EGA wins 2016 ideas.Arabia idea of the year productivity award

Employees at UAE-based aluminium giant recognised for energy-saving idea
United Arab Emirates: Testifying to its continuous efforts to push the boundaries of innovation, a submission from Emirates Global Aluminium (“EGA”) won the Productivity Awardin the 2016 Ideas.Arabia Idea of the Year Competition, held coincident with the Ideas.Arabia 11th International Conference in Dubai at the end of April. The aim of the annual contest is to honour employees and organisations by recognising the most significant ideas implemented in the preceding period. It also provides an opportunity for participating companies to benchmark against other leading organisations, and motivate employees.

EGA’s award-winning suggestion, entitled “Welding flexible instead of clamping to reduce joint drops”, was submitted by Zakir Hussain, Venkateswara Rao, Reejan Joseph, and Syed Fakruddin Jaleel from Cell Lining (Jebel Ali Operations) and has successfully reduced voltage drops of joints, with a substantial recurring energy saving, and avoided use of clamps to connect flexibles. The suggestion also won the Gold Award in the Best Suggestion – Idea of the Year Awards (Jebel Ali Operations) category at annual EGA Rashid Awards earlier this year.

A key driver in the formation of Ideas. Arabia as a subgroup of the Dubai Quality Group (“DQG”), EGAhas supported the conference and associated competitions for eleven consecutive years since the inaugural Ideas.Arabia in 2006. With this win, EGA has to date secured a total of 26 wins across various categories in the Ideas.Arabia Idea of the Year competition.

“Continuous improvement and innovation is integral to the DNA at EGA. In today’s highly competitive world, the creativity and innovation of all employees is an operating necessity for the success of the organisation,” says Salman Abdulla (Executive Vice President – Health, Safety, Sustainability, Environment & Quality). “What makes EGA different from our competitors is our award-winning employee involvement programme, where employees have a stake in EGA’s growth and sustainability by offering improvement ideas and problem-solving solutions.”

EGA pioneered the employee suggestion scheme movement in the UAE and wider GCC region in 1981. The EGA Suggestion Scheme has become a role model for other businesses. In 2015 alone, a total of 23,951 suggestions were submitted to the EGA Suggestion Scheme, of which 16,355 suggestions were awarded. The savings generated amounted to AED 28 million.

“EGA’s values promote a performance-based work culture where individuals are empowered through ownership, accountability, and team support, allowing EGA to excel in operations through continuous improvement and innovation,” adds Abdulla. “Our continuous foundational support for DQG and Ideas.Arabia is further testament to this.”

الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تفوز بجائزة الإنتاجية لمسابقة الأفكار العربية 2016

برنامج إقتراحات الموظفين في الشركة إستقطب خلال العام 2015 إجمالي 23,951 إقتراحاً، تم تكريم 16,355 منها إقتراحاً بوفورات بلغت 28 مليون درهم.
الإمارات العربية المُتحدة: في ضوء تصدرها لمسيرة برامج إقتراحات الموظفين في الإمارات ومنطقة الخليج منذ العام 1981، أضحى برنامج شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم لإقتراحات الموظفين مثالاً يحتذى به من جانب الشركات الأخرى، وفي العام 2015 وحده، إستقطب البرنامج إجمالي 23,951 إقتراحاً، تم تكريم 16,355 منها إقتراحاً بوفورات بلغت 28 مليون درهم.

وتأكيدا لمكانة الشركة الريادية بقطاع برامج إقتراحات الموظفين، وجهودها المتواصلة لتعزيز الإبتكار والإنطلاق به إلى آفاق أرحب وأوسع، فازت إحدى مشاركات شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بجائزة الإنتاجية ضمن مسابقة الأفكار العربية السنوية لأفضل فكرة للعام، والتي عقدت بالتزامن مع الدورة الـ11 للمؤتمر السنوي الدولي للأفكار العربية، نهاية شهر أبريل. وتهدف المسابقة السنوية إلى تكريم الموظفين والشركات تقديراً لأفكارهم المتميزة التي تم تطبيقها خلال العام السابق، وتوفر فرصة للشركات المشاركة لمعايرة نفسها مقابل الشركات الرائدة الأخرى، وكذلك تحفيز الموظفين.

وكان إقتراح شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم الفائز بالجائزة، هو "لحام الأجزاء المرنة عوضاً عن تشبيكها لتقليص إنخفاضات الكهرباء"، المقدم من ذاكر حسين، فينكاتيسوارا راو، وريجانجوزيف وسيدفخرالدينجليل من قسم إعادة تبطين الخلايا (عمليات جبل علي)، حيث تمكن الإقتراح بنجاح من تقليص إنخفاضات فولتية الفواصل، وتحقيق توفير كبير في الطاقة المتكررة، وتجنب إستخدام المشابك لتوصيل الأجزاء المرنة. كما فاز الإقتراح أيضا هذا العام بالجائزة الذهبية في فئة أفضل الإقتراحات- جوائز أفضل فكرة للعام (عمليات جبل علي)، خلال مسابقة جائزة راشد السنوية التي تنظمها شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم.

وقامت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، التي كانت لاعبا أساسيا في تأسيس مؤتمر الأفكار العربية كمجموعة فرعية تابعة لمجموعة دبي للجودة، بدعم المؤتمر والمسابقات التي تقام على هامشه لـ11 عاما على التوالي منذ دورته الإفتتاحية في العام 2006، وبهذا الفوز الجديد، يبلغ عدد الجوائز التي فازت بها الشركة بمختلف فئات مسابقة الأفكار العربية، 26 جائزة.

وتعليقا على الفوز بالجائزة، قال سلمان عبدالله، نائب الرئيس التنفيذي- الصحة والسلامة والإستدامة والبيئة والجودة :" يمثل التحسين المستمر والابتكار جزء لا يتجزأ من الحمض النووي لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، وفي عالم اليوم الذي يتسم بالتنافس الشديد، يعد إبداع وإبتكار جميع الموظفين ضرورة تشغيلية هامة لنجاح الشركة"، ومضى سلمانبالقول :" ما يميز شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم عن غيرها من المنافسين، هو برنامجها الناجح والحائز على الجوائز لمشاركات وإقتراحات الموظفين، حيث يلعب الموظفون دورا هاما في نمو وإستدامة الشركة من خلال تقديم أفكار التحسين وحلول التعامل مع المشكلات".

وإختتم سلمان عبدالله تصريحاته بالقول :"تهدف قيم شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم إلى تعزيز وتشجيع ثقافة العمل القائم على الأداء حيث يتم تمكين الموظفين عبر تعزيز قيم الملكية والمساءلة ودعم الفريق، وهو المزيج الذي يُمكن شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم من تحقيق إمتياز عملياتها عبر التحسين المتواصل والإبتكار، حيث يجسد دعمنا المحوري لمجموعة دبي للجودة ومؤتمر الأفكار العربية، خير شهادة على ذلك".