EGA co-hosts China Aluminium Week

Presentation during event’s summit set to promote EGA-owned bauxite  

United Arab Emirates: Emirates Global Aluminium (“EGA”), one of the world’s largest primary aluminium producers, is a proud co-host of 2016 China International Aluminium Industry Week, which takes place in Nanning, China from 25 to 28 October. The event, which is expected to attract over 500 delegates, will feature two large-scale knowledge- and information-sharing sessions – China Aluminium Forum; and Pan Pacific Aluminium Industry Summit.

The latter will feature EGA’s Wael Zaraket (Senior Vice President, Strategic Raw Materials, Upstream) delivering a presentation in a session entitled “CEO Dialogue – Sustainable Development of Global Aluminium Industry”. Zaraket will leverage the opportunity to outline the strategic rationale for and provide an update on the development project that EGA’s wholly owned subsidiary Guinea Alumina Corporation (“GAC”) will manage.

Phase I of the GAC project was officially launched in June 2016. The scope comprises an initial 12 million tonnes per annum (Mtpa) bauxite mine in the Republic of Guinea, where the company holds a concession on more than 1 billion tonnes of bauxite. The mine is expected to be operational from 2018. The project will also include the construction of a dedicated export terminal at Port Kamsar and upgrades to existing rail infrastructure for in-land logistics. Guinea holds the world’s largest and highest quality reserves of bauxite, the raw material used in the production of aluminium.

“EGA is strategically moving towards upstream integration in alumina, with ownership of a controlling position in bauxite seen as an important factor,” says Yousuf Bastaki (Executive Vice President, Upstream at EGA). “The GAC bauxite mine project is a cornerstone of this strategy, which will ultimately yield a vertically integrated business with the capability of self-managing the processes from mine to metal.”

The mine’s entire annual production will be sold to third parties. “With global demand for high-quality bauxite expected to grow significantly over the next decade, particularly in China, the GAC project has excellent prospects,” Bastaki adds.

الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تستضيف أسبوع الصين الدولي لصناعة الألمنيوم 2016

تقديم عرض تعريفي يستعرض سير العمل في مشروع مؤسسة غينيا ألومينا كوربوريش

الإمارات العربية المُتحدة: أعلنت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، إحدى أكبر منتجي الألمنيوم الأولي في العالم، عن إستضافتها المشتركة لدورة العام 2016 لـ"أسبوع الصين الدولي لصناعة الألمنيوم، والذي يقام في ناننينج في الصين في الفترة من 25 إلى 28 أكتوبر الجاري. ويتضمن هذا الحدث الصناعي الهام، الذي يتوقع أن يستقطب أكثر من 500 مشاركا، جلستي عمل موسعتين لتبادل المعلومات، هما منتدى الصين للألمنيوم، وقمة "بان باسيفيك لصناعة الألمنيوم".

وستشهد قمة "بان باسيفيك لصناعة الألمنيوم" تقديم وائل زراقيط، نائب أول الرئيس، المواد الخام الإستراتيجية، عمليات التعدين، بتقديم عرض تعريفي في جلسة بعنوان "حوار الرئيس التنفيذي - التنمية المستدامة لصناعة الألمنيوم العالمية"، حيث سيستغل الفرصة لتوضيح المبرر الاستراتيجي لذلك، وإستعراض أحدث تطورات سير العمل على المشروع الذي تقوم بإدارته مؤسسة غينيا ألومينا كوربوريشن، المموكة بالكامل لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم.

ويتكون المشروع، الذي تم تدشين مرحلته الأولى رسميا في شهر يونيو 2016، من منجم لتعدين البوكسيت بطاقة إنتاجية تبلغ 12 مليون طن متري في جمهورية غينيا، حيث تملك المؤسسة حق إمتياز لأكثر من مليار طن من البوكسيت. ومن المتوقع أن يبدأ الإنتاج التجاري للمنجم في 2018، كما يتضمن المشروع أيضا بناء محطة مخصصة للحاويات بميناء كامسار وتحديث البنية التحتية الحالية للسكك الحديدية لأغراض النقل، حيث تمتلك جمهورية غينيا أضخم وأفضل إحتياطي للبوكسيت في العالم، وهي المادة الخام المستخدمة في إنتاج الألمنيوم.

من جانبه قال يوسف بستكي، نائب الرئيس التنفيذي لعمليات التعدين :"تتحرك شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بشكل إستراتيجي نحو تكامل عمليات تعدين الألومينا، وينظر إلى ملكيتها لحصة مسيطرة بقطاع تعدين البوكسيت على أنه عامل بالغ الأهمية، حيث يمثل منجم مؤسسة غينيا ألومينا كوربوريشن لتعدين البوكسيت حجر الزاوية لتلك الإستراتيجية، ما يسفر في نهاية الأمر عن تحقيق تكامل أعمال الشركة، وتعزيز قدرتها الذاتية على إدارة مجمل العملية بدءا من التعدين ووصولا لإنتاج الألمنيوم الأولي".

وسوف يتم بيع مجمل الإنتاج السنوي لمنجم البوكسيت إلى عملاء خارجيين، حيث أضاف يوسف بستكي :"في ظل التوقعات بنمو الطلب العالمي على البوكسيت عالي الجودة بشكل كبير خلال السنوات العشر المقبلة، خاصة في الصين، فإن مشروع مؤسسة غينيا ألومينا كوربوريشن يتمتع بآفاق ممتازة".