Ambassador visits EGA’s Al Taweelah alumina refinery to celebrate safety milestone with Canadian contractor

Canadian company Hatch reaches 2.6 million hours without a lost time incident on power and steam section of under-construction Al Taweelah alumina refinery
United Arab Emirates: Emirates Global Aluminium, the largest industrial company in the United Arab Emirates outside oil and gas, today received His Excellency Masud Husain, Ambassador of Canada to the United Arab Emirates, to celebrate a safety milestone by a Canadian company working to build EGA’s Al Taweelah alumina refinery.
Hatch, a global engineering company based in Ontario, Canada, has reached 2.6 million man-hours without a lost time incident as it builds the power and steam section of the project. This is equivalent to one person working more than 1,000 years without an incident.
Hatch has more than 1,600 people working on its portion of the project, which involves installing a new gas turbine and two heat recovery steam generators at EGA’s Al Taweelah power plant and connecting them to the new alumina refinery.
Unlike most of the construction work for the Al Taweelah alumina refinery, which is being conducted on a greenfield site nearby, much of Hatch’s work is taking place within EGA’s existing operations which increases the engineering challenge for the contractor.
Ambassador Husain was briefed by EGA’s management on the company’s long-standing relationship with Canada.
EGA has awarded over $940 million in contracts to Canadian companies in competitive tenders over the past decade.
Export Development Canada, the country’s export credit agency, is also one of the largest providers of finance to EGA.
Ambassador Husain said: “EGA is a national industrial champion in the UAE. Canadian companies have a long track record of successfully bidding for important contracts with EGA, and I am pleased to have the opportunity to congratulate Hatch on their good performance in delivering their work on the EGA’s new alumina refinery.”
Abdulla Kalban, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of EGA, said: “The competitiveness of Canadian companies means that they are amongst our most important partners. Safety is always our top priority so I extend my gratitude to Hatch for their outstanding performance so far in delivering a challenging project to the highest safety standards.”
Al Taweelah alumina refinery is currently one of the largest industrial construction sites in the UAE and is located next to EGA’s aluminium refinery at Al Taweelah.
On completion, Al Taweelah alumina refinery will be the first in the UAE and only the second in the entire Middle East.
Once full production is achieved, Al Taweelah alumina refinery is expected to produce 2 million tonnes of alumina per year, enough to meet 40 per cent of EGA’s alumina requirements and helping secure the UAE's supplies of this vital raw material for the aluminium industry.
Alumina is the main feedstock for aluminium smelters.

سفير كندا يزور مصفاة الطويلة للألومينا التابعة لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم للإحتفال بتحقيق إنجاز جوهري في مستوى السلامة بالتعاون مع الشركة الكندية هاتش

الشركة الكندية هاتش تحقق 2.6 مليون ساعة عمل دون وقوع أي حادث خلال اختبارات قسم الطاقة والبخار لمصفاة الطويلة للألومينا

الإمارات العربية المتحدة: استقبلت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، أكبر شركة صناعية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة خارج قطاع النفط والغاز، سعادة السيد مسعود حسين، سفير كندا في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، للإحتفال معها بإنجاز جديد في معايير السلامة حققته شركة كندية متعاقدة تعمل في بناء مصفاة الطويلة للألومينا.
وحققت شركة هاتش، وهي شركة هندسية عالمية مقرها في أونتاريو في كندا، 2.6 مليون ساعات عمل دون وقوع أي حادث تعطل خلال اختبارها لقسم الطاقة والبخار الذي أنشأته في المشروع. ويعادل ذلك عمل شخص واحد لأكثر من 1000 عام دون وقوع حادث عطل واحد.
ويعمل فريق من شركة هاتش مؤلف من أكثر من 1600 شخص على إنشاء جزء من مشروع المصفاة، ويشمل ذلك تركيب عنفة غازية جديدة ومولدي بخار لإسترداد الحرارة في محطة الطويلة لتوليد الكهرباء وتوصيلهما إلى مصفاة الألومينا الجديدة.
وخلافاً لمعظم أعمال إنشاء مصفاة الطويلة للألومينا، التي تجري في موقع قريب ، فإن معظم أعمال شركة هاتش تتم ضمن منطقة العمل الحالية للمصفاة مما يزيد من مستوى الصعوبات الهندسية أمامها.
وقدم مسؤولون من إدارة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم لسعادة السفير حسين خلال جولته في المصفاة لمحة عن علاقة الشركة طويلة الأمد بالشركات الكندية. حيث حصلت الشركات الكندية على عقود تزيد قيمتها عن 940 مليون دولار من الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم نتيجة المناقصات التي طرحتها الشركة خلال العقد الماضي.
وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن وكالة تنمية الصادرات في كندا، وهي وكالة منح التمويل الخارجي في البلاد، تمثل أيضًا إحدى أكبر ممولي شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم.
وقال سعادة السفير حسين بهذه المناسبة « وتمكنت الشركات الكندية من تسجيل تاريخ حافل بالنجاح في التقدم لمناقصات العقود الكبرى التي تطرحها شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، ويسرني أن تتاح لي الفرصة اليوم لتهنئة شركة هاتش على أدائها المشرف في عمليات إنشاء مصفاة الألومينا الجديدة التابعة لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، لا شك أن شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم إحدى رواد الصناعة الوطنية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة.»
وقال عبد الله بن كلبان، العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم «أتاحت القدرة التنافسية العالية للشركات الكندية أن تصبح من أهم شركائنا. ونحن في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم نضع السلامة دائمًا على رأس أولوياتنا، ولهذا أشكر هاتش على أدائها المميز في إيصال مشروع مليء بالتحديات إلى أعلى معايير السلامة.»
وتعد مصفاة الطويلة للألومينا حاليًا إحدى أكبر مواقع إنشاء المصانع في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وتقع بجوار مصفاة الألمنيوم لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في الطويلة، وهي أول مصفاة للألومينا في الإمارات العربية المتحدة والثانية على مستوى منطقة الشرق الأوسط كاملة.
ويتوقع أن تنتج مصفاة الطويلة للألومينا مليوني طن من الألومينا سنويًا عندما تصل إلى أقصى قدراتها التشغيلية؛ أي ما يكفي لتلبية 40 في المائة من حاجات شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم من هذه المادة الخام، مما يساعد في تأمين إمدادات الإمارات من هذه المادة الحيوية لصناعة الألمنيوم، فالألومينا هي المادة الأولية الرئيسة لمصانع صهر الألمنيوم.