EGA to take part in inaugural Global Manufacturing & Industrialisation Summit in Abu Dhabi

United Arab Emirates: Emirates Global Aluminium (EGA), the largest industrial company in the United Arab Emirates outside oil and gas, will be an industry partner and participate in the inaugural Global Manufacturing & Industrialisation Summit in Abu Dhabi from 27 – 30 March 2017.

The Summit will be held at Paris-Sorbonne in Abu Dhabi. It is a joint initiative by the UAE Ministry of Economy and the United Nations Industrial Development Organization, and will be co-hosted with the Abu Dhabi Department of Economic Development and under the patronage of His Highness Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Deputy Supreme Commander of the UAE Armed Forces.

The Global Manufacturing & Industrialisation Summit is the first global gathering for the manufacturing community, bringing together leaders in business, government and civil society to shape a vision for the sector’s future.

Abdulla Kalban, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of EGA, said: “The aluminium sector is a manufacturing and industrialisation success story for the UAE, and we are pleased that we can share that experience at the Global Manufacturing & Industrialisation Summit and learn from other industrial companies.”

Aluminium is the largest made-in-the-UAE export after oil and gas. In addition about 10 per cent of EGA’s production is supplied to 26 companies that make products from EGA aluminium in the UAE. The aluminium sector is the largest employer amongst the UAE’s energy intensive industries.

EGA has made a significant contribution to the industrialisation and economic diversification of the UAE since 1979, when production began at the then DUBAL smelter in Dubai. Production at Al Taweelah in Abu Dhabi began three decades later.

الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تشارك في الدورة الافتتاحية للقمة العالمية للصناعة والتصنيع في أبوظبي

الإمارات العربية المتحدة: أعلنت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، أكبر شركة صناعية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة خارج قطاع النفط والغاز، عن انضمامها كشريك صناعي في الدورة الافتتاحية للقمة العالمية للصناعة والتصنيع، المزمع انعقادها في جامعة باريس السوربون أبوظبي في جزيرة الريم، خلال الفترة من 27-30 مارس الجاري.

وسوف تنعقد القمة تحت رعاية صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن زايد آل نهيان، ولي عهد أبوظبي نائب القائد الأعلى للقوات المسلحة، وتنظمها وزارة الاقتصاد الإماراتية بالتعاون مع منظمة الأمم المتحدة للتنمية الصناعية، بمشاركة دائرة التنمية الاقتصادية-أبوظبي. ويعد الملتقى العالمي الأول من نوعه الذي يجمع قادة القطاعين العام والخاص وممثلي المجتمع المدني لصياغة رؤية عالمية لمستقبل قطاع الصناعة.

وقال عبدالله كلبان، العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم: "يشكل قطاع الألمنيوم قصة نجاح إماراتية في مجال الصناعة والتصنيع، لذا فنحن سعداء لمشاركتنا في هذه التجربة خلال القمة العالمية للصناعة والتصنيع، والاستفادة من الشركات الصناعية العالمية".

ويعد الألمنيوم من أكبر المنتجات المصنوعة في الإمارات والذي يصدر للخارج بعد النفط والغاز. بالإضافة إلى ذلك تسهم شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في تزويد 26 شركة مصنعة لمنتجات الألمنيوم في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة بما يقرب من 10% من إجمالي إنتاجها، ويعتبر هذا القطاع هو الأكبر مقارنة بالصناعات كثيفة الاستخدام للطاقة في الدولة.

وحققت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم مساهمات كبرى في دفع التنوع الاقتصادي والصناعي لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة منذ بدء الإنتاج في مصهر دوبال في دبي عام 1979، فيما بدء الإنتاج في مصهر الطويلة في أبوظبي بعد ذلك بثلاثة عقود.