EGA supports innovation in engineering design

Aluminium giant donated metal for Khalifa University student project

United Arab Emirates: As part of its commitment to invest in the UAE’s socio-economic growth, Emirates Global Aluminium (“EGA”) – one of the world’s largest primary aluminium producers – has provided tangible support for the Senior Design (Graduation) Project submitted by mechanical engineering students at Khalifa University of Science, Technology and Research (“KU”) in Abu Dhabi. The aluminium giant donated more than 285 kg of primary aluminium billets to a team of mechanical engineering students, for the design and prototype production of an underwater Remotely Operated Vehicle (“ROV”) capable of operating to a depth of 100 m.

The team of students – comprising Abdelaziz Al Zaabi (team leader), Abdulla Baswaid, Mohammad Al Mulla, Nouf Al Ammari and Aamna Al Jarwan – used a CNC Lathe and milling machine at the university to make the ROV from the EGA metal, and then demonstrated their model at KU’s Innovation Day on 15 May 2016. A celebration of the inventive work produced by KU students, with a specific focus on senior design projects, KU’s Innovation Day highlights the progression, talent and expertise of the university’s students and recognises students who have produced extraordinary work during their university tenure.

Commenting on the sponsorship, Khalid Essa Buhumaid (Senior Vice President, Government Relations) says, “Developing the skills of the UAE’s youth is a high priority for our business, particularly in technical fields such as engineering. By investing EGA’s time and financial resources into supporting platforms that encourage innovation and creativity, EGA is able to make a lasting contribution to the UAE’s economy.”

“Having access to the highest quality aluminium from EGA meant that we were able to design our project according to the best industry standards in terms of material usage,” explains Al Zaabi. “Our research has shown that water corrosion resistant aluminium has advantages when used underwater, especially as it can also handle high pressure.”

Buhumaid adds that EGA places specific emphasis on the development and education of UAE’s youth in order to support the broader goals of the UAE government. Further evidence of this lies in EGA’s sponsorship of two innovation camps (“I-Camps”) earlier this year, in partnership with INJAZ UAE. The I-Camps endeavour to expand the horizons of UAE National students by introducing concepts such as entrepreneurship.

الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تتبرع بـ285 كيلو من الألمنيوم لمشروع تخرج طلاب جامعة خليفة

مشروع تخرج طلاب الهندسة الميكانيكية في جامعة خليفة للعلوم والتكنولوجيا والبحوث شمل تصميم وإنتاج نموذج إختباري لمركبة تعمل تحت الماء ويتم التحكم بها عند بعد، وقادرة على العمل على عمق 100 متر.

الإمارات العربية المُتحدة: في إطار التزامها بالإستثمار في تعزيز مسيرة التنمية الاجتماعية والاقتصادية في الإمارات، قدمت شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، إحدى أكبر منتجي الألمنيوم الأولي في العالم، دعما كبيرا لتصميم مشروع تخرج السنة النهائية الذي قدمه طلاب الهندسة الميكانيكية في جامعة خليفة للعلوم والتكنولوجيا والبحوث في أبو ظبي، حيث تبرع عملاق الألمنيوم الإماراتي بأكثر من 285 كيلو جرام من الألومنيوم الأولي لفريق من طلاب الهندسة الميكانيكية، لتصميم وإنتاج نموذج إختباري لمركبة تعمل تحت الماء ويتم التحكم بها عند بعد، وقادرة على العمل على عمق 100 متر.

وقام فريق الطلاب، الذي تكون من عبد العزيز الزعابي (قائد الفريق)، وعبدالله باسويد، ومحمد الملا، ونوف العماري، وأمنه الجروان، بإستخدام مخرطة CNC ووماكينة التفريز في الجامعة لتصنيع النموذج الإختباري للمركبة من قضبان ألمنيوم شركة الإمارات العالمة للالمنيوم وعرض نموذجهم خلال يوم الإبتكار بجامعة خليفة في 15 مايو 2016. ويهدف يوم الإبتكار بجامعة خليفة، والذي يمثل إحتفالية بالأعمال المبتكرة لطلاب الجامعة، مع التركيز بشكل خاص على مشاريع تخرج السنة النهائية، إلى تسليط الضوء على تطور ومواهب وخبرات طلاب الجامعة وتكريم الطلاب الذين قدموا أعمالا مبتكرة خلال فترة دراستهم الجامعية.

وقال خالد عيسى بوحميد، نائب أول الرئيس للعلاقات الحكومية :"تحتل تنمية مهارات الشباب الإماراتي قائمة أولويات شركتنا، وخاصة في المجالات التقنية مثل الهندسة، فمن خلال استثمار وقت الشركة مواردها المالية لدعم المنتديات التي تشجع على الابتكار والإبداع، يكون بمقدور شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تقديم مساهمة دائمة في اقتصاد دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة ".

من جانبه قال عبد العزيز الزعابي :"من خلال حصولنا على أرقى منتجات الألمنيوم جودة من شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم، تمكنا من تصميم المشروع وفقا لأفضل معايير الصناعة، من ناحية استخدام المواد، حيث أظهرت أبحاثنا أن الألمنيوم المقاوم لصدأ المياه له مزايا عدة عند إستخدامه تحت الماء، خاصة قدرته على تحمل الضغط العالي".

ويشير خالد بوحميد إلى أن شركة الإمارات العالمية للألمنيوم تركز بشكل خاص على تطوير وتثقيف الشباب الإماراتي من أجل دعم الأهداف الأوسع لحكومة الإمارات، ومن بين الأمثلة الأخرى على ذلك، رعاية الشركة لإثنين من مخيمات الإبداع أوائل هذا العام بالتعاون مع مؤسسة "إنجاز الإمارات"، حيث تسعى تلك المخيمات إلى توسيع آفاق الطلاب الإماراتيين من خلال إدخال مفاهيم مثل روح المبادرة والريادة.