EGA engages all staff in energy efficiency during weeklong environment campaign

United Arab Emirates: Emirates Global Aluminium, the largest industrial company in the United Arab Emirates outside oil and gas, is this week calling on all its 7,000 employees to find ways to reduce energy consumption during its annual Environment Week campaign.

Producing aluminium is energy intensive and EGA has focused on research and development for more than 25 years to improve the energy efficiency of its smelting process.

However all employees have a role to play in reducing energy consumption, as simple actions like switching the lights off overnight in an office can, over a year, save greenhouse emissions equivalent to those generated by driving from Abu Dhabi to Muscat.

During the week EGA will host a workshop to develop new energy efficiency initiatives for experts from the company and the Ministry of Climate Change and Environment. EGA will also plant trees at its head office in Al Taweelah.

Salman Abdulla, Executive Vice President HSSEQ and Business Transformation at EGA, said, “Our business is energy-intensive, making energy one of our biggest costs and sources of environmental emissions. Whilst technology development has driven significant improvements in our energy efficiency, seemingly small actions like switching off computers at the end of the day can add up to big reductions if we all do them. That’s the message of Environment Week, and we hope our employees take it home with them too.”

EGA’s technology development, and earlier work since 1980, has reduced the amount of electricity required to produce each tonne of aluminium by 37.5 per cent.

EGA has natural gas-fired power plants at its sites in Jebel Ali and Al Taweelah to produce the electricity it needs for its industrial operations. EGA is the third largest power producer in the UAE after ADWEA and DEWA.

الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تشجع موظفيها على تعزيز كفاءة استخدام الطاقة

الإمارات العربية المتحدة: أعلنت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، أكبر شركة صناعية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة خارج قطاع النفط والغاز، عن انطلاق حملتها السنوية "أسبوع البيئة"، حيث تسعى الشركة إلى تشجيع موظفيها البالغ عددهم 7000 موظف على إيجاد طرق مبتكرة للحد من استهلاك الطاقة، وتعزيز كفاءة استخدامها.

وفيما تتطلب عملية إنتاج الألمنيوم استهلاكاً كثيفاً للطاقة، ركزت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم على البحث والتطوير على مدى أكثر من 25 عاماً بهدف تحسين كفاءة استخدام الطاقة في عملية صهر الألمنيوم.

يأتي ذلك انطلاقاً من إيمان شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بالدور الهام الذي يلعبه جميع الموظفين، والذي يسهم في الحد من استهلاك الطاقة، حيث يمكن لإجراء بسيط مثل فصل الإضاءة عن المكتب خلال ليلة واحدة على مدار عام، من تقليص انبعاثات الغازات الدفيئة بما يعادل الانبعاثات الناجمة عن قيادة سيارة من أبوظبي إلى مسقط.

وخلال الأسبوع، ستنظم شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم ورشة عمل لتطوير مبادرات جديدة تستهدف تعزيز كفاءة الطاقة بمشاركة خبراء من الشركة ووزارة التغيّر المناخي والبيئة، كما ستقوم الشركة بزراعة عدد من الأشجار في مقرها الرئيسي في منطقة الطويلة.

ومن جانبه، قال سلمان داوود عبد الله، نائب الرئيس التنفيذي لقطاع الصحة والسلامة والأمن والبيئة والجودة وتطوير الأعمال في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم: "تعتمد عمليات الشركة إلى حد كبير على الطاقة الكثيفة، ومن ثم فإن كفاءة استخدام الطاقة تمثل أولوية كبيرة للشركة ضمن جهودها لتقليل التكاليف وتقليص الانبعاثات البيئية، وقد أسهم تركيز الشركة على تطوير التكنولوجيا في تحسين كفاءة الطاقة، إلا أن الإجراءات البسيطة مثل فصل التيار الكهربائي عن أجهزة الكمبيوتر في نهاية اليوم، يسهم بشكل كبير في دعم جهودنا للحد من استخدام الطاقة، وهو ما يشكل رسالة وهدف أسبوع البيئة، والتي نطمح أن تصل على جميع موظفينا".

الجدير بالذكر أن تطوير تكنولوجيا الشركة منذ ثمانينات القرن الماضي قد أسهم في تقليص كمية الكهرباء اللازمة لإنتاج كل طن من الألمنيوم بنسبة 37.5%، وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، تعد شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم ثالث أكبر منتج للطاقة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة بعد هيئة مياه وكهرباء أبوظبي وهيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي، حيث تمتلك الشركة محطات طاقة تعمل بالغاز الطبيعي في مواقعها في جبل علي و الطويلة، لتوليد الكهرباء التي تحتاجها لعملياتها الصناعية.