EGA to supply Vedanta with Guinean bauxite

Long-term agreement signed in Delhi to provide Vedanta from 2019 with ore from which aluminium is derived

United Arab Emirates: Emirates Global Aluminium, the largest industrial company in the United Arab Emirates outside oil and gas, and Vedanta Limited today signed an agreement under which EGA will supply Vedanta from 2019 with bauxite from its mining project in the Republic of Guinea.

Abdulla Kalban, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of EGA, and Vedanta’s Chief Executive Officer of Diversified Metals Samir Cairae and Chief Executive Officer of Alumina and Power Ajay Dixit participated in a signing ceremony in New Delhi.

Bauxite is the ore from which aluminium is derived.

EGA’s wholly-owned subsidiary Guinea Alumina Corporation is building a bauxite mine and associated export facilities in Guinea, in one of the largest greenfield investments in the country in the past 40 years.

First bauxite exports from the GAC project are expected during the second half of 2019. Once full-ramp up is achieved, GAC is expected to produce some 12 million tonnes of bauxite per year.

Much of Guinea’s bauxite is amongst the highest quality worldwide.

Mr Kalban said: “When GAC starts production it will be a new source of high quality bauxite for the world’s aluminium industry, benefiting the economies of Guinea, the UAE and countries like India. This agreement with Vedanta is an important milestone in the development of this project, and we look forward to reliably supplying them with bauxite in the years ahead through safe and responsible operations at GAC.”

EGA supplied Vedanta with three sample shipments of bauxite from GAC in 2017, to enable testing of the ore in Vedanta’s alumina refinery. The sample shipments totalled approximately 150,000 tonnes.

EGA will ship the bauxite from Guinea to India using Capesize vessels, amongst the largest bulk cargo ships in the world.

GAC’s total budgeted project cost is approximately $1.4 billion.

EGA is also building an alumina refinery in Abu Dhabi, to refine bauxite ore into alumina which is the feedstock for aluminium smelters. Bauxite for EGA’s Al Taweelah alumina refinery will be supplied by Compagnie des Bauxites de Guinée under a separate agreement.

الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تزود شركة فيدانتا بالبوكسيت

توقيع اتفاقية طويلة الأمد في دلهي لتزويد شركة فيدانتا بالمعدن الخام بدءاً من عام 2019

الإمارات العربية المتحدة: وقعت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، أكبر شركة صناعية في الإمارات العربية المتحدة خارج قطاع النفط والغاز، اليوم اتفاقية مع شركة فيدانتا المحدودة، تورد بموجبها شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، البوكسيت المستخرج من منجم الشركة في غينيا إلى شركة فيدانتا بدءاً من عام 2019.

شهد حفل توقيع الاتفاقية في نيو دلهي، عبد الله جاسم بن كلبان العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، وسمير كايري المدير التنفيذي للمعادن المتنوعة في شركة فيدانتا، وأجاي ديكسيت المدير التنفيذي للألمنيوم والطاقة في شركة فيدانتا.

 وتقوم شركة غينيا ألومينا كوربوريشن، المملوكة بالكامل من شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، ببناء منجم البوكسيت والبنية التحتية المرتبطة به للتصدير في جمهورية غينيا في غرب إفريقيا، في إحدى أكبر عمليات الاستثمار التأسيسي في هذه الدولة على مدى 40 عاماً، ويعتبر البوكسيت المعدن الخام الذي يستخرج منه الألمنيوم.

ومن المتوقع أن تنطلق أولى عمليات تصدير البوكسيت من مشروع غينيا ألومينا خلال الربع الثاني من عام 2019. ومن المتوقع ان يصل إنتاج البوكسيت إلى ما يقارب 12 مليون طن سنوياً عند استقرار العمليات في هذه المنطقة، وتمتاز غينيا بالبوكسيت عالي الجودة والذي يعد من الأفضل في العالم.

وقال عبد الله جاسم بن كلبان، العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم: "سيسهم بدء عمليات الإنتاج في مشروع غينيا ألومينا في خلق مصدر جديد للبوكسيت عالي الجودة لدعم احتياجات صناعة الألمنيوم العالمية، مما يساهم بدور فاعل في تنمية اقتصادات جمهورية غينيا ودولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة ودول أخرى مثل الهند، وتشكل هذه الاتفاقية مع فيدانتا علامة بارزة في تطوير هذا المشروع، ونتطلع إلى إمدادهم بالبوكسيت بشكل موثوق خلال السنوات المقبلة من خلال عملياتنا الآمنة والمسؤولة في مؤسسة غينيا ألومينا كوربوريشن".

وخلال عام 2017، زودت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم شركة فيدانتا بثلاث شحنات من عينات البوكسيت من مؤسسة غينيا ألومينا كوربوريشن، لاختبار الخام في مصفاة الألومينا التابعة لفيدانتا، وبلغ مجموع شحنات العينات نحو 150 ألف طن.

وستشحن شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم البوكسيت من غينيا إلى الهند باستخدام سفن كاب سايز، والتي تعد من أكبر سفن شحن البضائع في العالم.

وتبلغ التكلفة الإجمالية لميزانية مشروع مؤسسة غينيا ألومينا كوربوريشن 1.4 مليار دولار تقريباً.

وتعمل شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم أيضا على بناء مصفاة للألومينا في أبو ظبي، وتعد الألومينا هي المادة الأولية الرئيسة لمصاهر الألمنيوم، ويتم تكريرها من خام البوكسيت. وسيتم توريد البوكسيت لمصفاة الألومينا في الطويلة من شركة "كومباني دي بوكسايتي دي جوينيه" في جمهورية غينيا بموجب اتفاقية منفصلة.