلاب الذين يتابعون تعلم العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات، وقال: "لقد أصبحت مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات متكاملة في حياتنا اليومية، ونتيجة لذلك، هناك طلبات دائمة للحصول على مقعد دراسي من الخريجين للإلتحاق بهذه التخصصات."