Emirates Global Aluminium launches national programme to encourage UAE schoolchildren to study science, technology, engineering and mathematics

’Engineer the Future’ campaign will reach 8,000 students in 30 schools.
United Arab Emirates: Emirates Global Aluminium, the largest industrial company in the United Arab Emirates outside oil and gas, today launched a national programme to encourage high school students to consider further studies and careers in science, technology, engineering and mathematics.
The programme, called ‘Engineer the Future’, aims to reach 8,000 students in 30 schools across the UAE this academic year with interactive learning sessions on aluminium and the fundamental science on which the aluminium industry is based.
‘UAE Vision 2021’ calls for UAE students to reach world-class attainment in science and mathematics subjects and for the UAE to transition to a knowledge-based economy that focuses on innovation, research and development.
EGA has been a major employer of scientists, technologists, engineers and mathematicians since it began production in 1979.
EGA currently employs over 1,540 professionals in science, technology, engineering and mathematics-based roles, from laboratory scientists to financial analysts. Over 500 of this group are UAE Nationals and almost 200 are women.
EGA’s ‘Engineer the Future’ programme is aimed at students in Grades 9, 10 and 11 and compliments the existing school curriculum on subjects including electronics, physics, robotics, chemistry, renewable energy and science The programme is designed to develop scientific and critical thinking as well as analytical and collaborative working skills..
Abdulla Kalban, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer at EGA, said: “We all recognise that we need more scientists, technologists, engineers and mathematicians to build the UAE of tomorrow. That includes EGA, where we need these forward-thinkers to grow and one day lead our business. This programme is one way EGA can encourage more students to study these subjects and consider these important careers with us or with other companies that are engineering our national future.”
EGA focuses its graduate recruitment on science, technology, engineering and mathematics disciplines.
EGA also provides scholarships to students, principally in mechanical, electrical, chemical and industrial engineering. EGA has sponsored more than 350 students through education since 2001.
In addition EGA has recruited some 80 UAE Nationals into technical positions through its national training programmes.

الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تطلق برنامجاً وطنياً لتشجيع طلاب المدارس على دراسة العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات

حملة "هندسة المستقبل" ستصل إلى 8000 طالب في 30 مدرسة
الإمارات العربية المتحدة: أطلقت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، أكبر شركة صناعية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة خارج قطاع النفط والغاز، اليوم برنامجاً وطنياً لتشجيع طلبة المدارس الثانوية نحو مزيد من الدراسة والتخصص في مجال العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات.
ويستهدف برنامج "هندسة المستقبل" الوصول إلى 8000 طالب في 30 مدرسة، في دولة الامارات العربية المتحدة خلال العام الدراسي الحالي، بدورات تعليمية تفاعلية عن الألمنيوم والعلوم الأساسية التي تقوم عليها صناعة الألمنيوم.
ويمثل الوصول بالطلبة الإماراتيين إلى المستويات العالمية في مادتي العلوم والرياضيات، إحدى غايات رؤية الإمارات 2021، فيما تسعى دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة للتحول إلى اقتصاد قائم على المعرفة يركز على الابتكار والبحث والتطوير.
وشكلت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم جهة عمل رئيسية للعلماء والتكنولوجيين والمهندسين وعلماء الرياضيات منذ بدء الإنتاج بها عام 1979.
ويعمل في الشركة حالياً أكثر من 1540 من الفنيين في الوظائف القائمة على العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسية والرياضيات، من علماء المختبر إلى المحللين الماليين، من بينهم 500 مواطن إماراتي ونحو 200 سيدة.
ويستهدف برنامج "هندسة المستقبل"، طلاب في الصف 9 و10 و11، حيث يستكمل المناهج الدراسية القائمة على موضوعات تتضمن الإلكترونيات والفيزياء والروبوتات والكيمياء والطاقة المتجددة والعلوم، كما صمم هذا البرنامج ليسهم في تطوير التفكير العلمي والنقدي للطلاب، فضلاً عن صقل مهارات العمل التحليلية والتعاونية.
وقال سعادة/عبد الله جاسم بن كلبان، المدير العام والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم: " ندرك جميعاً أننا بحاجة إلى مزيد من العلماء، والتقنيين والمهندسين وعلماء الرياضيات لبناء مستقبل دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. وهذا يشمل توجهات شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، حيث نحتاج إلى مفكري المستقبل للاستمرار في النمو، ويوماً ما سيقودهذا الجيل أعمالنا. ونهدف من خلال هذا البرنامج إلى تشجيع المزيد من الطلاب لدراسة هذه الموضوعات والنظر في هذه المهن الهامة سواء معنا أو مع شركات أخرى، والتي ستمثل مستقبل وطننا".
وتركز شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم على توظيف الخريجين في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات.
كما توفر شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم منحاً دراسية، خصوصاً في مجالات الهندسة الميكانيكية والكهربائية والكيميائية والصناعية. وقدمت الشركة رعايتها التعليمية لأكثر من 350 طالباً منذ عام 2001.
وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، عينت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم نحو 80 مواطناً إماراتياً في الوظائف الفنية من خلال برامجها التدريبية الوطنية.