EGA hosts Minister of Climate Change & Environment and industry leaders at event on re-using industrial waste as part of ‘UAE Toward Cleaner Production’ initiative

H.E. Dr. Thani Ahmed Al-Zeyoudi honours EGA and UAE cement companies for pioneering work re-using industrial waste from aluminium smelters in cement manufacturing

 

United Arab Emirates: His Excellency Dr. Thani Ahmed Al-Zeyoudi, Minister of Climate Change and Environment of the United Arab Emirates, and business leaders today attended an event held by Emirates Global Aluminium on re-using industrial wastes. The event was held under the Ministry of Climate Change and Environment’s ‘UAE Toward Cleaner Production’ initiative to reduce UAE industry’s impacts on the environment and improve its global competitiveness.
At the event, HE Al-Zeyoudi recognised EGA, Eco Cem Industrial Ecology, Eco Industrial Solutions, JK Cement Works, Lafarge Emirates Cement, Pioneer Cement Industries, Union Cement Company, and Star Cement for their pioneering work since 2010 to re-use a waste from aluminium smelting in cement manufacturing.
Last year EGA supplied over 37,000 tonnes of spent pot lining to UAE cement plants, more than its average annual production. For cement plants, spent pot lining is a source of energy and refractory materials which survive high temperatures and become part of the cement and reduces the requirements for fresh natural resources including quarried rocks and fuel.
Under UAE Vision 2021, the UAE Government wants to ensure sustainable development whilst preserving the environment. One measure of success is the proportion of waste that is treated including through recycling.
H.E. Dr. Thani Ahmed Al-Zeyoudi said: “We are very proud of the remarkable achievement of EGA and its cement industry partners. They have set an example of how industries can work together to make waste productive rather than a problem. With creativity and cooperation, one industry’s waste can be another industry’s feedstock. This will benefit our industries and help preserve our environment while strengthening the global concept of circular economy.”
Abdulla Kalban, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of EGA, said: “All industries produce materials that we currently call ‘wastes’. If we think differently, in future there will be no such thing as waste, just by-products with other uses. In the longer term everything is recyclable. We just need to find the right recycling solution.”
The event also witnessed an innovation lab to explore innovative ideas for sustainable consumption and production, engaging materials manufacturers as producers, and construction and real estate companies as consumers.
The global aluminium industry produces over 1 million tonnes of the waste, spent pot lining, each year according to industry experts. Much is stored indefinitely, and outside the UAE some is even sent to landfill.

EGA has adopted a recycle-reuse-reduce philosophy to minimise waste generation and has an on-going aim of zero process waste to landfill.

Over 80 per cent of the waste EGA generates at its Jebel Ali smelter is now recycled, as is over half of the waste from its smelter at Al Taweelah.

Earlier this year, EGA became the first Middle East-headquartered aluminium company to join the Aluminium Stewardship Initiative, a global programme to foster greater sustainability and transparency in the aluminium industry.
In close coordination with the Ministry of Climate Change and Environment and the Prime Minister’s Office, EGA completed in February a Government Accelerators project to reduce nitrogen oxides emissions from its power plants in 100 days. Within this short period, EGA managed to reduced its NOx emissions by 16%, beyond the 10% target of the Accelerators. This is equivalent to removing 450,000 cars from the UAE’s roads.

EGA is the largest industrial company in the UAE outside oil and gas.

الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تستضيف وزير التغير المناخي والبيئة وقادة الصناعة الإماراتية في فعالية حول إعادة استخدام النفايات الصناعية ضمن مبادرة "الإمارات نحو إنتاج أنظف"

معالي الدكتور ثاني بن أحمد الزيودي يكرّم شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم وخمسة مصانع أسمنت إماراتية تقديراً لعملهم الرائد في إعادة استخدام نفايات مصاهر الألمنيوم في صناعة الأسمنت

 

الإمارات العربية المتحدة: استضافت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، أكبر شركة صناعية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة خارج قطاع النفط والغاز، اليوم فعاليات مبادرة "الإمارات نحو إنتاج أنظف" والتي تضمنت عرضاً للحلول الصناعية المبتكرة حول إعادة استخدام النفايات الصناعية والحد من الآثار البيئية للقطاع وتحسين قدرته التنافسية العالمية، بحضور معالي الدكتور ثاني بن أحمد الزيودي وزير التغير المناخي والبيئة وقادة الأعمال في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.
وخلال الحدث ، كرَم معالي الدكتور ثاني الزيودي شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم و ايكوسيم اندستريال ايكولوجي، و ايكو اندستريال سوليوشنز، و جي. كي. أسمنت وركس، و شركة أسمنت الاتحاد، و شركة ستار للأسمنت ، و شركة بايونير لصناعة الاسمنت و لافارچ الإمارات للأسمنت، تقديراً لعملهم الرائد منذ عام 2010، في إعادة استخدام نفايات مصاهر الألمنيوم في صناعة الأسمنت.
وخلال العام الماضي، زودت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم مصانع الألمنيوم في الدولة بأكثر من 37 ألف طن من بطانة الخلايا المستهلكة، ما يتخطى معدل إنتاجها السنوي، أما بالنسبة لصناعة الأسمنت، تعتبر بطانة الخلايا المستهلكة مصدراً للطاقة والمواد المقاومة للحرارة، والتي يمكنها مقاومة درجات الحرارة العالية جداً، لتصبح جزءاً من الأسمنت، وتحد من الطلب على الموارد الطبيعية مثل الصخور والوقود.
ووفقاً لرؤية الإمارات 2021، تسعى حكومة دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة إلى ضمان التنمية المستدامة مع الحفاظ على البيئة، ويتمثل أحد مقاييس النجاح في نسبة النفايات التي يتم معالجتها من خلال إعادة التدوير.
وبهذه المناسبة، قال معالي الدكتور ثاني بن أحمد الزيودي: "لا يسعنا إلا أن نعبر عن فخرنا بالإنجازات المميزة التي حققتها شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم وشركاءها في صناعة الأسمنت. فمن خلال التعاون الفريد بين الصناعات المختلفة للاستفادة من النفايات والحد من المشكلة بطرق مبتكرة، يمكن أن تدخل نفايات إحدى الصناعات كمادة أولية في صناعة أخرى، بما يعود بالفائدة على الصناعة والبيئة في الدولة وتعزيز المفهوم العالمي الجديد الممثل بالاقتصاد الدائري."
ومن جانبه، قال عبد الله بن كلبان، العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم: "تنتج جميع الصناعات مواداً نسميها حالياً "نفايات"، وإذا فكرنا بشكل مختلف، فلن يكون هناك ما يمثل هذه النفايات في المستقبل، فقط منتجات ثانوية باستخدامات أخرى، وعلى المدى البعيد سيكون كل شيء قابل لإعادة التدوير، نحن بحاجة فقط إلى الحل الصحيح لإعادة التدوير."
وتضمنت الفعاليات مختبر ابتكار مصغر لاستعراض الأفكار المبتكرة والمتعلقة بمفهوم الاستهلاك والإنتاج المستدامين، وإشراك منتجي ومستهلكي المواد، مثل شركات البناء والعقارات، الذين قد تكون لهم مساهمات فاعلة في مختبر الابتكار.
وبحسب خبراء الصناعة، تنتج صناعة الألمنيوم العالمية أكثر من مليون طن سنوياً من النفايات، وبطانة الخلايا المستهلكة، حيث يتم تخزين الكثير منها لأجل غير مسمى، وخارج دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة يتم التخلص من الكثير منها في المكبات.
وتنتهج شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم فلسفة لإعادة التدوير وإعادة الاستخدام للحد من توليد النفايات، بهدف الاستفادة من النفايات بنسبة 100%.
وحالياً، يتم إعادة تدوير ما يزيد على 80% من نفايات شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في مصهر جبل علي، فضلاً عن أكثر من نصف النفايات من مصهر الشركة في الطويلة.
وفي وقت سابق من هذا العام، أصبحت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم أول شركة في منطقة الشرق الأوسط تنضم إلى “مبادرة رعاية الألمنيوم”، وهي برنامج عالمي يسعى لتبني مزيد من الاستدامة والشفافية في صناعة الألمنيوم.
وبالتنسيق مع وزارة التغير المناخي والبيئة ومكتب صاحب السمو رئيس الوزراء، حققت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بحلول فبراير من العام الجاري مشروع المسرعات الحكومية الرامي إلى تخفيض انبعاثات أكاسيد النيتروجين من محطاتها لإنتاج الطاقة، وذلك خلال 100 يوم. وقد تمكنت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في غضون هذه الفترة القصيرة من خفض انبعاثات أكاسيد النيتروجين بنسبة 16%، متجاوزة نسبة 10% المستهدفة من قبل المسرعات. وهذا يعادل إزالة 450 ألف سيارة من الطرق في الدولة.