EGA vocational apprenticeship schemes approved by KHDA to be first at a UAE industrial company to lead to recognised qualifications

 

 

Young UAE Nationals pursuing EGA’s mechanical, electrical and instrumentation technician training programmes will soon be able to get qualifications that are recognised in Dubai

United Arab Emirates: Emirates Global Aluminium, the largest industrial company in the United Arab Emirates outside oil and gas, will become the first industrial company to offer vocational training programmes that will lead to qualifications recognised across Dubai, after the Knowledge and Human Development Authority licensed EGA’s Technical Training Institute.

Three of EGA’s National Trainee Apprenticeship Schemes for young UAE Nationals will lead to the qualifications. The programmes are for UAE Nationals starting careers as mechanical, electrical and instrumentation technicians.

EGA has been running the three National Trainee Apprenticeship Schemes since 1982 and has graduated over 500 technicians since then. Many have gone on to pursue successful careers at EGA and other industrial companies in the UAE, but they have not previously received recognised qualifications.

Completing an EGA National Trainee Apprenticeship Scheme takes three years and consists of classroom and on-the-job training.

Dr. Abdulla Al Karam, Chairman of the Board of Directors and Director General at the Knowledge and Human Development Authority (KHDA), visited EGA’s Technical Training Institute at Jebel Ali to formally confer the Educational Permit, accompanied by Dr. Naji Almahdi, Chief of Qualifications and Awards at KHDA. They were received by EGA’s Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer Abdulla Kalban.

Dr. Karam said: “By encouraging skill development and recognising qualifications we are working towards developing human capital that meets the needs of our knowledge economy. This important milestone will count towards the development of our national workforce and create new opportunities for UAE’s youth.”

Mr. Kalban said: “EGA’s performance and growth is driven by our workforce, so we have spent decades focusing on training and development. Apprenticeship schemes for UAE Nationals are a key way to attract young people into our industry and prepare them for vital technical roles. Licensing is recognition of the quality of our apprenticeship schemes in developing talent for our own company and to build our national human capital.”

EGA’s management training programmes are already accredited by the Institute of Leadership and Management, a part of City and Guilds, a global accrediting body.

Around 2,500 staff attend management training courses at EGA each year, from graduates to executive leaders.

EGA has 30 trainers who provide technical training for staff at all levels on the company’s operational sites, including for apprentices on the three apprenticeship schemes and others that EGA runs.

EGA employs around 7,000 people in the UAE including almost 1,200 UAE Nationals.

More than 40 per cent of those holding the top 280 positions in the company as well as more than a third of the more than 1,800 people in EGA’s supervisory positions and above are UAE Nationals.

الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم أول شركة صناعية إماراتية تقدم برامج التدريب المهني المعتمدة من قبل هيئة المعرفة والتنمية البشرية

الشباب الإماراتي الساعي لحضور هذه البرامج التدريبية سيكون بإمكانهم الحصول على اعتمادات معترف بها في دبي

 

الإمارات العربية المتحدة: ستصبح شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، أكبر شركة صناعية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة خارج قطاع النفط والغاز، أول شركة صناعية تقدم برامج التدريب المهني التي تخوّل حامل شهادتها للحصول على اعتمادات معترف بها في إمارة دبي، وذلك بعد حصول معهد شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم على ترخيص هيئة المعرفة والتنمية البشرية.

وستقدم الشركة ثلاثة من برامج التدريب المهني الوطني المعتمدة للشباب المؤهلين الإماراتيين. وخُصصت هذه البرامج لمواطني الدولة ليتمكنوا من بدء حياتهم المهنية كفنيين في المجال الميكانيكي والكهربائي والآلي.

وتدير شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم برامج التدريب المهني الوطني منذ العام 1982، وتخرج منها أكثر من 500 فنّي حتى الآن. وتابع العديد منهم حياتهم المهنية الناجحة في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم أو في الشركات الصناعية الأخرى في دولة الإمارات، لكنهم لم يحصلوا قبل ذلك على هذه الشهادات المعتمدة.

ويستغرق استكمال برنامج التدريبي الوطني ثلاث سنوات، ويضم جلسات تدريب نظرية في الفصول الدراسية وعملية أثناء العمل.

وزار الدكتور عبد الله الكرم، رئيس مجلس المديرين ومدير عام هيئة المعرفة والتنمية البشرية، بزيارة معهد التدريب الفني التابع لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في جبل علي، وذلك لتقديم التصريح التعليمي الرسمي بحضور الدكتور ناجي المهدي، رئيس الجهة المانحة للمؤهلات في هيئة المعرفة والتنمية البشرية. وكان في استقبال الضيفين عبد الله جاسم بن كلبان، الرئيس التنفيذي والعضو المنتدب في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم.

وقال الدكتور عبد الله الكرم: "نعمل على تطوير رأس المال البشري الذي يلبي احتياجات اقتصادنا المعرفي من خلال تشجيع تنمية المهارات وتقدير المؤهلات. كما يعد هذا الحدث خطوة مهمة نحوتطوير القوى العاملة الوطنية وخلق فرصٍ جديدةٍ للشباب الإماراتي".

وقال السيد عبد الله بن كلبان: "تلعب القوى العاملة في شركتنا دوراً أساسياً في أداء الشركة ونموها، لذا فقد أمضينا عقوداً طويلة في التركيز على برامج التدريب والتطوير. وتعتبر برامج التدريب المهني المخصصة لمواطني الدولة وسيلة رئيسية لجذب الشباب إلى صناعتنا وإعدادهم لاستلام مناصب تقنية ومهمة. إن حصولنا على هذا الترخيص هو اعتراف بجودة برامجنا المهنية وقدرتها على تطوير المواهب وبناء رأس المال البشري الوطني".

ويخضع نحو 2,500 موظفاً لدى الشركة للتدريب الإداري سنوياً بدءاً من الخريجين الجدد وحتى المدراء التنفيذيين. كما تمتاز برامج التدريب الفني لدى الشركة بأنها معتمدة ومصدقة محلياً من قبل معهد القيادة والإدارة التابع لهيئة "سيتي آند جيلدز" الرائدة عالمياً في توفير التدريب المهني.

إضافة إلى ذلك، توفر الشركة التدريب الفنّي والتقني لـ 30 متدرباً في جميع المستويات والمواقع التشغيلية للشركة، بما في ذلك المتدربين المشاركين في برامج التدريب المهني الوطني الثلاثة وغيرها من البرامج التي تشرف عليها الشركة.

يعمل في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم حوالي 7000 موظف في دولة الإمارات، وتضم القوى العاملة في الشركة اليوم نحو 1200 مواطن إماراتي، يشغل 40% منهم إجمالي المناصب العليا البالغة 280 وظيفة، وكما أن حوالي 35% من الـ 1800 موظف في المناصب الإشرافية وما فوقها هم من مواطني الدولة.