EGA’s ‘Engineer the Future’ programme reaches 3,000 high school students in UAE so far

United Arab Emirates: Emirates Global Aluminium, the largest industrial company in the United Arab Emirates outside oil and gas, marked a milestone during Innovation Month as its ‘Engineer the Future’ programme to engage the nation’s high school students in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics reached its 3,000th student.

The programme, which was launched in November, aims to encourage young people to consider further studies and careers in the subjects, which are collectively known as STEM, through interactive workshops and practical projects.

‘UAE Vision 2021’ calls for UAE students to reach world-class attainment in science and mathematics subjects and for the UAE to transition to a knowledge-based economy that focuses on innovation, research and development.

Abdulla Kalban, Managing Director & Chief Executive Officer of EGA, said: “Science, technology, engineering and mathematics will play a vital role in shaping the future of the UAE, and the country needs more professionals in these fields. ‘Engineer the Future’ is designed to encourage young people in their interest in these subjects, contributing to the development of our national human capital.”

Last year, EGA commissioned a nation-wide survey that found that 40 per cent of 18-24 year old UAE Nationals are interested in entering STEM fields, far more than their parents’ generation. Some 85 per cent of young people and 87 per cent of parents saw careers in STEM as more likely to contribute to national development than careers in other fields.

EGA employs more than 1,540 professionals in STEM related fields, including some 500 UAE Nationals.

3000 من طلاب المرحلة الثانوية في الإمارات يسجلون في برنامج "هندسة المستقبل" حتى الآن

الإمارات العربية المتحدة: شهدت الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، أكبر شركة صناعية في الإمارات العربية المتحدة خارج قطاع النفط والغاز، تحقيق نجاحاً بارزاً خلال شهر الإمارات للإبتكار، حيث وصل عدد المشتركين في برنامج "هندسة المستقبل" 3000 طالب وطالبة من المرحلة الثانوية في تخصصات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات والمعروف دولياً بمنهج «STEM» في مختلف مدارس الدولة.

ويهدف برنامج "هندسة المستقبل"، الذي أطلق في نوفمبر الماضي، إلى تشجيع المزيد من الشباب الإماراتيين للتوجه نحو الدراسات والوظائف القائمة على تخصصات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات، وذلك من خلال حلقات عمل تفاعلية ومشاريع عملية عن الألمنيوم والعلوم الأساسية التي تقوم عليها صناعة الألمنيوم.

ويمثل الوصول بالطلبة الإماراتيين إلى المستويات العالمية في مادتي العلوم والرياضيات، إحدى غايات رؤية الإمارات 2021، فيما تسعى دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة للتحول إلى اقتصاد قائم على المعرفة يركز على الابتكار والبحث والتطوير.

وقال عبد الله جاسم بن كلبان، الرئيس التنفيذي والعضو المنتدب لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم: "ستلعب تخصصات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات دوراً مهماً في بناء مستقبل دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وستحتاج الدولة إلى مزيد من المتخصصين في هذه المجالات. يهدف برنامج "هندسة المستقبل" إلى تشجيع الشباب نحو هذه التخصصات، كما يساهم في تطوير رأس المال البشري الوطني".

يذكر أن شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم قد أجرت دراسة استقصائية في العام الماضي على مستوى الدولة، ووجدت خلالها أن 40% من المواطنين الإماراتيين الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 18 و24 عاماً يأخذون بعين الاعتبار دراسة تخصصات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات، وكانت هذه النسبة أكبر بكثير بالمقارنة مع جيل آبائهم. بينما رأى حوالي 85% من الشباب و87% من الآباء أن الوظائف في هذه التخصصات قد تساهم في التنمية الوطنية أكثر من المهن الأخرى.

يعمل في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم حالياً أكثر من 1540 من الفنيين في الوظائف القائمة على العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسية والرياضيات، من بينهم 500 موظف تقريباً من مواطنين إماراتيين.