EGA 2017 net income surges 59 per cent to AED 3.3 billion ($900 million) on stronger aluminium prices and record production levels

World’s largest ‘premium aluminium’ producer continues to secure higher premiums for value-added products

 

Financial highlights

  • Net income of AED 3.3 billion ($900 million), an increase of 59 per cent from AED 2.1 billion ($567 million) in 2016
  • Adjusted EBITDA of AED 6.7 billion ($1.8 billion), an increase of 31 per cent from AED 5.1 billion ($1.4 billion) in 2016
  • Adjusted EBITDA margin of 32 per cent compared to 30 per cent in 2016
  • Revenue of AED 20.5 billion ($5.6 billion), an increase of 20 per cent from AED 17.1 billion ($4.6 billion) in 2016
  • Distribution to shareholders of AED 2 billion ($546 million), an increase of 61 per cent from AED 1.2 billion ($340 million) in 2016

Operational highlights of 2017

  • Safety performance superior to industry benchmarks, with one Lost Time Injury recorded in 2017
  • Record production of 2.6 million tonnes of cast metal, exceeding 2016’s 2.5 million tonnes and making EGA the third largest producer of primary aluminium outside China
  • Value-added products sold to 336 customers in 54 countries. Sales increased by 87 thousand tonnes, to 2.1 million tonnes, representing 82 per cent of total sales. EGA is the world’s largest ‘premium aluminium’ producer
  • Continued strong progress on delivery of strategic upstream integration projects, Al Taweelah alumina refinery in Abu Dhabi and Guinea Alumina Corporation (GAC) bauxite mine in the Republic of Guinea
  • Completion of major project to retrofit all older production lines with EGA-developed technology, boosting production capacity and reducing unit costs.

United Arab Emirates: Emirates Global Aluminium, the largest industrial company in the United Arab Emirates outside oil and gas and the world’s largest ‘premium aluminium’ producer, today reported net income for 2017 of AED 3.3 billion ($900 million), a 59 per cent increase on 2016.

EGA’s revenue increased to AED 20.5 billion ($5.6 billion) in 2017 compared to AED 17.1 billion ($4.6 billion) in 2016.

Adjusted Earnings Before Interest, Taxes, Depreciation and Amortisation (adjusted EBITDA) stood at AED 6.7 billion ($1.8 billion), an increase of 31 per cent from AED 5.1 billion ($1.4 billion) in 2016. EGA’s adjusted EBITDA margin for 2017 was 32 per cent. (30 per cent in 2016)

Record cast metal production of 2.6 million tonnes (2016: 2.5 million tonnes) and a continuing focus on cost control and operational efficiency contributed to EGA’s strong performance, amid favourable conditions in the global aluminium market.

EGA’s sales of value-added products, which attract considerably higher premiums over LME prices than those achieved by standard aluminium and enable EGA to maximise the value of its production, increased by 87 thousand tonnes in 2017 to 2.1 million tonnes, representing 82 per cent of total sales.

EGA sold value-added products to 336 customers in 54 countries in 2017 and is the world’s biggest ‘premium aluminium’ producer.

EGA distributed AED 2 billion ($546 million) to its shareholders in 2017 compared to AED 1.2 billion ($340 million) in 2016.

His Excellency Khaldoon Khalifa Al Mubarak, Chairman of EGA, said: “Emirates Global Aluminium is one of the UAE’s most important industrial giants, and a world leader in the global aluminium sector. With a strong customer base worldwide, a seasoned management team and a solid financial foundation, EGA is well-positioned to benefit from the increasing demand for aluminium in this era of growth and innovation.

Abdulla Kalban, EGA’s Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, said: “Our industry-leading operating margins strengthened further in 2017, demonstrating the success of our business model, our technological and structural cost advantages, and our superior product mix as the world’s largest producer of value-added products.  One area of particular success in 2017 stems from our development over more than 25 years of our own energy efficient smelting technology. All our reduction cells run on EGA technology, reducing costs and environmental emissions.

“We also continued to progress well in 2017 on our strategic growth projects that are expanding our business upstream to secure the natural resources we need. Once complete, Al Taweelah alumina refinery in Abu Dhabi and GAC, our bauxite mining project in the Republic of Guinea, will deliver value for decades to come as well as create further long-term growth opportunities for EGA.

EGA’s safety performance compares favourably to global industry benchmarks. EGA’s Total Recordable Injury Frequency Rate in 2017 was 1.53 per million hours worked, compared to 2.16 in 2016. The global average Total Recordable Injury Frequency Rate in the aluminium industry in 2016 was 4.0 per million hours worked, according to the International Aluminium Institute.

EGA recorded one Lost Time Injury in 2017 with a Lost Time Injury Frequency Rate of 0.04 per million hours worked, compared to 0.28 in 2016.

Work on Al Taweelah alumina refinery is currently 76 per cent complete and first alumina is expected during the first half of 2019. Once full ramp up is achieved, Al Taweelah alumina refinery will meet 40 per cent of EGA’s alumina requirements, helping to secure the competitive supply of the feedstock for aluminium smelters. More than 10,000 people are currently working on the project, which has a total budgeted project cost of approximately $3.3 billion.

The Guinea Alumina Corporation bauxite mine project is currently 37 per cent complete, with first bauxite exports expected during the second half of 2019. EGA’s Guinea project, which has a total budgeted project cost of approximately $1.4 billion, will be amongst the world’s largest and highest quality bauxite mines, creating a new revenue stream for EGA.

EGA’s aluminium is the second biggest made-in-the-UAE export by value (after hydrocarbons). EGA supplies aluminium to over 350 customers in total in more than 60 countries in Asia, the Middle East and North Africa region, Europe and the Americas.

About 10 per cent EGA’s production is supplied to customers in the UAE, serving the growing needs of the UAE’s downstream fabrication sector. EGA sold 268 thousand tonnes of metal to customers in the UAE in 2017, compared to 262 thousand tonnes in 2016. This included sales of hot liquid metal to customers located near EGA’s Al Taweelah smelter in Abu Dhabi.

EGA has developed its own technology for over 25 years to improve the efficiency of the aluminium smelting process. EGA has used its own technology for every smelter expansion since the 1990s.

In October, EGA completed a major project to retrofit its older production lines at Jebel Ali with EGA technology. The new reduction cells each have the capacity to produce 20 per cent more aluminium than those they replaced, with 10 per cent less specific energy consumption to make each tonne of metal.

EGA continues to invest in developing its smelter technology and is at the forefront of innovation in the industry, with demonstrated and growing use of technologies such as robotics, machine learning and advanced analytics supporting continuous improvements in operating performance.

نمو صافي دخل "الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم" بنسبة 59% إلى 3.3 مليار درهم في 2017

أكبر شركة في العالم لإنتاج الألمنيوم عالي الجودة تسجّل علاوات سعرية قياسية لمنتجات القيمة المضافة

 

أبرز النتائج المالية

  • ارتفاع صافي الدخل بنسبة 59% إلى 3.3 مليار درهم (900 مليون دولار)، مقارنة مع 2.1 مليار درهم (567 مليون دولار) في العام 2016
  • نمو الأرباح المعدلة قبل خصم الفوائد والضرائب والإهلاك والاستهلاك بنسبة 31% إلى 6.7 مليار درهم (1.8 مليار دولار) مقارنة مع 5.1 مليار درهم (1.4 مليار دولار) في العام 2016
  • 32% هامش الأرباح المعدل قبل خصم الفوائد والضرائب والإهلاك والاستهلاك مقارنة مع 30% في العام 2016
  • بلغت الإيرادات 20.5 مليار درهم (5.6 مليار دولار)، بزيادة نسبتها 20% مقارنة مع 17.1 مليار درهم (4.6 مليار دولار) في العام 2016
  • توزيع أرباح على المساهمين قدرها 2 مليار درهم (546 مليون دولار)، بزيادة نسبتها 61% مقارنة مع 1.2 مليار درهم (340 مليون دولار) في العام 2016

أبرز الإنجازات التشغيلية في 2017

  • أداء متميز للشركة على صعيد السلامة، يفوق متوسط أداء القطاع، مع تسجيل إصابة واحدة فقط من الوقت الضائع في العام 2017
  • بلوغ حجم إنتاج الألمنيوم مستوى قياسي عند 2.6 مليون طن، متجاوزاً إنتاج العام 2016 الذي بلغ 2.5 مليون طن، مما يجعل "الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم" ثالث أكبر شركة لإنتاج الألمنيوم الأولي في العالم خارج الصين
  • بيع منتجات ذات القيمة المضافة إلى 336 عميلاً في 54 بلداً، بنمو مقداره 87 ألف طن لتصل إلى 2.1 مليون طن، ما يمثل 82% من إجمالي المبيعات. الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم هي أكبر شركة في العالم لإنتاج الألمنيوم عالي الجودة
  • تقدم قوي ومتواصل في مشاريع مكاملة أنشطة الاستخراج والإمداد الاستراتيجية، في كل من مصفاة الألومينا في منطقة الطويلة بأبوظبي، ومنجم "غينيا ألومينا كوربوريشن" لتصدير البوكسيت في جمهورية غينيا
  • إكمال مشروع استبدال خطوط الإنتاج القديمة وتزويدها بتقنية الشركة الخاصة والمطورة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، مما عزز القدرة الإنتاجية وخفّض التكاليف

 

الإمارات العربية المتحدة: أعلنت شركة "الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم"، أكبر شركة صناعية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة خارج قطاع النفط والغاز، اليوم، أن صافي دخلها في العام 2017 بلغ 3.3 مليار درهم (900 مليون دولار)، أي بزيادة نسبتها 59% مقارنة بالعام 2016.

وارتفعت إيرادات الشركة إلى 20.5 مليار درهم (5.6 مليار دولار) خلال العام 2017، مقارنة مع 17.1 مليار درهم (4.6 مليار دولار) في العام 2016.

ونمت الأرباح المعدلة قبل خصم الفوائد والضرائب والإهلاك والاستهلاك بنسبة 31% إلى 6.7 مليار درهم (1.8 مليار دولار) مقارنة مع 5.1 مليار درهم (1.4 مليار دولار) في العام 2016. وبلغ هامش الأرباح المعدل قبل خصم الفوائد والضرائب والإهلاك والاستهلاك 32% مقارنة مع 30% في العام 2016.

وسجلت الشركة مستوى قياسي  في إنتاج الألمنيوم المسبوك بلغ 2.6 مليون طن، متجاوزة إنتاج العام 2016 والذي بلغ 2.5 مليون طن. وساهم التركيز المتواصل على ضبط التكاليف وتعزيز كفاءة العمليات التشغيلية في تمكين الشركة من تسجيل أداء قوي في ظل الظروف المواتية في سوق الألمنيوم العالمية.

وارتفعت مبيعات الشركة من المنتجات ذات القيمة المضافة التي حققت علاوات سعرية أعلى بكثير من علاوات أسعار بورصة لندن للمعادن مقارنة بالألمنيوم القياسي وتمكنت الشركة من تعزيز قيمة منتجاتها، بمقدار 87 ألف طن في العام 2017 إلى 2.1 مليون طن، ما يمثل 82%. من إجمالي مبيعات الشركة

فقد باعت "الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم"، أكبر شركة في العالم لإنتاج الألمنيوم عالي الجودة، منتجات ذات قيمة مضافة إلى 336 عميلاً في 54 دولة خلال عام 2017.

وقامت الشركة بتوزيع أرباح نقدية على المساهمين بقيمة 2 مليار درهم (546 مليون دولار) في العام 2017، مقارنة مع توزيعات العام 2016 والتي بلغت 1.2 مليار درهم (340 مليون دولار).

وقال معالي خلدون خليفة المبارك، رئيس مجلس إدارة "الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم": تتمتع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بمكانة عالمية رائدة، كما تعتبر أحد أهم عمالقة القطاع الصناعي بدولة الإمارات. ولدى الشركة مقومات عديدة تشمل قاعدة عملاء عالمية متنوعة وفريقاً إدارياً بخبرات واسعة ومختلفة وقوة مالية كبيرة، الأمر الذي يؤهلها بجدارة لاغتنام فرص ارتفاع الطلب على الألمنيوم في عصر النمو والابتكار الذي نشهده اليوم".

من جهته، قال عبدالله جاسم بن كلبان، العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة "الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم": "سجلت الشركة في العام 2017 تحسناً ملموساً في هوامشها التشغيلية التي تعتبر الأفضل في القطاع، ما يعكس نجاح وكفاءة نموذج عملها وتفوّق تشكيلة المنتجات التي توفرها لعملائها بوصفها أحد أضخم منتجي مواد الألمنيوم ذات القيمة المضافة في العالم. ويعود النجاح الذي حققناه في السنة الماضية بشكل خاص، إلى تكنولوجيا صهر الألمنيوم التي طورتها الشركة على مدى أكثر من 25 عاماً والتي تتميز بكفاءة استهلاك الطاقة. فقد باتت جميع خلايا الاختزال المستخدمة في عمليات الصهر لدى ’الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم‘، تعمل اليوم بتقنياتنا الخاصة التي تخفض التكاليف وتحدّ من الانبعاثات الضارة بالبيئة".

وأضاف: "واصلت الشركة تحقيق تقدم قوي في العام 2017 على صعيد مشاريع النمو الاستراتيجية التي تهدف إلى توسيع أنشطة الاستخراج والإمداد ومستوى تكاملها، من أجل تأمين احتياجاتنا من الموارد الطبيعية. ومن شأن مصفاة الطويلة للألومينا في أبوظبي، ومنجم البوكسيت في غينيا، تحقيق قيمة استراتيجية لعقود قادمة، وتوفير فرص نمو طويلة الأمد لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم".

وحققت الشركة أداءً جيداً على صعيد السلامة يُجاري في مستواه أعلى المعايير العالمية في القطاع. فقد بلغ معدل الحوادث القابلة للتسجيل 1.53 لكل مليون ساعة عمل في العام 2017، مقارنة مع 2.16 في العام 2016، علماً بأن المتوسط العالمي للحوادث القابلة للتسجيل في قطاع صناعة الألمنيوم بلغ 4 لكل مليون ساعة عمل في العام 2016، بحسب "المعهد الدولي للألمنيوم".

وسجلت الشركة حادثة واحدة هادرة للوقت في العام 2017، مع معدل إصابة الوقت المهدور 0.04 لكل مليون ساعة عمل، مقارنة مع 0.28 في عام 2016.

وتم إنجاز 76% من أعمال تطوير مشروع مصفاة الطويلة للألومينا حتى اليوم، ومن المتوقع إنتاج أول شحنة من الألومينا خلال النصف الأول من العام 2019. ولدى اكتمالها تماماً، ستوفر مصفاة الطويلة للألومينا 40% من احتياجات الشركة من هذه المادة، الأمر الذي سيساهم في توفير إمدادات تنافسية من المادة الخام لمصاهر الألمنيوم. ويعمل حالياً ما يزيد على 10 آلاف شخص في هذا المشروع الذي تبلغ تكلفته الإجمالية المعتمدة نحو 3.3 مليار دولار أمريكي.

وفي المقابل، تم إنجاز 37% حتى اليوم من أعمال تطوير مشروع منجم البوكسيت الذي تطوره شركة "غينيا ألومينا كوربوريشن" في جمهورية غينيا، حيث من المتوقع أن يتم تصدير أول شحنة من البوكسيت خلال النصف الثاني من عام 2019. ولدى اكتماله، سيكون هذا المشروع الذي تبلغ تكلفته المعتمدة 1.4 مليار دولار تقريباً، أحد أكبر مناجم البوكسيت عالي الجودة في العالم، وسيوفر لشركة "الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم" مصدراً جديداً للإيرادات.

ويمثل الألمنيوم الذي تنتجه شركة "الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم" ثاني أكبر الصادرات المصنوعة في دولة الإمارات من حيث القيمة بعد صادرات الهيدروكربون. كما تقوم الشركة بتزويد أكثر من 350 عميلاً بالألمنيوم في ما يزيد على 60 بلداً في آسيا والشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا وأوروبا والأمريكتين.

وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن نحو 10% من إنتاج "الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم" يتم بيعه إلى عملائها في دولة الإمارات، ما يلبي الاحتياجات المتنامية لقطاع التصنيع المحلي. وفي العام 2017، باعت الشركة 268 ألف طن من معدن الألمنيوم لعملائها في الدولة، مقارنة مع 262 ألف طن في العام 2016، بما في ذلك مبيعات المعدن السائل الحار (المصهور) لعملاء يمارسون نشاطهم بالقرب من مصهر الطويلة التابع للشركة في أبوظبي.

وطورت "الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم" تقنياتها الخاصة على مدى أكثر من 25 سنة، لتتمكن بذلك من تحسين ورفع كفاءة عميلة صهر الألمنيوم إلى أعلى المستويات. وتستخدم الشركة تقنياتها في جميع مصاهرها الجديدة منذ تسعينيات القرن العشرين.

وفي شهر أكتوبر 2017، أكملت الشركة مشروع استبدال خطوط إنتاج قديمة وتزويدها بتقنيتها الخاصة والمطورة في دولة الإمارات، الأمر الذي رفع القدرة الإنتاجية لخلية الاختزال الواحدة بنسبة 20% مقارنة مع قدرة الخلية القديمة، فضلاً عن خفض كمية الطاقة المستهلكة لإنتاج طن واحد من الألمنيوم، بنسبة 10%.

وتواصل "الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم" الاستثمار في تطوير تقنياتها الخاصة بعملية الصهر، الأمر الذي مكنها اليوم من قيادة دفة الابتكار في القطاع، في الوقت الذي يساهم فيه الاستخدام المتنامي للتقنيات المتطورة مثل الروبوتات والذكاء الآلي وتحليل البيانات، في تحسين الأداء التشغيلي للشركة بشكل متواصل.