EGA survey reveals the importance of leadership for UAE organisations looking to increase innovation

  • 74% of UAE workers feel as though they have a personal responsibility to innovate as part of their job
  • 59% of UAE workers said they had an innovative idea in the past year but were unsure of how to submit it or whom to tell

United Arab Emirates: A study commissioned by Emirates Global Aluminium, the largest industrial company in the United Arab Emirates outside oil and gas, has shown that leadership teams within the country’s organisations hold the key to unlocking more innovation from their workforce.

The good news for organisations across the UAE is that employees feel as though they have a personal responsibility to support their employers by coming up with innovative new ways of working. Nearly three quarters (74%) agreed that this was something that should simply be expected of them at their places of work.

Key to organisations wishing to unlock innovation is having clear and engaging schemes for gathering ideas from around the business, according to the survey.

Despite employees’ strong commitment to innovation, many reported that they did not feel empowered to innovate. More than half of all respondents (59%) said they had an innovative idea in the past year, but were unsure of how to submit or whom to tell. Additionally, 37% believed senior management would not value one of their ideas even if it was put into practice, and another 40% reported that their organisations do not give them the freedom to suggest new ideas. These findings reveal that many members of staff want to contribute to their companies, but do not feel as though they work in an environment which encourages their participation.

If senior leadership succeeded in creating a more welcoming environment, employees would be motivated to contribute, they said. The vast majority of workers, some 89 per cent, felt they would be more motivated to innovate at work if they knew they would be personally recognised by their CEOs and thanked for their contribution. This is particularly true of the youngest members of the workforce, people between 18-24 years old, who said they would be most motivated (90 per cent) by this gesture.

Abdulla Kalban, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer at EGA, said: “We have focused on creating an innovation culture at EGA as we believe it is a foundation upon which any successful organisation is built. Essential to this is having an engaged and enthused workforce. What we have seen in this research is that there is a clear onus on leadership teams to help coax this innovation out of their staff.

“Harnessing the full potential of the human capital available to us, I am calling on all business leaders to challenge themselves to help foster an environment of innovation within their own organisation.”

While financial benefits are seen as being the most effective way of rewarding staff according to 73 per cent of respondents, the same percentage of staff believe those rewards should be shared equally among all employees across the organisation.

That sense of teamwork is also a powerful motivator. Over half of respondents (64%) said they would be more motivated to submit innovative ideas if they knew they would be recognised in front of their peers.

EGA first launched its own employee suggestion scheme in 1981 to help capture creative thinking that could benefit the organisation.

Last year alone some 34,000 ideas were submitted by employees, with 42,000 ideas implemented including ideas from previous years. That means on average, each EGA employee suggested almost eight ideas last year.

Total savings for EGA from improvements suggested by employees was AED36 million. Savings from suggestions are shared with the employees who make them.

EGA also recognises the best individual suggestions each month and at an annual company-wide event. The best suggestions are reviewed by a senior judging panel led by EGA’s Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer.

Larger ideas, with the potential to generate bigger improvements, are analysed and implemented by focused teams at EGA under a scheme the company calls Tamayaz. Since October 2016, over 140 of these projects have already generated savings of AED 4.4 million. Savings from these projects are also shared with the teams that work on them.

EGA has used its own technology for every smelter expansion since the 1990s, including the construction of Al Taweelah in Abu Dhabi, which was the world’s largest single-site smelter when it was completed.

In 2016, EGA became the first UAE industrial company to license its own large-scale industrial technology internationally.

نتائج استطلاع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تسلط الضوء على دور الإدارة العليا للشركات في تعزيز الابتكار في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة

 

  • 74% من العاملين في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة لديهم حس بالمسؤولية تجاه المساهمة في الابتكار من خلال أعمالهم
  • 59% من العاملين في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة أجابوا أنه كانت لديهم أفكاراً مبتكرة في العام الماضي لكنهم لم يعرفوا كيف وإلى من يقدمونها
الإمارات العربية المتحدة: أظهرت الدراسة التي أجرتها شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، أكبر شركة صناعية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة خارج قطاع النفط والغاز، أن فرق إدارة الشركات الإماراتية تمتلك أهم المقومات لفتح أفق الابتكار من خلال تشجيع القوى العاملة.
ولحسن الحظ، يشعر الموظفون لدى الشركات في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة بحس المسؤولية لتمكين أصحاب العمل من مواكبة أحدث الطرق المبتكرة من خلال عملهم. ويعتبر حوالي ثلاثة أرباع الموظفين (74%) أن التحسين المستمر هو شيء متوقع منهم في أماكن عملهم.
لاحظنا من خلال الاستفتاء أن وجود خطط واضحة وبرامج تفاعلية لجمع الأفكار في جميع مجالات العمل تعد من أهم الأسس التي يتعين اتباعها من قبل المؤسسات التي ترغب في إطلاق الابتكار والإبداع لدى موظفيها.
وعلى الرغم من التزام الموظفين بتعزيز الابتكار إلا أنهم لم يحصلوا على المساعدة لتحقيق ذلك إذ قال أكثر من نصف المشاركين في الاستطلاع (59٪) أنه كانت لديهم فكرة مبتكرة في العام الماضي، لكنهم لم يعرفوا كيف وإلى من يقدمونها. إضافة إلى ذلك، أجاب 37٪ أن الإدارة العليا لن تقدر قيمة أي فكرة مقدمة من قبلهم حتى لو تم تنفيذها على أرض الواقع، في حين أفاد 40٪ آخرون بأن شركاتهم لا تمنحهم الحرية لاقتراح أفكار جديدة. وتكشف هذه النتائج أن العديد من الموظفين يرغبون في المساهمة بتطوير الشركات التي يعملون لديها لكنهم لا يشعرون أن محيطهم يشجعهم على القيام بذلك.
مما لا شك فيه أن الموظفين سيكون لديهم الدافع للمساهمة في تطوير شركاتهم في حال نجحت الإدارة العليا لهذه الشركات في خلق بيئة أكثر ترحيباً على القيام بهذه الخطوة حيث يرى معظم العاملين، حوالي 89 بالمائة، أنه سيكون لديهم الحافز على الابتكار في مجال عملهم في حال عرفوا أن الرؤساء التنفيذيين سيقرون بجدوى أفكارهم وسوف يشكرونهم على مساهمتهم. وينطبق ذلك خصيصاً على الأفراد الأصغر سناً من الفئة العاملة والذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 18 و24 عاماً، إذ يرى 90 بالمائة منهم أن هذه الإجراءات سوف تشجعهم على الابتكار.
وفي معرض تعليقه على نتائج هذا الاستطلاع، قال عبد الله كلبان، العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم: "لقد ركزنا على خلق ثقافة الابتكار والتطوير المستمر في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم لأننا نؤمن بأنها الركائز الأساسية لنجاح أي شركة وتلعب القوى العاملة دوراً رئيسياً في تحقيق الابتكار عندما تتلقى التشجيع المناسب. لقد أوضحت لنا نتائج الاستطلاع المسؤولية أن فرق الإدارة العليا تتحمل مسؤولية كبيرة لتشجيع طاقم العمل على الابتكار".
وأضاف: "وأنا بدوري أدعو جميع قادة الشركات إلى إطلاق العنان لإمكانيات الكوادر البشرية الموجودة لديهم بهدف توفير بيئة عمل محفزة على الابتكار والتحسين المستمر ضمن شركاتهم".
ويرى 73 بالمائة من المشاركين في الاستطلاع أن تقديم المكافآت المالية هي من أكثر الطرق كفاءة في تشجيع طاقم العمل على الابتكار بينما يؤمن آخرون أن هذه المكافآت يجب أن توزع بشكل عادل بين جميع الموظفين في الشركة.
ويُصنف أيضاً حس العمل الجماعي من الدوافع القوية المشجعة على الابتكار. فقد أجاب أكثر من نصف المشاركين في الاستطلاع (64%) أن عرض أفكارهم المقترحة أمام زملائهم في العمل سوف يشجعهم على الابتكار.
وكانت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم قد أطلقت برنامجها الخاص "مقترحات الموظفين" عام 1981 لمساعدة الشركة في تحفيز التفكير الإبداعي الذي قد يعود على المنظمة بالفائدة والتطوّر.  في العام الماضي وحده، تم تقديم حوالي 34،000 فكرة من قبل الموظفين، وتنفيذ 42،000 فكرة بما في ذلك الأفكار التي نفذت منها في السنوات السابقة. مما يعني أن متوسط الأفكار التي اقترحها كل موظف في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم يصل إلى ثمانية أفكار تقريباً في العام الماضي.
وبلغت قيمة الأموال التي وفرتها شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم نتيجة للتطويرات التي اقترحها الموظفين 36 مليون درهم إماراتي. وتتم مشاركة الأموال التي يتم توفيرها نتيجة لتلك المقترحات مع الموظفين الذين اقترحوها.
وتواصل شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم اختيار أفضل الاقتراحات الفردية المقدمة في كل شهر وتعرضها أمام الجميع في فعالية سنوية. ثم تُدرس أفضل الاقتراحات المقدمة من قبل لجنة تحكيم عليا يُشرف عليها المدير التنفيذي والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم.
تُحلل أهم الأفكار القادرة على إحداث تطوير كبير في الشركة وتنفذ من قبل الفرق المشكلة خصيصاً لهذا الغرض بموجب خطة الشركة التي يطلق عليها اسم "تمايز". ونجحت الشركة في تنفيذ أكثر من 140 مشروعاً مقترحاً منذ شهر أكتوبر من العام 2016، وهذا ما ساعدها في توفير 4.4 مليون درهم. وبالمثل، وزعت المبالغ التي تم توفيرها من هذه المشاريع على فرق العمل المشاركة فيها.
ونجحت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم منذ تسعينيات القرن الماضي في تصميم وتطوير التقنيات المطلوبة لتطوير المصهر بما في ذلك أعمال تأسيس موقع الطويلة في أبوظبي والذي اُعتبر من أضخم المصاهر الأحادية في العالم عند تنفيذه.
وتحولت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم عام 2016 إلى أول شركة صناعية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة تحصل على ترخيص لتقنياتها الصناعية المستخدمة على نطاق واسع في مختلف دول العالم.