EGA reaches record low level of perfluorocarbon emissions, signs agreement with Australian university for research on further reductions

Controlling emissions of PFCs, a group of greenhouse gases, is a global aluminium industry goal

EGA’s PFC emissions in 2017 were 22kg CO2 equivalent /tonne of aluminium produced, compared to global average of 380kg CO2 equivalent /tonne in 2016

United Arab Emirates: Emirates Global Aluminium, the largest industrial company in the United Arab Emirates outside oil and gas, today announced that its emissions of perfluorocarbons were a record low for the company in 2017, and that EGA has signed an agreement with the University of New South Wales to research further reductions.

Perfluorocarbons, known as PFCs, are a group of greenhouse gases which have thousands of times more global warming potential of carbon dioxide. Reducing PFC emissions is an important environmental goal of the global aluminium industry.

EGA’s emissions of PFCs were 22 kilogrammes per tonne of aluminium produced in 2017 compared to a global average of 380 kilogrames per tonne in 2016, the most recent year for which figures are available from the International Aluminium Institute.

At EGA’s newer Al Taweelah smelter, PFC emissions in 2017 were seven kilogrammes per tonne of aluminium produced.

In the aluminium industry reported PFC emissions are known to be associated with momentary process imbalances known as Anode Effects. These occur when the alumina concentration falls in the reduction cells in which aluminium is smelted.

Through technology development and operational improvements, EGA has reduced the frequency of Anode Effects in its operations from an average of once every three days in each reduction cell in 2009 to less than once every 12 days in each reduction cell in 2017. The average duration of each Anode Effect has similarly decreased, from 44 seconds in 2009 to below 21 seconds in 2017.

The new research that EGA will conduct with scientists from the University of New South Wales aims to reduce what the industry terms ‘background’ PFC emissions – those that are from variations in reduction cell conditions that are too small to be detected and remedied by the control technology available today.

The research will focus on developing sophisticated technology to continuously monitor conditions inside reduction cells in great detail and semi-autonomously feed alumina in response to minute changes.

More accurate feeding of alumina in response to changing conditions is also expected to lower energy consumption, reducing emissions of CO2 created through power generation.

EGA’s work to reduce PFC emissions is led by Executive Vice President Dr Ali Al Zarouni, who is in charge of the company’s aluminium smelters in Abu Dhabi and Dubai and EGA’s technology development.

Dr Al Zarouni said: “Reducing PFC emissions in the aluminium industry is a matter of fundamental environmental responsibility.  Unfortunately no single factor provides the solution. Rather we have achieved our reductions through developing our own smelting and pot control technology, continuously improving our operational processes, and rigorously monitoring the quality of our raw materials.

“We believe our new research is the first of its kind as it aims to tackle emissions from minute changes rather than just reducing Anode Effects that we can all detect today.  Working with the University of New South Wales enables us to combine our own technology expertise with the latest academic thinking to tackle this particularly difficult challenge.”

Dr Al Zarouni holds a PhD in Chemical Engineering from the University of New South Wales and wrote his doctoral thesis on the subject of “PFC emissions in the aluminium industry”.

The new project is the third research partnership between EGA and the University of New South Wales. Previous research with the university has focused on developing more sophisticated measurements within reduction cells and the findings will be used in the new research work.

EGA is a member of the global International Aluminium Institute and supports the Institute’s voluntary target of a 93% reduction in perfluorocarbon emissions at older smelters by 2020 (using 1990 as the baseline). EGA Jebel Ali achieved this reduction by 2015 - five years early.

EGA has developed its own technology in the UAE for over 25 years. The company’s latest technology is amongst the most efficient and competitive in the global aluminium industry.

EGA has used its own technology for every smelter expansion since the 1990s, including the construction of Al Taweelah, which was the world’s largest single-site smelter when it was completed. EGA has also retrofitted all its older production lines with its UAE-developed technology.

EGA’s technology development has focused both on the reduction cells themselves, and the software to manage their performance.

EGA has reduced its total greenhouse gas emissions produced per tonne of aluminium by 10% since 2011.

الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تحقق مستوى قياسي في خفض الانبعاثات الهيدروكربونات المشبعة بالفلور، وتوقع اتفاقية مع جامعة نيو ساوث ويلز الأسترالية لإجراء أبحاث لتحقيق المزيد من التخفيض

التحكم بانبعاثات الهيدروكربونات المشبعة بالفلور، وهي من الغازات الدفيئة، هو هدف مشترك في قطاع صناعة الألمنيوم في العالم

سجلت انبعاثات الهيدروكربونات المشبعة بالفلور في منشآت الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم لعام 2017 ما يعادل 22 كيلوغراماً من مكافئ ثاني أكسيد الكربون/طن من الألمنيوم المنتج، مقارنة بالمتوسط العالمي البالغ 380 كيلوغراماً في العام 2016

 

الإمارات العربية المتحدة: أعلنت الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، أكبر شركة صناعية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة خارج قطاع النفط والغاز، عن انخفاض انبعاثات منشآتها الصناعية من الهيدروكربونات المشبعة بالفلور في العام 2017 إلى أدنى مستوى قياسي حققته الشركة حتى اليوم. وأعلنت الشركة أيضاً أنها وقعت اتفاقية مع جامعة نيو ساوث ويلز لإجراء تجارب تتيح للشركة تحقيق تخفيض إضافي في هذا المجال.

تعد الهيدروكربونات المشبعة بالفلور مجموعة من الغازات الدفيئة والتي تساهم آلاف المرات في الإحتباس الحراري والاحترار العالمي من ثاني أكسيد الكربون، ولهذا فإن خفض انبعاثاتها يمثل هدفاً بيئياً مهماً لصناع الألمنيوم عالمياً.

وسجلت انبعاثات الهيدروكربونات المشبعة بالفلور من مصاهر شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم 22 كيلوغراماً لكل طن أنتجته من الألمنيوم في العام 2017، ويقل ذلك بكثير عن المتوسط ​​العالمي في العام 2016 والذي يبلغ 380 كيلوغراماً للطن. وهو العام الأخير الذي يتوفر فيه هذا المعدل من المعهد الدولي للألمنيوم.

أما في مصهر الطويلة، وهو أحدث مصهر أنشأته الشركة، لم تزد انبعاثات الهيدروكربونات المشبعة بالفلور في العام 2017 عن سبعة كيلوجرامات لكل طن ألمنيوم أنتجه المصهر.

ومن المعروف في صناعة الألمنيوم أن انبعاثات الهيدروكربونات المشبعة بالفلور تترافق مع اختلالات لحظية في العمليات التي تعرف باسم تأثير الأنود، وهي تحدث عندما ينخفض مستوى تركيز الألومينا بشكل كبير في خلايا الاختزال التي يصهر فيها الألمنيوم.

وتمكنت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم عبر تطوير تقنياتها وإجراء العديد من التحسينات التشغيلية من تخفيض تردد حدوث ظاهرة تأثير الأنود في عملياتها، من متوسط يبلغ مرة واحدة كل ثلاثة أيام لكل خلية اختزال في العام 2009، إلى أقل من مرة واحدة كل 12 يوماً لكل خلية اختزال في العام 2017. وفي الوقت ذاته تمكنت الشركة من تخفيض متوسط ​​مدة حدوث ظاهرة تأثير الأنود من 44 ثانية في العام 2009 إلى أقل من 21 ثانية في العام 2017.

تهدف الأبحاث الجديدة التي تجريها الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بالتعاون مع علماء جامعة "نيو ساوث ويلز" إلى الحد من انبعاثات الهيدروكربونات المشبعة بالفلور «الخلفية» وهي الانبعاثات الناتجة عن الاختلافات الضئيلة في ظروف خلايا الاختزال، التي تبقى ضمن حدود صغيرة جداً لدرجة لا تستطيع تقنيات التحكم المتوفرة اليوم أن تكشف عنها وتعالجها.

وسيركز البحث على تطوير تقنية متطورة لمراقبة الظروف باستمرار داخل خلايا التخفيض بتفصيل كبير وتغذية شبه مستقلة للألومينا، وذلك استجابة للتغيرات في كل دقيقة.

ومن المتوقع أيضاً أن تؤدي التغذية الدقيقة للألومينا الناتجة عن استجابتها للظروف المتغيرة إلى خفض استهلاك الطاقة، ما يقلل من انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون الناتجة عن توليد الطاقة.

ويتولى الدكتور علي الزرعوني، نائب رئيس مجلس إدارة شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، مهمة الإشراف على مصاهر الألمنيوم التابعة للشركة في أبوظبي ودبي ومهمة التطوير التقني للشركة.

وقال الدكتور الزرعوني: ”يعد خفض انبعاثات الهيدروكربونات المشبعة بالفلور، في صناعة الألمنيوم مسؤولية بيئية أساسية. ولسوء الحظ لا يوجد عامل واحد حتى الآن يقدم حلاً لهذه المشكلة. وعوضاً عن ذلك، فقد سجلنا انخفاضاً في انبعاثات شركتنا من خلال تطوير تقنية التحكم في عملية بوتقات الصهر، والتحسين المستمر لعملياتنا التشغيلية، بالإضافة إلى الرقابة الصارمة على جودة المواد الخام.”

وأضاف الزرعوني ”نثق أن بحثنا الجديد هو الأول من نوعه لأنه يهدف إلى معالجة مشكلة الانبعاثات من التغييرات في كل دقيقة، عوضاً عن السعي لمجرد الحد من آثار الأنود التي يمكننا جميعا كشفها اليوم. ويتيح لنا العمل مع جامعة "نيو ساوث ويلز" لجمع بين خبراتنا التقنية الخاصة مع أحدث أساليب التفكير الأكاديمي لمعالجة هذا التحدي الصعب بشكل خاص."

ويحمل الدكتور الزرعوني شهادة الدكتوراه في الهندسة الكيميائية من جامعة "نيو ساوث ويلز"، وكتب أطروحة الدكتوراه الخاصة به حول موضوع انبعاثات الهيدروكربونات المشبعة بالفلور في صناعة الألمنيوم.

ويعد المشروع الجديد هو ثالث شراكة بحثية بين شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم وجامعة "نيو ساوث ويلز". وقد ركزت البحوث السابقة مع الجامعة على تطوير قياسات أكثر تطوراً داخل خلايا الاختزال، وسيتم الاعتماد على نتائج البحث في العمل البحثي الجديد.

شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم هي عضو في المعهد الدولي للألمنيوم، وتدعم الهدف التطوعي للمعهد بخفض انبعاثات الهيدروكربونات المشبعة بالفلور بنسبة 93% في المصاهر القديمة بحلول العام 2020 (اعتماداً على النسب المسجلة في العام 1990). وحقق مصهر الشركة في جبل علي هذا الانخفاض بحلول العام 2015، أي قبل خمس سنوات من المدة المحددة.

وطورت الشركة تقنياتها الخاصة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة لأكثر من 25 عاماً. وتعد أحدث تقنيات الشركة من بين أكثر التقنيات كفاءةً وتنافسيةً في صناعة الألمنيوم العالمية.

واستخدمت الشركة تقنياتها الخاصة بها في جميع مراحلها التوسعية ، ويشمل ذلك إنشاء مصهر الطويلة الذي كان أكبر مصهر في العالم عند إنشائه. وحدثت الشركة جميع خطوط إنتاجها القديمة بالتقنية المتقدمة التي طورتها في الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وركزت على تطوير تقنية خلايا الاختزال ذاتها وبرمجيات إدارتها.

وخفضت شركة الإمارات للألمنيوم إجمالي انبعاثاتها من الغازات الدفيئة المنبعثة للطن من الألمنيوم بنسبة 10% منذ العام 2011.