EGA signs agreement with VITO to assess use of industrial by-product in construction materials

Large volume construction products are one potential use for bauxite residue, a challenge for the global aluminium industry 

United Arab Emirates: Emirates Global Aluminium, the largest industrial company in the United Arab Emirates outside oil and gas, has signed an agreement with the European research and technology organisation VITO to assess the viability of using bauxite residue, an industrial by-product, in large volume construction materials.

VITO will work closely with experts at the University of Leuven in Belgium to assess the technical and commercial potential of using bauxite residue in the UAE in the manufacture of materials ranging from road base to cement and concrete, and even for refractory bricks for EGA’s own aluminium smelters.

Bauxite residue is a by-product of alumina refining - the process of turning bauxite ore into alumina which is the feedstock for aluminium smelters. EGA is constructing the first alumina refinery in the UAE, next to its Al Taweelah smelter in Abu Dhabi.

Although academic research has been conducted for decades on potential uses, most bauxite residue produced worldwide is still stored indefinitely as waste. Industry experts estimate that at least 150 million tonnes of bauxite residue are produced worldwide each year. It is thought that less than two percent of this is currently put to productive use.

While new productive uses are being developed, EGA will operate a dedicated bauxite residue storage site in line with current world-class best practice, about 30 kilometres inland from the coast in Khalifa Industrial Zone Abu Dhabi.

When Al Taweelah alumina refinery starts production, bauxite residue will be washed, pressed into a dry cake, and transported to the area for permanent managed storage. The site will eventually be covered and used for other industrial purposes.

Abdalla Alzarooni, EGA’s Vice President of Technology Development & Transfer said: “Using bauxite residue as the raw material for construction products is one potential solution we are investigating for bauxite residue. Finding viable uses for this by-product is a challenge for our industry globally, but we aim to reduce and even eliminate the need to store new bauxite residue in the longer term.”   

EGA is also working with The University of Queensland’s School of Agriculture and Food Sciences to investigate combining bauxite residue with agricultural and domestic wastes to create a soil for greening and other uses in the UAE.

الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم توقع اتفاقية مع شركة فيتو لتقييم إعادة استخدام البقايا الصناعية في مواد البناء

منتجات البناء كبيرة الحجم تعتبر أحد الاستخدامات المحتملة لبقايا البوكسيت، وهو ما يمثل تحدياً لقطاع صناعة الألمنيوم

 

الإمارات العربية المتحدة: وقعت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، أكبر شركة صناعية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة خارج قطاع النفط والغاز، اتفاقاً مع منظمة البحوث والتكنولوجيا الأوروبية المستقلة "فيتو" لتقييم جدوى استخدام بقايا البوكسيت، وهو منتج ثانوي صناعي، في مواد البناء كبيرة الحجم.

ستعمل منظمة البحوث والتكنولوجيا الأوروبية المستقلة بشكل وثيق مع خبراء جامعة لوفين البلجيكية، وذلك لتقييم الإمكانات التقنية والتجارية لاستخدام بقايا البوكسيت في دولة الإمارات لتصنيع مواد البناء، بدءاً من قواعد الطرق إلى الإسمنت والخرسانة، وحتى في مصاهر الطوب الحراري المخصصة للألمنيوم في الشركة.

وتعد بقايا البوكسيت منتج ثانوي خلال عملية تكرير الألومينا، العملية التي يتم فيها تحويل مادة البوكسيت الخام إلى الألومينا، وهي مواد أولية في مصاهر الألمنيوم. وتبني شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم أول مصفاة ألومينا في دولة الإمارات بالقرب من مصهر الطويلة في أبوظبي.

وعلى الرغم من إجراء العديد من البحوث الأكاديمية على مدى العقود الماضية حول الاستخدامات المحتملة، فإن معظم مخلفات البوكسيت المنتجة في جميع أنحاء العالم لا تزال مخزنة إلى أجل غير مسمى باعتبارها نفايات. ويقدر خبراء الصناعة أن العالم ينتج ما لا يقل عن 150 مليون طن من بقايا البوكسيت كل عام، كما يعتقد أن أقل من 2% من هذه البقايا يتم استخدامها بشكل فعّال حالياً.

وبالتزامن مع الوقت الذي يتم فيه تطوير استخدامات إنتاجية جديدة، ستخصص الشركة موقع لتخزين بقايا البوكسيت بما يتماشى مع أفضل الممارسات العالمية الحالية، وسيكون على بعد حوالي 30 كيلومتراً من الساحل في منطقة خليفة الصناعية في أبوظبي.

وعندما تبدأ مصفاة الطويلة للألومينا بعملية الإنتاج، سيتم غسل بقايا البوكسيت وضغطها في قالب جاف ونقلها إلى منطقة التخزين الدائم. وسيتم في نهاية المطاف تغطية الموقع واستخدامه لأغراض صناعية أخرى.

وقال عبد الله الزرعوني، نائب رئيس تطوير ونقل التكنولوجيا في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم: "استخدام بقايا البوكسيت كمواد خام لمنتجات البناء هو أحد الحلول المحتملة التي نختبرها وندرسها حالياً. تشكل عملية إيجاد استخدامات صالحة لهذا المنتج الثانوي تحدياً بالنسبة لصناعتنا على الصعيد العالمي، ولكننا نسعى إلى تقليل الحاجة إلى تخزين بقايا البوكسيت الجديدة على المدى الطويل، بل والقضاء عليها".

وتعمل شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم أيضاً مع كلية الزراعة والعلوم الغذائية بجامعة كوينزلاند على الجمع بين بقايا البوكسيت والنفايات الزراعية والمنزلية لتهيئة تربة صالحة للتخضير وللاستخدامات الأخرى في الدولة.