EGA welcomes 30 UAE National students for summer internships in STEM

United Arab Emirates: Emirates Global Aluminium, the largest industrial company in the United Arab Emirates outside of oil and gas, will provide internships for 30 UAE National university and high school students this summer, giving them valuable work experience to enhance their career prospects.

EGA’s internship program is principally designed for young UAE Nationals studying science, technology, engineering and mathematics (which are collectively known as STEM). EGA employs more than 1,500 professionals in STEM fields including some 500 UAE Nationals.

‘UAE Vision 2021’ calls for improved educational attainment in science and mathematics and the development of a knowledge-based economy. In a study commissioned recently by EGA, 68 per cent of young people said that access to role models and internships would motivate them to pursue STEM-related careers.

Ahmed Al Shamsi, EGA’s Executive Vice President of Human Capital, said: “Early work experience can have an important influence on a student’s career choices. We hope that many of this year’s interns will choose to pursue STEM careers in the UAE’s industries, and perhaps even join some of their predecessors as EGA employees one day.”

EGA has been running its summer internship programme for more than 20 years. 

EGA’s 2018 summer internship programme runs from mid-July to mid-August, and will give students an opportunity to work at EGA’s industrial operations and in head office departments.

Ahmad Sadiq Ahmad, now a graduate trainee in EGA’s Capital Projects department, said: “My summer internship at EGA in 2016 was a valuable learning experience that opened my eyes to the opportunity of a STEM career in industry. After completing my studies I joined EGA as an engineer, and feel that I am now making a tangible and material contribution to the development of the UAE. I’m proud of what I do.” 

EGA currently employs more than 1,200 UAE Nationals in total. The company aims to Emiratise 40 per cent of in-focus positions by 2020. EGA finished 2017 with 37.6 per cent Emiratisation, a record for the company.

EGA is currently sponsoring more than 150 UAE Nationals in their university studies in STEM and other fields. EGA has sponsored more than 300 students through higher education since 2001.

EGA typically has some 120 graduate trainees, many from STEM disciplines enrolled in its 18-month graduate trainee programme at any time. Seven members of EGA’s Executive Committee originally joined EGA as fresh graduates.

 EGA also runs apprenticeship schemes for young UAE Nationals pursuing careers in technical roles.

The announcement of EGA’s summer internship program coincides with World Youth Skills day on July 15th. This United Nations designated day seeks to generate greater awareness of the importance of vocational education, training, technical and developmental skills relevant to both local and global economies.

ثلاثون طالباً إماراتياً يستعدون للالتحاق ببرنامج التدريب الصيفي في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم

الإمارات العربية المتحدة: أعلنت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، أكبر شركة صناعية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة خارج قطاع النفط والغاز، عن توفير التدريب العملي لـ 30 طالباً إماراتياً من المدارس الثانوية والجامعات هذا الصيف، بهدف منحهم الخبرة العملية القيمة التي من شأنها تعزيز آفاقهم المهنية.

صممت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم برنامج التدريب العملي خصيصاً للطلاب الإماراتيين ممن يدرسون اختصاصات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. ويعمل في الشركة ما يزيد عن 1500 من المختصين في تلك المجالات، حوالي 500 منهم مواطنين إماراتيين.

تهدف رؤية 2021 لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة إلى تحسين فرص التحصيل العلمي في مجالات العلوم والرياضيات وتطوير اقتصاد قائم على المعرفة. وأظهرت دراسة أجريت مؤخراً بتكليف من شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، أنّ 68 في المئة من الشباب يرون أن مقابلة خبراء المجال والحصول على فرص التدريب العملي سيحفزهم على اختيار المهن المرتبطة بمجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات.

وقال أحمد الشامسي، نائب الرئيس التنفيذي للموارد البشرية: "تمتلك الخبرة العملية تأثير كبير في اختيار الطلاب لمهنهم. ونأمل أن يختار المتدربين هذا العام مهن في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات في دولة الإمارات، وربما الانضمام إلى من سبقوهم ليصبحوا موظفين في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم يوماً ما".

توفر شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم برنامج التدريب العملي الصيفي منذ ما يزيد عن 20 عاماً. ويبدأ برنامج التدريب الصيفي لعام 2018 من منتصف يوليو ويستمر حتى منتصف أغسطس وسيتيح للطلاب فرصة العمل في أقسام العمليات الصناعية والأقسام الإدارية التابعة للمكتب الرئيسي في الشركة. كما تُنظم الشركة أيضاً برامج للتدريب المهني للشباب الإماراتي الباحث عن وظائف تقنية.

ومن جانبه قال أحمد صادق أحمد، وهو الآن خريج متدرب في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم: "كان تدريبي العملي الصيفي في الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في عام 2016 تجربة تعليمية قيّمة عرّفتني على أهمية الفرص المهنية في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات. وبدأت العمل بعد الانتهاء من دراستي كمهندس في الشركة وأشعر بأنني الآن أقدم مساهمة ملموسة وفاعلة في تطوير وتقدم دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وأنا فخور بما أفعله".

وتماشياً مع أهداف رؤية دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، المتمثلة في تسخير كافة الإمكانات للقوى العاملة الوطنية، يعمل في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم ما يزيد عن 1200 مواطن إماراتي. كما تستهدف الشركة الوصول بنسبة التوطين إلى 40٪ في الوظائف المحورية بحلول عام 2020، وأنهت الشركة عام 2017 بتحقيق رقم قياسي بتوطينها لنسبة 37.6٪ من موظفيها.

وتتكفل شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم حالياً برعاية أكثر من 150 مواطناً خلال دراستهم الجامعية في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات وغيرها، وتكفلت الشركة حتى اليوم بما يزيد عن 300 طالب في مراحل التعليم العالي منذ عام 2001.

إضافةً، تعمل شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم عادةً على تدريب 120 خريج سنوياً في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ضمن برنامج تدريبي يمتد لمدة 18 شهراً. والجدير بالذكر أن سبعة أعضاء من اللجنة التنفيذية في الشركة اليوم انضموا للشركة في البداية كخريجين جدد.  

ويتزامن الإعلان عن برنامج التدريب العملي الصيفي في مع اليوم العالمي لمهارات الشباب في 15 يوليو. ويهدف يوم الأمم المتحدة هذا إلى نشر الوعي بأهمية التعليم والتدريب المهني والمهارات التقنية والتطويرية المتعلقة بكلا الاقتصادين المحلي والعالمي.