Emirates Scientists Council, Emirates Global Aluminium sign MoU to open the company’s laboratories for scientific research

Dubai, December 24, 2018: The Emirates Scientists Council (ESC) has signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with Emirates Global Aluminium (EGA) to make the latter’s nine laboratories available to UAE scientists for scientific research.

 

The MoU forms part of the ‘Open Labs’ initiative, which was launched by His Highness Sheikh Mohammad Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice-President and Prime Minister of the UAE, Ruler of Dubai, to provide UAE scientists with access to the most advanced laboratories in the country. It was signed by Her Excellency Sarah bint Yousif Al Amiri, Minister of State for Advanced Sciences and ESC Chairperson, and Dr Ali Hussain Al Zarouni, EGA’s Executive Vice President Midstream.

 

H.E. Al Amiri asserted that the UAE Government is committed to harnessing all available resources to empower the next generation of scientists and researchers, who will spearhead efforts to enhance the UAE’s leading status and prestige in the scientific research and innovation sectors.

 

“The ‘Open Labs’ platform reflects our dedication to implementing the vision of our wise leadership, which seeks to establish the UAE as a leading international destination for scientists,” H.E. added. “Launching the Platform under the sponsorship of the Emirates Scientists Council allows researchers and scientists to gain access to highly advanced scientific laboratories, supporting their efforts to develop solutions rooted in advanced sciences, technology and innovation.”

 

“Cooperation with the private sector is key, considering its central role in amplifying scientific research efforts and broadening its scope in the UAE,” H.E. Al Amiri explained, expressing her gratitude to EGA for their support of the initiative, and their readiness to place all their laboratories at its disposal. “We look forward to the breakthroughs scientists and researchers will make at these facilities, and we are confident their findings will drive forward the UAE’s sustainable development,” she concluded.

 

Dr Ali Hussain Al Zarouni said: “EGA’s success has been built on decades of science and research in the UAE and we are pleased to have the opportunity to support innovation in the country more broadly. We look forward to welcoming other scientists into our facilities, sharing our knowledge and learning from them.” 

 

The ESC, which includes distinguished experts in the science and technology sector and which recently welcomed Dr Ali Al Zarouni as a member, is empowering scientists and experts to create innovative science-based solutions to challenges and to implement research outputs into projects that impact people’s everyday lives, in addition to launching programmes for the development of a generation of researchers, scientists and academics.

 

The Council’s platform features 7 major research institutions in the UAE, including the Mohammad Bin Rashid Space Centre, Khalifa University, UAE University, American University of Sharjah (AUS), New York University – Abu Dhabi, the Abu Dhabi Department of Energy, and the International Centre for Biosaline Agriculture (ICBA). The Council was established to be an instrumental tool in meeting the UAE Vision 2021’s agenda that calls for innovation, research, science and technology to form the pillars of a knowledge-based economy, and advocates for partnerships in these areas between the public and private sectors.

"مجلس علماء الإمارات" يوقع مذكرة تفاهم مع "الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم" لإتاحة الفرصة أمام الباحثين لاستخدام مختبرات الشركة لأغراض البحث العلمي

دبي، 24 ديسمبر 2018: أعلن مجلس علماء الإمارات عن توقيع مذكرة تفاهم مع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، لتتيح الفرصة أمام العلماء والباحثين لاستخدام 9 من مختبرات الشركة في أغراض البحث العلمي والتطوير، ما يدعم جهود المجلس لتحقيق أهداف مبادرة "منصة الإمارات للمختبرات العلمية".

وقع الاتفاقية معالي سارة بنت يوسف الأميري وزيرة دولة للعلوم المتقدمة رئيس مجلس إدارة مجلس علماء الإمارات، والدكتور علي حسين الزرعوني نائب الرئيس التنفيذي لعمليات الإنتاج والتطوير والنقل التكنولوجي في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم.

 

سارة الأميري: تسخير الإمكانيات لإعداد جيل جديد من العلماء

وأكدت معالي سارة الأميري أن حكومة دولة الإمارات حريصة على تسخير كافة الإمكانيات والموارد لإعداد الجيل الجديد من العلماء والباحثين الذين سيسهمون في تعزيز مكانة الدولة وريادتها على مستوى البحث العلمي والابتكار.

وقالت معاليها إن منصة الإمارات للمختبرات العلمية تشكل جزءا من التزامنا بتحقيق رؤية قيادتنا الرشيدة المتمثلة في جعل الإمارات وجهة عالمية جاذبة للكفاءات العلمية المتميزة، وقد جاء إطلاق المنصة تحت مظلة مجلس علماء الإمارات لإتاحة الفرصة أمام الباحثين والعلماء بالاستفادة من مجموعة من أحدث المختبرات العلمية وأكثرها تطورا بما يعزز جهودهم في تطوير الحلول القائمة على العلوم المتقدمة والتكنولوجيا والابتكار".

وأضافت معاليها: "نؤكد على أهمية التعاون مع القطاع الخاص باعتباره ركيزة أساسية في تعزيز جهود البحث العلمي وتوسيع قاعدته في الدولة. ونود بهذه المناسبة التوجه بالشكر لإدارة ـشركة "الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم" على ما أبدوه من استعداد تام لدعم هذه المبادرة من خلال وضع جميع مختبراتهم المتطورة في خدمة هذه المبادرة. ونتطلع قدما إلى النتائج المتميزة التي سيتوصل إليها العلماء والباحثون من خلال استخدام هذه المرافق، والتي نثق بأنها ستصب في خدمة عملية التنمية الشاملة في الإمارات".

 

علي الزرعوني: حريصون على تبادل المعرفة

من جهته، قال الدكتور علي حسين الزرعوني: "نجاحنا في الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم ثمرة عقود من العلم والبحث المستمر في دولة الإمارات، ويسرنا أن نحظى بهذه الفرصة التي تتيح لنا دعم الابتكار على نحو أوسع على مستوى الدولة، ونتطلع إلى الترحيب بمزيد من العلماء ضمن مرافقنا البحثية، ومشاركة خبراتنا ومعارفنا معهم والتعلم منهم".

ويضطلع مجلس علماء الإمارات، الذي تم تعيين الدكتور علي الزرعوني عضوا فيه مؤخرا، والذي يضم مجموعة من أبرز الخبراء في مجالات العلم والتكنولوجيا، بمهمة تمكين العلماء والخبراء لتوفير حلول مبتكرة قائمة على البحث العلمي وتوظيف مخرجات عملية البحث في مشاريع ذات أثر ملموس على الحياة اليومية، وإطلاق برامج تهدف إلى إعداد وتطوير جيل من الباحثين والعلماء والأكاديميين.

كما يضم مجلس علماء الإمارات 7 من كبرى المؤسسات البحثية في دولة الإمارات، هي: مركز محمد بن راشد للفضاء، وجامعة خليفة، وجامعة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، والجامعة الأميركية في الشارقة، وجامعة نيويورك، ودائرة الطاقة بأبوظبي، والمركز الدولي للزراعة الملحية ICBA. وقد تم تأسيس المجلس ليكون أداة فاعلة لتحقيق أجندة الإمارات 2021 التي تهدف إلى تعزيز الابتكار والبحث، والعلوم والتكنولوجيا كركائز أساسية للاقتصاد القائم على المعرفة، وإقامة علاقات شراكة في هذه المجالات بين القطاعين الحكومي والخاص.