EGA recruitment of UAE National graduate trainees reaches 60 so far in 2017

Over 130 graduate trainees currently on 18-month programmes with EGA in total

United Arab Emirates: Emirates Global Aluminium, the largest industrial company in the United Arab Emirates outside oil and gas, has recruited 60 UAE National graduate trainees since the start of 2017.

With the intake so far in 2017, EGA currently has over 130 graduate trainees on 18-month programmes with the company. On completion of their training programmes, graduate trainees take front-line supervisor roles in EGA.

EGA’s develops customised development plans for each graduate trainee, with on-the-job training, technical skills development, and management and leadership competency development programmes.

EGA has recruited UAE National graduates for decades. Seven members of EGA’s 11-strong Executive Committee originally joined EGA as fresh graduates.

Abdulla Kalban, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer at EGA, said: “EGA employs 7,000 people in the UAE and it is important to us continually to recruit the best people for our future. I welcome these ambitious graduates to our business. Our long-standing graduate training scheme also enables us to contribute to the achievement of the 'UAE Vision 2021' goal of harnessing the full potential of the UAE's human capital.”

Mr Kalban joined EGA as a graduate trainee in 1985.

Graduate trainees at EGA have typically studied electrical, mechanical, chemical or mechatronics engineering, although EGA also looks for graduates in finance, accounting, HR, marketing, supply chain and other disciplines.

Abdulaziz Ibrahim Alsafran, a graduate trainee in the potlines at EGA’s aluminium smelter at Jebel Ali, who studied Mechanical Engineering at Dubai Men’s College said: “The graduate trainee program at EGA has opened my eyes to new opportunities and given me room to grow whilst supporting the development of our country. Working in a challenging area like the potlines, I’ve had full support from my management and fellow colleagues to overcome whatever obstacle comes my way and focus my energy towards learning and improving myself both personally and professionally.”

Dalal Mustafa, who studied at University of Oregon and is now a graduate trainee in the Human Capital department at EGA, said: “The Graduate Trainee programme here at EGA is a great opportunity to discover myself more. It has also helped me paint a picture of who I want to become and what I want to accomplish in the future. The training we get, the workshops and the effort invested in us, proves what this company stands for and believes in - us.”

EGA’s workforce includes almost 1,200 UAE Nationals.

More than 40 per cent of those holding the top 250 positions in the company as well as more than a third of the 1,800 people in EGA’s supervisory positions and above are UAE Nationals.

EGA aims to Emiratise 40 per cent of in-focus positions, or positions that can feasibly be Emiratised, by 2020.

On a like-for-like basis, EGA already has one of the highest rates of Emiratisation of any major company.

الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تعين 60 خريج متدرب مواطن خلال عام 2017

أكثر من 130 خريج متدرب يلتحقون في برامج تدريبية تمتد لـ 18 شهر في الشركة

الإمارات العربية المتحدة: أعلنت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، أكبر شركة صناعية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة خارج قطاع النفط والغاز، عن تعيين 60 خريج متدرب مواطن منذ بداية عام 2017.

والتحق أكثر من 130 خريجاً متدرباً في برامج تدريبية تمتد لـ 18 شهر في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم منذ بداية العام، وعقب انتهاء فترة تدريبهم، يتولى الخريجون المتدربون أدواراً إشرافية داخل الشركة.

وطورت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم خططاً تدريبية مفصلة للخريجين المتدربين، ترتكز على التدريب العملي، وتطوير المهارات التقنية، وبرامج إدارة الكفاءات القيادية والإدارية.

ومنذ عقود، وظفت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم الخريجين المواطنين في وظائف دائمة في الشركة، وتضم اللجنة التنفيذية العليا للشركة سبعة أعضاء من مواطني الدولة الذين انضموا إلى الشركة في البداية كمتدربين أو حديثي التخرج.

وقال عبد الله بن كلبان، الرئيس التنفيذي والعضو المنتدب لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم: "يعمل في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم 7000 موظف، ومن المهم لنا أن نواصل استقطاب أفضل المهارات لمستقبل أفضل لشركتنا، وبذلك يسعدني أن أرحب بهؤلاء الشباب الطموح في شركتنا، بعد اجتيازهم برنامجنا لتدريب الخريجين الذي يتيح لنا المساهمة في تحقيق هدف رؤية الإمارات 2021، المتمثل في تسخير الإمكانات الكاملة لرأس المال البشري لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة".

الجدير بالذكر أن السيد عبد الله بن كلبان كان قد انضم للشركة كخريج متدرب في العام 1985.

ويتخصص الخريجون المتدربون في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم عادة في مجالات الهندسة الكهربائية والميكانيكية والكيميائية أو الميكاترونيك، كما تسعى الشركة أيضاً إلى استقطاب الخريجين في مجال المالية والمحاسبة والموارد البشرية والتسويق وسلسلة التوريد وغيرها من التخصصات.

ومن جانبه، قال عبد العزيز إبراهيم السعفران - خريج متدرب في خطوط الإنتاج في مصهر جبل علي، ودرس الهندسة الميكانيكية في كلية دبي للطلاب: "منحني برنامج تدريب الخريجين في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم فرصاً جديدة ومجالاً للنمو فضلاً عن دعم التطوير في دولتنا، وأود أن أشكر إدارة الشركة وزملائي على دعمهم لتجاوز أي عقبة واجهتني خلال العمل لضمان تركيز طاقتي نحو التعلم وتحسين قدراتي وإمكانياتي سواء على المستوى الشخصي أو المهني، خاصة أن التدريب كان ضمن مجال صعب وهو خطوط الإنتاج".

وقالت دلال مصطفى، التي درست في جامعة أوريجون، وتدربت في قسم الموارد البشرية في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم: "كان برنامج تدريب الخريجين هنا فرصة عظيمة لاكتشاف نفسي أكثر. كما ساعدني في رسم صورة لما أريد أن أكون وما أريد أن أنجزه في المستقبل، ويثبت هذا التدريب، وورش العمل والجهود المبذولة، قيم الشركة وما تؤمن به".

ويعمل في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم ما يقارب 1200 مواطن إماراتي، ويشغل الموظفون الإماراتيون أكثر من 40 بالمئة من أعلى 250 منصباً في الشركة، كما تُعهد إلى الموظفين الإماراتيين مهمة تسيير أكثر من ثلث مناصب الإشراف والمناصب الأعلى منها في الشركة بنحو 1,800 شخص، كما تستهدف الشركة الوصول بنسبة التوطين إلى 40٪ في الوظائف المحورية بحلول عام 2020.

وحققت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم النسبة الأعلى من التوطين مقارنة بالشركات الكبرى الأخرى في الدولة.