EGA supports UAE youth education through Model UN simulation

Initiative develops global citizenship and executive function in tomorrow’s leaders

United Arab Emirates: In an ongoing effort to empower the UAE youth through education and skills development, Emirates Global Aluminium (“EGA”) again sponsored the Middle East Model United Nations (“MMUN”) Mini-pre-cursor Conference, which took place at Al Ebdaa (Girls) Model School in Dubai on 17 and 18 May 2016. Held in collaboration with the Ministry of Education, this year’s MMUN conference focused on 'Climate Change and Its Effects'. Some 150 to 200 Emirati students from an assortment of schools operating under the Dubai Education Zone and the Ministry of Education were invited to participate in a complete simulation of a United Nations (“UN”) Committee meeting.

The students, who took on the role of ambassadors of 25 countries, were trained for two days prior to the actual simulation, helping them understand and reach resolutions benefitting the climate change position and needs from their appointed country’s perspective. Teachers attending the training were encouraged by the MMUN to help their students benefit from the exercises in leadership, global citizenship and executive functions; as well as to learn skills to improve these attributes in their students. Teachers and students alike were taught an intrinsic growth mind-set, which encourages problem-solving and equips individuals to take their next steps on the international stage.

Commenting on EGA’s involvement, Khalid Buhumaid (Senior Vice President, Government Relations) said: “EGA is committed to creating an enduring legacy for the communities where we operate, and ensuring rewarding development opportunities through education initiatives is a key part of our Corporate Social Responsibility (“CSR”) strategy. EGA’s support for the MMUN stems from our belief that the UAE’s youth should be encouraged and supported on their road to becoming the strategic thinkers and future leaders of the world.”

A long-standing supporter of the MMUN in the UAE, EGA also enabled six high school students engaged in the MMUN programme to present at the WFES 2016 Student Forum. Each student gave a one-minute speech at the forum during a session entitled ‘UN Habitat Youth Speech’, using the opportunity to express their thoughts on renewable and sustainable energy.

In 2014, EGA sponsored 100 students’ attendance at an MMUN students’ conference, held in Dubai at Al Ittihad Private School in Jumeirah, Dubai. The conference provided a forum for students to learn and debate the global issue of ‘Water’. Similarly, in 2015, EGA sponsored 150 students to attend the MMUN Pre-cursor Conference at Al Ebdaa Model School and Al Ittihad Private School. The focus of the 2015 event was 'Renewable Energy', with students engaging in active debates on the issue.

الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تدعم تعليم الشباب الإماراتي عبر نموذج محاكاة الأمم المتحدة

المبادرة تهدف إلى تطوير وتعزيز جوانب المواطنة العالمية والقدرات التنفيذية لقادة المستقبل.

الإمارات العربية المُتحدة: في إطار جهودها المتواصلة لتمكين الشباب الإماراتي عبر التعليم وتنمية المهارات، أعلنت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم العالمية مرة أخرى عن رعايتها لمؤتمر الشرق الأوسط التمهيدي لمحاكاة نموذج الأمم المتحدة، الذي إنعقد بمدرسة الإبداع النموذجية للبنات في دبي بتاريخ 17-18مايو 2016. وتمحور تركيز دورة هذا العام للمؤتمر، الذي تم تنظيمه بالتعاون مع وزارة التربية والتعليم، حول موضوع "التغير المناخي وتأثيراته"، حيث تمت دعوة نحو 150 إلى 200 طالب إماراتي من مجموعة متنوعة من المدارس التابعة لمنطقة دبي التعليمية و وزارة التربية والتعليم للمشاركة في جلسة محاكاة كاملة لإجتماع إحدى لجان الأمم المتحدة.

وتم تدريب الطلاب، الذين تقمصوا دور سفراء 25 دولة، لمدة يومين قبل جلسة المحاكاة الفعلية مما ساعدهم على الفهم والتوصل إلى قرارات تعود بالفائدة حول موضوع تغيير المناخ واحتياجات البلدان التي يمثلونها، كما قام إدارة مؤتمر الشرق الأوسط التمهيدي لمحاكاة نموذج الأمم المتحدة بتشجيع المعلمين الذين حضروا التدريب على مساعدة الطلاب على الاستفادة من التدريبات في مجالات القيادة والمواطنة العالمية والقدرات التنفيذية، فضلا عن تعلم المهارات اللازمة لتحسين هذه الصفات في طلابهم. وتم تدريب المعلمين والطلاب على حد سواء حول مفهوم عقلية التنمية الذاتية، والتي تشجع على حل المشاكل وتسلح الأفراد بالمهارات اللازمة لاتخاذ خطواتهم المقبلة على الساحة الدولية.

وفي معرض تعليقه على رعاية المؤتمر، قال خالد بوحميد، نائب أول الرئيس للعلاقات الحكومية :"تلتزم شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم بوضع إرث دائم للمجتمعات التي نعمل فيها، حيث يمثل ضمان فرص التنمية المجزية من خلال المبادرات التعليمية، جزءا أساسيا من إستراتيجيتنا للمسؤولية الإجتماعية، كما أن دعم الشركة لمؤتمر الشرق الأوسط التمهيدي لمحاكاة نموذج الأمم المتحدة ينبع من إيماننا بأهمية تشجيع ودعم الشباب الإماراتي في طريقه نحو تشكيل قاعدة المفكرين الإستراتيجيين وقادة العالم في المستقبل".

وقامت أيضا شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، التي تعد من أبرز داعمي مؤتمر الشرق الأوسط التمهيدي لمحاكاة نموذج الأمم المتحدة ، بتمكين ستة من طلاب المدارس الثانوية المشاركين في برنامج مؤتمر الأمم المتحدة التمهيدي، بالحديث خلال منتدى الطلاب التابع للقمة العالمية لطاقة المستقبل 2016 حيث ألقى كل طالب منهم كلمة مدتها دقيقة واحدة خلال جلسة بعنوان "منتدى شباب الأمم المتحدة"، مستفيدين من تلك الفرصة للتعبير عن أفكارهم حول الطاقة المتجددة والمستدامة.

وفي العام 2014، قامت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم برعاية حضور 100 طالبا لمؤتمر الشرق الأوسط التمهيدي لمحاكاة نموذج الأمم المتحدة للطلاب، الذي أقيم في دبي بمدرسة الإتحاد الخاصة في جميرا، حيث وفر المؤتمر منبرا للطلاب للتعلم ومناقشة قضايا المياه العالمية، وبالمثل، شهد العام 2015، رعاية الشركة لمشاركة 150 طالبا لمؤتمر الأمم المتحدة التمهيدي في مدرسة الإبداع النموذجية ومدرسة الاتحاد الخاصة، حيث ركزت دورة العام 2015 على موضوع الطاقة المتجددة، وشهدت إنخراط الشباب في نقاشات مكثفة حول هذا الموضوع.