EGA employee’s safety suggestion takes gold at Ideas America 2017

  • EGA employees also won three other awards at Ideas America 2017
  • EGA’s suggestion scheme has saved the company over AED 250 million since 1999

United Arab Emirates: An operations employee at Emirates Global Aluminium, the largest industrial company in the United Arab Emirates outside oil and gas won Safety Idea of the Year, at Ideas America 2017, an annual awards programme that recognizes people for engaging with their work in creative and outstanding ways.
The winning submission for Safety Idea of the Year was developed by Dileepan Soundararajan, who works in Casthouse Maintenance at EGA in Al Taweelah, performing preventative maintenance in areas where hot metal is turned into aluminium products.
Mr. Soundararajan, who has worked for EGA since 2013 and is from India, offered a solution to a potential safety risk posed by heavy equipment that is used to tilt aluminium slabs on-site. His idea was implemented in 15 November 2016 at EGA’s casthouse in Al Taweelah in Abu Dhabi.
The idea also won the Health & Safety Gold Award at this year’s EGA Rashid Awards, an annual award ceremony that recognises the strongest suggestions put forward by employees.
EGA has operated an employee suggestion scheme for more than 35 years. Since 1999, EGA employees have submitted over 220,000 actionable ideas, saving the company more than AED 250 million.
EGA employees share in the financial benefits of their ideas that are implemented by the company and result in cost savings.
Mr. Soundararajan said: “It’s such an honour that my idea has been recognised internationally. I shared my suggestion for the casthouse because I wanted to make my colleagues and employees even safer at work. I never imagined that it would be singled out anywhere else in the world.”


Safety is the first priority for everyone at Emirates Global Aluminium, no matter their role in the organization. Zero harm to staff, contractors and neighbours is the only acceptable target.

In 2014, EGA’s Al Taweelah smelter set a record when it achieved more than 16.2 million operational work-hours without a single lost-time incident, the equivalent of one person working more than 7,000 years without an accident.
EGA’s employees brought home top honours in other categories, picking up bronze in the Individual Idea of the Year and Green Idea.
EGA’s employee suggestion scheme earned the Savings Per Eligible Employees Ratio Silver Award for Performance Excellence for Suggestions per 100 Employees, as well as an Honourable Mention for Performance Excellence for Total Dollars Saved.
EGA has won 48 different awards at Ideas America since 2002.
Abdulla Kalban, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer at EGA, said: “We believe that often it is people closest to a problem that can both identify it and work out the best solution. For us, involving everyone is the best way to continually improve. Recognition at events like Ideas America is fantastic for individuals, but is also a tribute to the dedication and ingenuity of everyone at EGA.”

موظفو الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم يحصدون الجائزة الكبرى على اقتراح السلامة في المسابقة الدولية لأفضل الأفكار "Ideas America" للعام 2017

  • حصد موظفو الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم على ثلاث جوائز أخرى خلال الحفل
  • الاقتراح الفائز وفّر على الشركة أكثر من 250 مليون درهم منذ العام 1999

الإمارات العربية المتحدة: فاز أحد موظفي فريق العمليات في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بجائزة السلامة للعام 2017، وذلك خلال المسابقة الدولية لأفضل الأفكار "Ideas America"، وهو حفل سنوي للجوائز يكرّم الأشخاص الذين يساهمون في تطوير أعمالهم بطرق مبتكرة ومتميزة.
وكان الاقتراح الفائز لفكرة السلامة مقدم من قبل ديليبان سندراراجان، الذي يعمل في قسم صيانة المسبك بشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، وهو مسؤول عن الصيانة الوقائية في المسبك، والذي يتم فيه تحويل المعدن الساخن إلى منتجات الألمنيوم.
وقدم السيد سندراراجان حلاً لمخاطر السلامة المحتملة التي تشكلها المعدات الثقيلة التي تستخدم لإمالة ألواح الألمنيوم في الموقع. وتم تنفيذ فكرته بتاريخ 15 نوفمبر 2016 في قسم المسبك في مرفق الطويلة في أبوظبي التابع لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم.
كما فازت الفكرة بالجائزة الذهبية للصحة والسلامة خلال حفل توزيع جوائز "جائزة راشد" لبرنامج شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم للاقتراحات هذا العام، وهو حفل سنوي ينظم لتكريم أفضل الاقتراحات التي يقدمها الموظفين.
وقد أطلقت الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم برنامج اقتراحات الموظفين لأكثر من 35 عاماً. ومنذ العام 1999، قدم موظفو الشركة أكثر من 220 ألف فكرة قابلة للتنفيذ، مما ساهم بتوفير أكثر من 250 مليون درهم.
ويشارك موظفو شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في الفوائد المالية الناتجة عن أفكارهم التي تنفذها الشركة، والتي تؤدي إلى وفورات في التكاليف.
وقال السيد سندراراجان: "إنه لشرف عظيم أن يتم تكريم فكرتي دولياً. لقد قمت بتقديم اقتراحي حول قسم المسبك لأنني أردت توفير المزيد من الأمان للزملاء والموظفين في العمل. ولم أكن أتخيل أبداً أن يتم اختيارها في أي مكان آخر في العالم".
وتعد السلامة أولوية أساسية لجميع العاملين في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، بغض النظر عن دورهم أو مناصبهم. فالهدف الذي تسعى له الشركة هو عدم حدوث أي ضرر للموظفين والمقاولين وكل من يسكن بالقرب من المصانع.
تجدر الإشارة الى أن مصهر الألمنيوم في منطقة الطويلة التابع لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم سجل في العام 2014 رقماً قياسياً، عندما حقق أكثر من 16,2 مليون ساعة عمل بدون أي حادث، وهو ما يعادل شخص واحد يعمل لأكثر من 7000 سنة دون وقوع حوادث.
وحصل موظفو الشركة على مرتبة الشرف في فئات أخرى أيضاً، حيث حصلوا على الجائزة البرونزية في فئة أفضل فكرة فردية للعام وفئة الفكرة الخضراء.
وحصل برنامج اقتراحات الموظفين في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم على الجائزة الفضية عن فئة "نسبة التوفير عن كل موظف" للتميز في الأداء عن الاقتراحات لكل 100 موظف، فضلاً عن ذكر الشركة شرفياً لتميزها بحجم التوفير الإجمالي بالدولار.
وقد فازت الشركة بـ 48 جائزة مختلفة في المسابقة الدولية لأفضل الأفكار "Ideas America" منذ العام 2002.
وقال عبد الله بن كلبان، العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم: "نحن على قناعة بأن الموظفين غالباً ما يكونون أقرب إلى المشاكل ويمكنهم التعرف عليها والعمل على إيجاد أفضل الحلول. بالنسبة لنا، فإن إشراك جميع الموظفين هو أفضل وسيلة لتحسين ذلك. يعد تكريم بعض الأفراد في أحداث عالمية مثل المسابقة الدولية لأفضل الأفكار "Ideas America 2017" أمرٌ رائع، لكنه أيضاً تكريم لتفاني وبراعة جميع العاملين في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم".