EGA Showcased In State Of Green Economy Report 2017

Sustainability committed aluminium giant supports official launch of third annual report during World Green Economy Summit.

United Arab Emirates: As Gold Sponsor of The State of Green Economy Report 2017, Emirates Global Aluminium (“EGA”) is delighted at the publication’s launch during the World Green Economy Summit 2016 that takes place in Dubai on 5 and 6 October 2016. Published by Dubai Carbon Centre of Excellence (“DCCE”), The State of Green Economy Report is now in its third cycle. As in prior editions, the report will present the discourse and findings of the third annual WGES while simultaneously showcasing the UAE’s green economic developments through replicable success stories, products, projects and progress against strategies.

EGA’s sponsorship reflects the company’s uncompromising commitment to operating according to sustainability principles. This is evidenced by a quest to produce ‘green’ metal by achieving zero harm to the environment and people, optimising energy-consumption, contributing meaningfully to the communities surrounding its operations, and more. Examples of EGA’s initiatives will be showcased in the report, notably the declaration of EGA’s products as suitable for green, sustainable building practices; and the award-winning work being done to minimise the impact of EGA’s operations on the environment.

“Our primary aluminium smelters in the UAE produce over 2.4 million tons of hot, molten aluminium every year – making EGA one of the five largest primary aluminium producers in the world. We are renowned worldwide for supreme quality, value-added and highest purity products, such that almost 90 per cent of our cast products is exported across the globe to at least 60 countries on six continents,” explains Abdulla Kalban (MD & CEO). “Achieving this entails large scale consumption of raw materials, particularly alumina, petroleum coke and liquid pitch. The electrolysis process to produce metal from ore is energy intensive. While these inputs are non-negotiable, the way in which we consume them is not. Our corporate culture is one of continuous improvement, always looking for a better way to do things – our focus consistently being on enhancing our processes and technologies to increase production while improving efficiencies, such as reducing our energy-consumption rate through technological advances. I’m pleased to add that EGA has set the benchmark in many operating parameters specific to aluminium smelting, making us a leading example for others.”

Kalban adds that, as a proudly Emirati-owned business, EGA considers it a privilege to support the ambitions of the UAE government and to promote the excellent work being done towards a green economy, especially within the country. “The WGES is a case in point,” he says. “It’s an initiative by the Dubai Electricity & Water Authority (“DEWA”) – one of our important business partners; and the Dubai Supreme Council of Energy (“DSCE”) – of which one of our shareholders is an entity, alongside DEWA. The summit is rated as the premier international platform for strategic partnerships and innovative solutions with the aim of accelerating the transition into a low carbon, ‘green’ economy. This ranking reinforces the UAE’s already strong position on the global stage, highlighting the impact that our visionary leaders continue to make on the world at large.”

Having been an active member since DCCE’s inception, EGA fully supports and endorses the organisation’s efforts. “The State of Green Economy Reports, in particular offer a powerful platform for raising awareness of sustainability among influential audiences, thereby supporting the efforts of the world’s green economy leaders,” Kalban concludes. “We are honoured to be contributing in a meaningful way to the production of the 2017 edition.”

خلال القمة السنوية العالمية للإقتصاد الأخضر في دبي الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تدعم التدشين الرسمي لـ"تقرير حالة الإقتصاد الأخضر 2017"

الإمارات العربية المُتحدة: في إطار رعايتها الذهبية لـ"تقرير حالة الإقتصاد الأخضر 2017"، أعربت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم عن سعادتها بتدشين الإصدار السنوي الثالث من التقرير الذي يصدره مركز دبي المتميز للكربون، خلال القمة السنوية العالمية للإقتصاد الأخضر التي تنعقد في دبي يومي 5 و6 أكتوبر2016. وكما في إصداراته السابقة، سيستعرض التقرير نقاشات ونتائج القمة السنوية العالمية للإقتصاد الأخضر، وفي نفس الوقت عرض التطورات الاقتصادية الخضراء في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة من خلال إستعراض النجاحات والمنتجات والمشاريع القابلة للتكرار، ومدى التقدم المحرز في مقابل الاستراتيجيات الموضوعة.

وتعكس رعاية شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم إلتزامها الذي لا يتزعزع تجاه العمل وفق مبادىء الإستدامة، وهو الإلتزام الذي يتجسد من خلال سعيها الدائم والحثيث لإنتاج منتجات ألمنيوم صديقة للبيئة عبر تحقيق النسبة الصفرية من الضرر للبيئة والناس، وتعظيم معدلات إستهلاك الطاقة، والمساهمة بشكل فعال في المجتمعات التي تعمل فيها وغيرها الكثير. وسيتضمن التقرير عددا من الأمثلة على مبادرات شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، أبرزها الإعلان عن ملائمة منتجات الشركة للممارسات الأبنية المستدامة والصديقة للبيئة، وجهود الشركة الحائزة على العديد من الجوائز للحد من تأثير عملياتها على البيئة.

وأوضح عبدالله كلبان، العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي للشركة :"يبلغ الإنتاج السنوي لمصهري الشركة في الإمارات 2.4 مليون طن متري من الألمنيوم المصهور، ما يضع شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم ضمن قائمة أكبر خمسة منتجين للألمنيوم الأولي في العالم، كما نشتهر على نطاق عالمي بمنتجاتنا ذات القيمة المضافة فائقة الجودة والنقاء، لدرجة أن 90% من منتجاتنا يتم تصديرها إلى نحو 60 دولة على الأقل على إمتداد قارات العالم الست"، ومضى كلبان بالقول :"إن بلوغ هذا المستوى يتطلب إستهلاكا كبيرا للمواد الخام، خاصة الألومينا والفحم البترولي والقار السائل، كما تتسم عملية التحليل الكهربائي لإنتاج معدن الألمنيوم من المادة الخام بكثافة إستهلاك الطاقة، ورغم أن هذه المدخلات غير قابلة للنقاش، إلا أن ذلك لا ينطبق على الطريقة التي نستهلك بها الطاقة،حيث ترتكز ثقافتنا المؤسساتية على التحسين المتواصل عبر البحث بشكل دائم عن سبل أفضل للقيام بأعمالنا، والتركيز بشكل مستمر على تحسين عملياتنا وتقنياتنا لزيادة الإنتاج وفي نفس الوقت تحسين مستوى الكفاءة، مثل خفض معدل إستهلاكنا للطاقة عبر التقدم التكنولوجي، وبالتالي يسرني القول بأن شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم نجحت في إرساء معايير قياسية جديدة للعديد من معاملات التشغيل الخاصة بصهر الألمنيوم، مما يجعلنا مثالا رائدا للآخرين".

وأضاف عبدالله كلبان بأن شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، التي تعتز بجذورها الإماراتية، تفخر وتشرف بدعم طموحات حكومة دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة والمساهمة في تعزيز الجهود الممتازة التي تقوم بها نحو التحول إلى الاقتصاد الأخضر، خاصة داخل الدولة. ومضى كلبان بالقول :"تعد القمة السنوية العالمية للإقتصاد الأخضر خير مثال على ذلك، فهى مبادرة يقف خلفها هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي، التي تعد واحدة أهم شركاء أعمالنا، ومجلس دبي الأعلى للطاقة. وقد تم تصنيف القمة كمنصة عالمية رائدة لعقد الشراكات الاستراتيجية وعرض الحلول المبتكرة بهدف تسريع الانتقال إلى اقتصاد عالمي "أخضر" منخفض الكربون، كما يرسخ هذا التصنيف مكانة دولة الإمارات القوية على الساحة العالمية، ويسلط الضوء على التأثير الإيجابي المتواصل لقادة الدولة على الصعيد العالمي".

وإنطلاقا من كونها عضوا نشطا بمركز دبي المتميز للكربون منذ تدشينه، فإن شركة الإمارات العالمية تدعم وتؤيد بشكل كامل جهود المركز، حيث إختتم عبدالله كلبان تصريحاته بالقول :"توفر تقارير حالة الاقتصاد الأخضر، وبشكل خاص، منصة قوية لزيادة الوعي بالاستدامة بين قطاعات الجمهور المؤثرة، وبالتالي تدعم جهود قادة الاقتصاد الأخضر في العالم، ومن ثم يشرفنا الإسهام بشكل فعال في إصدار نسخة العام 2017 من التقرير".