EGA’s Guinea bauxite mining project reaches 50 per cent construction completion

Project on-track for first bauxite exports during the second half of 2019

United Arab Emirates: Emirates Global Aluminium, the largest industrial company in the United Arab Emirates outside oil and gas, today announced that its project to develop a bauxite mine and associated export facilities in the Republic of Guinea, West Africa, has reached 50 per cent construction completion.

More than 4,000 Guineans, 90 per cent from the Boké region, are currently working to construct the Guinea Alumina Corporation project. GAC has a total budgeted project cost of approximately $1.4 billion. First bauxite exports are expected during the second half of 2019.

Once full ramp-up is achieved, the project is expected to produce some 12 million tonnes of bauxite per year and employ some 1,000 people directly and as contractors.

GAC is a wholly-owned subsidiary of EGA. The project is one of the largest greenfield investments in Guinea in the past 40 years and will be a new global source of bauxite supply.

Bauxite is the ore from which aluminium is derived. Guinea has more than seven billion tonnes of bauxite resources, over a quarter of the world's total. Much of Guinea's bauxite is amongst the highest quality worldwide.

GAC’s mining concession covers an area of 690 square kilometres and contains one of the largest bauxite deposits in Guinea. The concession is located in the Boké region of north-western Guinea, close to existing mines that are operated by other companies.

Bauxite is found close to the surface of low plateaus in the mining concession. Mining is planned to be a drill-and-blast operation within open pits, with plateaus developed and remediated sequentially during the life of the mining operation.

Extracted bauxite will be transported by rail to Kamsar port, some 70 kilometres away, using existing railway lines that are already used by other mining companies. GAC is building rail loops and spurs to connect its mine and loading facilities to the existing railway line.

At the port, bauxite will be transported by a 5.3 kilometre-long conveyor system along a jetty and loaded onto barges. Kamsar is located on the river Nunez some 17 kilometres from the open sea and is inaccessible for the world’s largest vessels. The ore will be transshipped to ocean-going vessels at a floating transfer point.

EGA is also building the UAE’s first alumina refinery at Al Taweelah in Abu Dhabi. First alumina is expected during the first half of 2019. Alumina, which is refined from bauxite, is the feedstock for aluminium smelters. Al Taweelah alumina refinery is expected to meet 40 per cent of EGA’s alumina needs once full ramp-up is achieved.

EGA has signed an agreement with Compagnie des Bauxites de Guinée for the supply of bauxite for Al Taweelah alumina refinery.

GAC is also investing to support communities near its operations in Guinea, opening community health centres, installing water wells, building schools, providing adult literacy and vocational training, and assisting with agricultural development.

"الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم" تنجز 50% من أعمال إنشاء منجم البوكسيت في غينيا

أعمال تنفيذ المشروع تسير وفق الجدول الزمني المحدد ومن المتوقع تصدير أول شحنة بوكسيت خلال النصف الثاني من 2019

 

الإمارات العربية المتحدة: أعلنت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، أكبر شركة صناعية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة خارج قطاع النفط والغاز، اليوم عن إنجاز 50 بالمئة من أعمال إنشاء مشروع منجم البوكسيت ومرافق التصدير المرتبطة به في جمهورية غينيا بغرب أفريقيا.

ويعمل حالياً أكثر من 4000 عامل غيني- 90%منهم من مدينة بوكي- على إنجاز مشروع "غينيا ألومينا كوربوريشن" الذي تبلغ تكلفته الإجمالية حوالي 1.4 مليار دولار، ومن المتوقع تصدير أول شحنة بوكسيت من المشروع خلال النصف الثاني من العام 2019.

وبمجرد دخول المشروع حيز التشغيل الكامل، من المتوقع أن تبلغ طاقته الإنتاجية حوالي 12 مليون طن من البوكسيت سنوياً، وأن يصل تعداد القوى العاملة فيه إلى نحو 1000 موظف كمتعاقدين مباشرين ومقاولين.

وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن مشروع "غينيا ألومينا كوربوريشن" هو شركة تابعة ومملوكة بالكامل لشركة "الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم". ويعتبر هذا المشروع أحد أكبر مشاريع الاستثمار الصناعي الجديد التي تشهدها جمهورية غينيا منذ ما يزيد على 40 عاماً، وسيصبح عند اكتماله مصدراً عالمياً جديداً لإمدادات البوكسيت.

وتمتاز غينيا بامتلاكها أكثر من 7 مليارات طن من موارد البوكسيت- المادة الخام الرئيسية التي يُستخلص منها الألمنيوم- أي ما يزيد على ربع إجمالي الاحتياطي العالمي من هذه المادة، كما يشتهر البوكسيت الغيني بكونه أحد أكثر منتجات البوكسيت جودة على مستوى العالم.

وتغطي منطقة التعدين التابعة لشركة "غينيا ألومينا كوربوريشن" في مدينة بوكي الواقعة شمال غرب غينيا، مساحة تبلغ 690 كيلومتراً مربعاً، وتحتوي على أحد أضخم احتياطيات رواسب البوكسيت في غينيا. ويتميز المشروع بموقعه الاستراتيجي بالقرب من المناجم القائمة في المنطقة والتي تديرها شركات تعدين أخرى.

ويتواجد البوكسيت بالقرب من أسطح الهضاب المنخفضة في منطقة التعدين التي تعمل فيها الشركة. ومن المقرر أن تتم عملية التعدين بطريقة الحفر والتفجير داخل الحُفَر المفتوحة، على أن تجري عمليات تطوير ومعالجة الطبقات التي تحتوي على البوكسيت بشكل تتابعي خلال دورة حياة عملية التعدين.

وسيتم نقل البوكسيت المستخرج عبر خطوط السكك الحديدية القائمة التي تستخدمها شركات التعدين الأخرى، إلى ميناء كامسار الواقع على بعد حوالي 70 كيلومتراً من موقع المنجم. وتعمل شركة "غينيا ألومينا كوربوريشن" حالياً على بناء خط سكك حديدية لربط منجمها ومرافق التحميل التابعة لها مع خطوط السكك الحديدية الحالية.

وبمجرد وصول شحنات البوكسيت إلى الميناء، سيتم نقلها بواسطة الأحزمة الناقلة بطول 5.3 كيلومتر على امتداد الرصيف البحري للميناء، ومن ثم تحميلها على ظهر عبَّارات الشحن. ويقع ميناء كامسار على نهر نونيز على بعد 17 كيلومتراً من البحر المفتوح، ولا يمكن الوصول إليه من قبل أضخم السفن في العالم. وبالتالي، سيتم نقل خام البوكسيت بطريقة الشحن العابر (من سفينة إلى أخرى) عبر البحر إلى سفن الشحن التجارية الضخمة من خلال محطة للنقل العائم.

كما تعمل شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم على بناء أول مصفاة لتكرير الألومينا في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وذلك في منطقة الطويلة بأبوظبي، حيث من المتوقع دخولها حيز الإنتاج خلال النصف الأول من العام 2019. وبمجرد دخول المصفاة حيز التشغيل الكامل، من المتوقع أن تلبي 40 في المئة من احتياجات الشركة من مادة الألومينا التي تستخدم في تغذية مصاهر الألومنيوم بعد استخراجها من البوكسيت.

وكانت شركة "الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم" قد وقعت اتفاقية مع شركة البوكسيت الغينية لتوريد البوكسيت إلى مصفاة الطويلة لتكرير الألومينا.

وتلتزم شركة "غينيا ألومينا كوربوريشن" بمسؤوليتها الاجتماعية المؤسسية من خلال لعب دور فعال في دعم المجتمعات القريبة من عملياتها في جمهورية غينيا، حيث تعمل على فتح مراكز صحية مجتمعية، وتركيب آبار مياه، وبناء المدارس، وتوفير التعليم والتدريب المهني للشباب، إلى جانب دعم التنمية الزراعية.