EGA welcomes second group of trainees from Guinea

Skills Training Programme aims to equip Guinea nationals for leadership roles
United Arab Emirates: Emirates Global Aluminium (“EGA”) and its wholly owned Guinea-based subsidiary Guinea Alumina Corporation (“GAC”) are pleased to announce the arrival in the UAE of the second group of trainees enrolled for the GAC Skills Training programme, hosted at EGA’s UAE operations. The programme gives substance to GAC’s corporate objective to enable Guinea nationals to play a leading role ultimately in driving the GAC project. Now in its second consecutive year, the programme attracted thousands of applicants through a nationwide competitive recruitment process, from which the successful candidates were selected.

This year’s group of 14 young Guineans includes two women. They arrived in the UAE last month and will spend 9 months in the country to benefit from direct exposure and gain practical experience from world-class facilities and globally recognised experts within EGA’s operations. Upon completion of the programme, the trainees are expected to return home and apply their new skills on the GAC project for the ultimate benefit of Guinea.

On 28 April, Senior Management of EGA and GAC hosted a welcome lunch for the trainees at EGA’s Jebel Ali Operations. Guinea’s Ambassador to the UAE, H E Dr Alhassane Souare, accompanied with his Chief Political Counsellor, Mohammed Kourouma, were guests of honour. EGA MD & CEO Abdulla Kalban, GAC CEO William Morrell and Executive Vice President of Human Capital, Ahmad Al Shamsi were in attendance, along with the trainees’ mentors.

The event kicked off with a briefing by Mr Morrell on the rationale and key objectives that motivated the initiation of the programme, and GAC’s expectations of the trainees.

Ambassador Souare then addressed the gathering, expressing first his gratitude to EGA for the invitation. He also indicated that the government of Guinea, particularly Guinea’s President, H E Pr. Alpha Conde, strongly believes in and nurtures a considerable amount of hope that the solid relationship between Guinea and the UAE will continue to bear fruit. He added that the GAC Skills Training Programme is an eloquent demonstration that the hope and vision driving the efforts of both countries’ leaders would yield long-lasting returns for Guinea and the UAE. To the trainees his message was: “You have a unique opportunity for exposure to the best practices in the aluminium industry. More importantly, you have a chance to discover the ingenious ways of the UAE people who, in just 40 years have transformed their country from a sparsely populated desert to one of the top attractions in the world. Please learn from both and take the knowledge back home with you.” In turn, Abdulla Kalban expressed satisfaction for the level and quality of the relationship between Guinea and the UAE. He reiterated EGA’s commitment to the GAC project, and to empowering young Guineans with the ultimate goal of them becoming tomorrow’s leaders of the project.

الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم ترحب بالدفعة الثانية من متدربي مؤسسة غينيا ألومينا كوربوريشن

برنامج تدريب المهارات يهدف لتعزيز مهارات الشباب الغيني للإضطلاع بأدوار قيادية بالمشروع
الإمارات العربية المُتحدة: أعلنت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم وشركتها التشغيلية التابعة والمملوكة لها بالكامل، مؤسسة غينيا ألومينا كوربوريشن، التي تتخذ من جمهورية غينيا مقرا لها، عن وصول الدفعة الثانية من المتدربين المسجلين في برنامج تدريب المهارات التابع للمؤسسة إلى مقر عمليات شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في الإمارات. ويمثل البرنامج التدريبي ركيزة جوهرية تهدف إلى تمكين المواطنين الغينيين من لعب دور رئيسي في قيادة زمام المشروع، حيث اجتذب البرنامج في عامه الثاني على التوالي، آلاف المتقدمين عبر عملية توظيف تنافسية على مستوى جمهورية غينيا، تم من بينهم إختيار المرشحين الناجحين.

وتتكون مجموعة هذا العام من 14 شابا غينيا بما في ذلك شابتين، حيث وصلوا إلى الإمارات الشهر الماضي، وسيمضون 9 أشهر في الدولة للاستفادة من التعرض المباشر لعمليات الشركة واكتساب الخبرة العملية داخل مرافق عالمية المستوى على يد خبراء معترف بهم عالميا في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم. وعند الانتهاء من البرنامج، من المقرر أن يعودوا إلى وطنهم لتطبيق مهاراتهم الجديدة بمشروع مؤسسة غينيا ألومينا كوربوريشن، بما يعود بالفائدة على جمهورية غينيا.

وشهد يوم 28 أبريل إستضافة فريق الإدارة العليا في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم ومؤسسة غينيا ألومينا كوربوريشن مأدبة غداء إحتفالية للترحيب بالمتدربين الجدد بموقع عمليات شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم في جبل علي، حيث كان السفير الغيني في الإمارات معالي الدكتور الحسن سوار، رفقة المستشار السياسي الأول للسفارة السيد/ محمد كوروما، ضيفا شرف الإحتفال، بحضور عبدالله كلبان، العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، وويليام موريل، الرئيس التنفيذي لمؤسسة غينيا ألومينا كوربوريشن، وأحمد الشامسي، نائب الرئيس التنفيذي- الموارد البشرية في شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، جنبا إلى جنب المشرفين على المتدربين الجدد.

وبدأت فعاليات الحفل بكلمة مختصرة ألقاها ويليام موريل حول الأسباب والأهداف الرئيسية التي تقف خلف تدشين البرنامج التدريبي وتوقعات مؤسسة غينيا ألومينا كوربوريشن من المتدربين.

وتحدث معالي السفير الدكتور الحسن سوار أمام الحضور معربا عن إمتنانه العميق لشركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم على دعوته لحضور الإحتفال. كما أشار أيضا إلى أن حكومة غينيا، خاصة فخامة الرئيس الغيني ألفا كوندي، تؤمن وتتطلع بكثير من الأمل إلى أن تواصل حصد ثمار العلاقات المتينة والراسخة التي تجمع جمهورية غينيا ودولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وأضاف أن برنامج مؤسسة غينيا ألومينا كوربوريشن لتدريب المهارات هو دليل واضح على أن الأمل والرؤية الرشيدة التي تقف خلف جهود قادة البلدين سوف تسفر عن تحقيق فوائد طويلة الأمد لكل من غينيا والإمارات، وقال في رسالته للمتدربين :" أمامكم فرصة فريدة من نوعها للتعرف على أفضل الممارسات في مجال صناعة الألمنيوم، والأهم من ذلك، لديكم فرصة للتعرف على الطرق الإبداعية والمبتكرة لشعب دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة الذي نجح خلال أكثر من 40 سنة في تحويل بلده من صحراء ذات كثافة سكانية منخفضة إلى واحد من أهم معالم الجذب السياحي في العالم، فمن فضلكم إحرصوا على الإستفادة من كلتا الفرصتين لترجعوا بأفضل المعارف بما فيه فائدة بلدكم".

بدوره أعرب عبدالله كلبان عن رضاه عن مستوى ونوعية العلاقة التي تجمع بين غينيا ودولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وشدد مرة أخرى على إلتزام شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تجاه مشروع مؤسسة غينيا ألومينا كوربوريشن وتسليح وتعزيز مهارات الشباب الغيني ليكونوا بنهاية المطاف قادة المشروع.