Emirates Global Aluminium, one of UAE’s most innovative companies, announces 2 more patents during Innovation Week

  • Earlier this year EGA became first UAE industrial company to license its own large scale industrial technology internationally
  • EGA also holds cross-company workshops on improving safety processes as part of Innovation Week

United Arab Emirates: Emirates Global Aluminium (“EGA”), one of the world’s leading primary aluminium producers and the largest industrial company in the UAE outside the oil industry, today announced the filing of two more new technology patents while marking Innovation Week. EGA has filed eight patents during 2016.

EGA has also held a series of Innovation Week workshops to bring together staff from across the company to improve a key safety process.

EGA has developed technology in the UAE for over 25 years to improve continually its aluminium smelting process. The business has used its own UAE-developed technology for every expansion of its smelters since the 1990s.

Earlier this year, Aluminium Bahrain selected EGA’s aluminium smelting technology for its own expansion project. The deal made EGA the first UAE industrial company to sell its own large-scale industrial technology internationally.

EGA started filing patents when it began to consider licensing its technology internationally. Since 2014, EGA has worked closely with Takamul – an innovation support programme developed and operated by the Abu Dhabi Technology Development Committee – to protect and commercialise its intellectual property.

Previously EGA relied upon trade secrecy to protect its innovations while implementing it technologies within EGA smelters.

The new patents will help expand EGA’s patent portfolio to 20 by the end of 2016. Two of the latest patents, developed by a team of EGA engineers in collaboration with the University of New South Wales, Australia, focus on developing a novel way to control the cells which has potential to improve production efficiencies at EGA’s smelters, and monitoring the environmental performance of electrolytic reduction cells within the smelters to help mitigate the production of greenhouse gases.

Abdulla Kalban (MD & CEO of EGA) said: “Innovation is a practical process at EGA which both drives the global competitiveness of our business and creates a revenue stream through technology licensing. Although heavy industry is not always associated in the public mind with innovation, I believe the aluminium industry is one of the most innovative sectors in the UAE.”

EGA’s technology development and patents involve innovations on the original core Hall-Héroult electrolytic reduction cells used by all primary aluminium smelters to produce primary aluminium metal from aluminium oxide.

EGA’s latest smelting process achieves global top quartile performance in cost, efficiency and environmental responsibility according to independent industry benchmarks. EGA’s latest technology, DX+ Ultra, has more than double the pot productivity of the company’s original D18 technology. The specific energy consumed during the smelting process is amongst the lowest in the industry.

Other recently filed EGA patents include a design that enables the quicker replacement of electrolytic reduction cells after cathode failure; cell preheat frames that are quicker and safer to install for preheating; an online measurement method to monitor and manage abnormal operating conditions; and anode current measurement methods using digital communication.

This week EGA also held a series of workshops to coincide with Innovation Week focusing on improving its “Near Miss Reporting” process. The workshops, which included participants from across the company, aimed to develop new ways to report, record and learn from near misses – incidents that could have caused injury ­– and highlight potential hazards to be mitigated.

Salman Abdulla (Senior Vice President, HSSEQ) commented, “Innovation Week is a great time to focus the best minds in our company on this important safety process. In industry, recognising near misses and taking corrective action is a powerful way to ensure that accidents never happen. We are always looking for ways to improve how we do this.”

"الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم" تتقدم لتسجيل براءتي اختراع جديدتين خلال "أسبوع الإمارات للابتكار"

  • "الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم" أول شركة صناعية إماراتية ترخص تقنية خاصة بها على مستوى عالمي
  • تنظيم ورش عمل لمختلف أقسام الشركة بهدف تحسين معايير السلامة في إطار "أسبوع الابتكار"

الإمارات العـربية المتحدة: أعلنت "الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم" (EGA)، الشركة الرائدة عالمياً في مجال إنتاج الألمنيوم الأولي وأضخم الشركات الصناعية غير النفطية في دولة الإمارات، اليوم عن تقديمها طلبين لتسجيل براءتي اختراع جديدتين بمجال التكنولوجيا خلال "أسبوع الابتكار". وبذلك يصل مجموع طلبات تسجيل براءات الاختراع المقدمة من الشركة خلال عام 2016 إلى 8 طلبات.

ونظمت الشركة كذلك سلسلة من ورش العمل خلال "أسبوع الابتكار" شارك فيها الموظفون من مختلف الأقسام بهدف تطوير المعايير الرئيسية للسلامة.

وساهمت "الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم" في تطوير قطاع التكنولوجيا في دولة الإمارات على مدى أكثر من 25 عاماً لتحسين عملية صهر الألمنيوم بصورة مستمرة. حيث استخدمت الشركة تقنياتها المطورة داخلياً لتنفيذ جميع مشاريع توسعة مصاهر الألمنيوم التابعة لها منذ التسعينيات.

وقد وقعت الشركة في وقت سابق من العام الجاري اتفاقية لبيع تقنية مطورة داخلياً لصهر الألمنيوم إلى شركة "ألمنيوم البحرين" (ألبا) لاستخدامها في مشروع التوسعة الخاص بالأخيرة. وبذلك تكـون "الإمـارات العالمية للألمنيوم" أول شركةٍ صناعيةٍ إماراتية تبيع تقنية خاصة بها خـارج حدود دولة الإمارات.

وانطلاقاً من سعيها لترخيص تقنياتها عالمياً، بدأت الشركة بتقديم طلبات تسجيل براءات الاختراع. وهي تتعاون بشكل وثيق منذ العام 2014 مع "تكامل"- برنامج دعم الاختراع الذي طورته وتديره "لجنة أبوظبي لتطوير التكنولوجيا"- بهدف حماية وتسويق حقوق الملكية الفكرية لاختراعاتها بعد أن كانت تعتمد سابقاً على السرية التجارية لحماية هذه الاختراعات أثناء استخدامها في المصاهر التابعة لها.

ومع طلبي تسجيل براءتي الاختراع الجديدتين، يرتفع رصيد الشركة من هذه البراءات إلى 20 بحلول نهاية عام 2016. وتم تطوير اثنين من أحدث هذه الاختراعات على يد فريق من مهندسي الشركة بالتعاون مع جامعة "نيو ساوث ويلز" الأسترالية بهدف إيجاد طريقة مبتكرة للتحكم بالخلايا وتحسين كفاءة الإنتاج في المصاهر، بالإضافة إلى مراقبة الأداء البيئي لخلايا الاختزال الكهربائي للألمنيوم ضمن المصاهر بما يحد من إنتاج الغازات الدفيئة.

وفي إطار تعليقه على الموضوع، قال عبدالله جاسم محمد بن كلبان، العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة "الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم": "تتخذ ’الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم‘ من الابتكار نهجاً عملياً يعزز القدرة التنافسية لأعمالها ويوفر إيرادات إضافية عبر ترخيص التكنولوجيا. ومع أن الصناعات الثقيلة لا ترتبط دوماً بالابتكار في الأذهان، إلا أني أعتقـد بأن قطاع الألمنيوم يعتبر من أكثر القطاعات ابتكاراً في دولة الإمارات".

وتضم قائمة براءات الاختراع والتقنيات التي طورتها "الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم" ابتكارات مميزة في مجال خلايا الاختزال الكهربائي للألمنيوم العاملة بطريقة "هال هيرولت"، والتي يتم استخدامها في جميع مصاهر الألمنيوم الأولي لإنتاج معدن الألمنيوم الأولي من أكسيد الألمنيوم.

وحققت أحدث عمليات الصهر التي أجرتها "الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم" أعلى أداء ربعي على مستوى العالم من حيث التكلفة والكفاءة والمسؤولية البيئية، وذلك وفقاً لمعايير مستقلة في القطاع. كما تمكنت أحدث تقنيات الشركة لصهر الألمنيوم DX+ Ultra من مضاعفة إنتاجها من تقنية D18 الأصلية. وتعتبر كمية الطاقة المستهلكة خلال عملية الصهر من أدنى المعدلات في القطاع.

وتتضمن آخر طلبات تسجيل براءات الاختراع التي تقدمت بها "الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم" تصميماً يساعد على استبدال خلايا الاختزال الكهربائي للألمنيوم بشكل أسرع بحاال فشل المهبط؛ وكذلك إطارات التسخين المسبق للخلايا، والتي تعتبر وسيلة أسرع وأكثر أماناً للتركيب في ظروف التسخين المسبق؛ بالإضافة إلى طريقة قياس عبر الإنترنت لمراقبة وإدارة ظروف التشغيل غير الاعتيادية؛ وطرق قياس الأنودات باستخدام تقنيات الاتصال الرقمي.

وبالتزامن مع "أسبوع الابتكار"، استضافت "الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم" هذا الأسبوع سلسلة من ورش العمل التي تركز على تحسين عملية "إعداد التقارير بخصوص حالات الخطر الوشيكة". وشارك في هذه الورش موظفون من مختلف أقسام الشركةبهدف تطوير وسائل جديدة للإبلاغ عن حالات الخطر الوشيكة (الحوادث التي قد تتسبب بإصابات) وتسجيلها والتعلم منها، بالإضافة إلى تسليط الضوء علىالأخطار المحتملة التي يمكن تخفيفها.

من جانبه قال سلمان عبدالله، نائب الرئيس التنفيذي لشؤون الصحة والسلامة والاستدامة والبيئة والجودة: "يشكل ’أسبوع الابتكار‘ فرصةً مهمة لتركيز أفضل العقول في شركتنا على عملية السلامة الأساسية هذه. إذ يُعد إدراك حالات الخطر الوشيكة واتخاذ الإجراءات التصحيحية المناسبة طريقةً فعالةً لتجنب وقوع الحوادث في القطاع الصناعي، ونحن نحرص دوماً على القيـام بمزيد من التحسينات في هذا المجال".