EGA signs an agreement with Louis Dreyfus Armateurs for transshipment of bauxite in Guinea

Transshipment will enable EGA to load any ocean going vessels, including the world’s largest, reducing shipping costs

Louis Dreyfus Armateurs and Abu Dhabi Ports intend to form joint venture to work together on the project

United Arab Emirates: Emirates Global Aluminium, the largest industrial company in the United Arab Emirates outside oil and gas, today signed a 15 year agreement with LD Ports & Logistics, a subsidiary of Louis Dreyfus Armateurs, for the transshipment of bauxite in the Republic of Guinea.

Louis Dreyfus Armateurs and Abu Dhabi Ports separately signed an undertaking to form a joint venture company to work together to implement the project.

Transshipment is the process of moving cargo from one vessel to another at sea, and is used to transfer cargo when vessels are too big to berth in a port. Using larger ships reduces shipping costs on longer journeys.

EGA will be loading bauxite at the port of Kamsar in Guinea from both its own Guinea Alumina Corporation project, which will supply customers around the world, and from Compagnie des Bauxites de Guinée for supply to EGA’s Al Taweelah alumina refinery in Abu Dhabi.

Kamsar is located on the river Nunez some 17 kilometres from the open sea and is inaccessible for the world’s largest vessels.

Louis Dreyfus Armateurs is a global marine transport and services group.

EGA already works with Abu Dhabi Ports in Guinea. Abu Dhabi Ports manages a container terminal built by EGA at Kamsar port.

Speaking at the signing ceremony, Abdulla Kalban, EGA’s Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, said: “EGA has set an ambitious growth agenda to expand upstream and internationally. Transshipment is an important link in the chain that will connect our alumina refinery and aluminium smelters in the UAE with bauxite mines in Guinea, and will also lower shipping costs from GAC to global bauxite markets.”

Mr Gildas Maire, Chief Executive Officer of Louis Dreyfus Armateurs said: “These agreements with EGA and Abu Dhabi Ports expand our geographic and operational footprint in West Africa. We are pleased to be partnering with these UAE leading companies, and to play a part in the development of Guinea’s economy by helping to enable the competitive transport of Guinean bauxite.”

EGA is currently developing the GAC project in Guinea, a bauxite mine and associated export facilities. First bauxite from the project is expected during the second half of 2019. The GAC project is one of the largest greenfield investments in Guinea in the past 40 years, and will be a new global source of bauxite supply. Bauxite is the ore from which aluminium is derived.

EGA is also building the UAE’s first alumina refinery at Al Taweelah in Abu Dhabi. First alumina is expected during the first half of 2019. Alumina, which is refined from bauxite, is the feedstock for aluminium smelters. Al Taweelah alumina refinery is expected to meet 40 per cent of EGA’s alumina needs once full ramp-up is achieved.

The transshipment system for GAC will consist of self-propelled barges that will shuttle from the GAC berth at Kamsar port to two  floating transfer stations. For bauxite destined for Al Taweelah alumina refinery, LD Ports & Logistics will use a gearless Panamax that will shuttle from the Compagnie des Bauxites de Guinée berth to a transshipper

Bauxite for Al Taweelah alumina refinery will be unloaded at Khalifa Port in Abu Dhabi. In December, EGA and Abu Dhabi Ports signed a long-term port facility agreement which enables Abu Dhabi Ports to develop Khalifa Port to become the first in the Gulf capable of directly handling the world’s largest bulk cargo vessels.

Abu Dhabi Ports will fund and complete dredging and widening works to the Khalifa Port approach channel and basin including EGA’s berth.

الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم توقع اتفاقية مع مجموعة لويس دريفوس أرماتو لشحن البوكسيت من غينيا

الشحن العابر سيمكّن شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم من تحميل شحناتها عبر أي سفينة عابرة للمحيط بما فيها أكبر السفن العالمية وتخفيض تكاليف الشحن

مجموعة لويس دريفوس أرماتو تعتزم إطلاق مشروع مشترك مع موانئ أبوظبي لإنجاز المشروع

الإمارات العربية المتحدة:  أعلنت اليوم الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، أكبر شركة صناعية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة خارج قطاع النفط والغاز، عن توقعيها اتفاقية تعاون لمدة 15 عاماً مع شركة "إل دي للموانئ والخدمات اللوجستية" التابعة لشركة لويس دريفوس أرماتو بهدف نقل مادة البوكسيت من جمهورية غينيا بواسطة الشحن العابر.

وكانت مجموعة لويس دريفوس أرماتو و موانئ أبوظبي قد وقعتا تعهداً للعمل بشراكة على تنفيذ المشروع.

تعتبر الشحن العابر أو إعادة الشحن عملية يتم فيها نقل الشحنة من سفينة إلى أخرى عبر البحر وتُستخدم عادة لنقل الشحنات من السفن الضخمة التي لا يمكن أن ترسو في الميناء. حيث يتم إستخدام السفن الأكبر حجماً في الشحن بهدف تخفيض تكاليف الشحن في الرحلات الطويلة.

وتستعد شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم لتحميل مادة البوكسيت من ميناء كامسار في غينيا وذلك من مشروع غينيا ألومينا كوربوريشن إلى عملائها في مختلف أرجاء العالم ومن شركة "غينيا للبوكسيت" إلى مصفاة الطويلة لتكرير الألومينا في أبوظبي وهي شركة تابعة لـ الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم.

وتعتبر لويس دريفوس أرماتو من الشركات الرائدة عالمياً في مجال الشحن البحري وتقديم الخدمات.

ويقع ميناء كامسار على نهر نونيز على بعد حوالي 17 كيلومتراً من البحر المفتوح الذي لا يمكن الوصول إليه حتى من قبل أضخم السفن في العالم.

وتعمل الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم جنباً إلى جنب مع موانئ أبوظبي في غينيا حيث تتولى الأخيرة مهمة إدارة محطات حاويات الشحن التي أسستها الأمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في ميناء كامسار.

وبعد حضوره مراسم توقيع الاتفاقية قال عبد الله جاسم بن كلبان، العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم: "وضعنا في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم خطة طموحة لتوسيع نطاق عمليات الإنتاج على الصعيد العالمي. وتوفر لنا عملية الشحن العابر صلة الوصل بين مصفاة تكرير الألومينا ومصاهر الألمنيوم التابعة لنا في الدولة من جهة وبين مناجم البوكسيت في غينيا من جهة أخرى وتمكننا بذلك من تخفيض تكاليف الشحن من موقع غينيا ألومينا كوربوريشن إلى معظم أسواق البوكسيت في مختلف أرجاء العالم".

من جانبه، تحدث السيد جيلداس مير، الرئيس التنفيذي لمجموعة لويس دريفوس أرماتو، قائلاً: "إن من شأن الاتفاقيات المبرمة مع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم وموانئ أبوظبي أن توسع نطاق عملياتنا في غرب إفريقيا. ويسرنا اليوم التعاون مع هذه الشركات الإماراتية الرائدة والمساهمة بدور فاعل في تنمية اقتصاد غينيا من خلال توفير وسائل نقل مادة البوكسيت من غينيا بأسعار منافسة".

وتعمل شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم اليوم على تطوير مشروع غينيا ألومينار كوربوريشن في غينيا لتشييد منجم للبوكسيت وكافة منشآت التصدير المتعلقة به. ومن المتوقع أن تصدر شحنة البوكسيت الأولى من المشروع خلال النصف الثاني من العام 2019. يُشار إلى أن مشروع غينيا ألومينا كوربوريشن، أحد أضخم المشاريع الاستثمارية التي شهدتها غينيا خلال 40 عاماً ماضياً، سيوفر مصدراً عالمياً جديداً من مادة البوكسيت الأولية التي يُستخرج منها الألمنيوم.

و تعد مصفاة الألومينا في الطويلة  أول مصفاة لتكرير الألومينا في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة ، ومن المتوقع أن تنتج الدفعة الأولى من الألومينا في النصف الأول من عام 2019. وتوفر الألومينا الناتجة عن تكرير البوكسيت المادة الأولية لمصاهر الألمنيوم، حيث ستوفر 40 بالمائة من مادة الألومينا التي تحتاجها شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم لتحقيق خطتها الإنتاجية بالكامل.

وسيعتمد نظام الشحن العابر الخاص بمشروع غينيا ألومينا كوربوريشن على العبّارات المزودة بأنظمة ذاتية الحركة والتي ستنطلق من مرسى غينيا ألومينا كوربوريشن في ميناء كامسار إلى محطتي النقل العائم لتنقل مادة البوكسيت المشحونة إلى وجهتها في مصفاة الطويلة لتكرير الألومينا. وتعتزم شركة "إل دي للموانئ والخدمات اللوجستية" استخدام بانماكس التي ستنطلق دون مسننات من شركة بوكسيت غينا إلى جهة الشحن العابر.

وسيتم تفريغ البوكسيت المرسل إلى مصفاة تكرير الطويلة للألومينا في ميناء خليفة أبوظبي حيث وقعت الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم مع موانئ أبوظبي خلال شهر ديسمبر اتفاقية تعاون طويلة الأمد بخصوص الميناء تتيح بموجبها لشركة موانئ أبوظبي فرصة تطوير ميناء خلفية ليصبح أول ميناء في منطقة الخليج قادر على مناولة أضخم الشحنات في العالم بأسره.

وستتولى موانئ أبوظبي مهمة تمويل واستكمال أعمال حفر وتوسيع القناة المتصلة بميناء وحوض خليفة بما فيها مرسى شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم.